We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aya Hotel to your Saves list
Aya Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Arenal 60, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“July 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We saw this hotel when in Playa de Palma last year and said if we came back we'd book it.What an excellent choice, we booked via travel agent on internet and selected half board and room with sea view. Arrived lunch time Sunday, after a very early morning flight, room was not quite ready so we had lunch on outside terrace and it was ready after we'd finish with out cases having been taken to our room on 5th floor with and excellent view of the beach just across road, we couldn't have asked for more-thank you. The food and staff were excellent for the duration of our stay (6 nights). Excellent location, with great access to Palma and other places using the local bus service. Would have no hesitation in staying again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon-Aya, General Manager at Aya Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Mr Mjlandber,
Thank you very much for giving us your review of the hotel. Certainly the situation of the hotel is perfect for enjoying the beach and is well connected for visiting the city.
We look forward to personally greet again on your next visit to the hotel Aya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
24
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is nicely located, fairly close to the airport right on a nice beach. I'ts older but kept up pretty well. Big rooms with a wonderful balcony on the ocean side. OK dining facilities but lots of places nearby to eat all kinds of food esp German. Lousy hairdryers in the room and a rentable safe.

The hotel spa is beyond words as far as a sports type facility. Spanking white and clean, with very unusual and wonderful water features, steam, sauna, jaccuzzi and exercise area. 2 kids in there, unsupervised, acting up and 3 German Men and women (it's co-ed) walking around nude against hotel policy, even in the presence of the kids. I found this very uncomfortable, I don't care what they are used to.

A ton of pro-Cyclists were on the island and a bike rental, wash, storage facility right in the spa was very unusual, but the biker guests must just love it. Driving a little tricky with so many bikes but easy to get around. Signage was a bit iffy but not many roads to get lost on.

Very nice pool but cold. The ocean was warmer, but not like Hawaii, (It was late April). Mostly Germans all over the island and in this hotel, but the front desk spoke English although they came off a little cold...but helpful.

Down town Palma had great restaurants and a wonderful older church and old world charm. The Drach Caves were a not to miss adventure, but you would need a rental car which is inexpensive while a cab would be expensive. Once in the caves it is a fairly long, easy walk, maybe 45 mins. to a closed lake, through magnificent stalagtites and stalagmites with a short concert played from boats at the end in a psudo cave concert hall. Then they take you out in row boats or you can walk out. Loved Mallorca...it had everything and this hotel was nicely located..

Room Tip: Top floor ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon-Aya, Director General at Aya Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Denra R,

First at all thank you for the time you spent writing your comments.
We are glad to read that your stay at the hotel was nice. We note your comments and please note that the entrance to wellness is prohibited under 16 as well as nudity. The person with children was warned by our staff. Certainly it is this time of year there are many cyclists in Mallorca and even water temperature not too hot.
Thank you very much again and hope to greet you personally.
Best Regards
Ramón Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Summary

Negatives:
- smelly room with pubic hair in bathroom
- room not cleaned during the stay
- oily floors in room and bathroom as a result of the massage facilities
- 'fresh' towels smell of oil too
- very rude and unfriendly staff
- neighbours coughing audible through the thin walls
- noisy corridor especially when other guests are climbing on the staircase
- badly designed room door-closer needed constant repairs during the stay
- no kettle, tea/coffee, milk in room
- no water provided (tap water not recommended for drinking in Mallorca)

Positives:
- good location & view (if you are in beach facing room)
- Flamenco performance on Friday evening
- massage facility (€25-29 for 25 mins, €50-75 for 55 mins)

Detail:
Based on our booking of a double bedroom in this "4 star" hotel, we were given a room which smelled of a blocked drain pipe. Upon further inspection, we found pubic hair in the bathroom. When we complained about this and requested the receptionist for a different room, he didn't believe us and sent his colleague to this room. Then after a 15 min wait we were told that they didn't have any double-bedrooms which were in the same price range as our booking and we were left with a choice of paying an additional charge of €40 for a room on the other side of the hotel or find a different hotel. Having already paid the non-refundable original room charge we agreed to pay the additional charge.

At first we could not enter the new room as the door closer malfunctioned. After complaining again to the receptionist, a member of staff helped us into the room and attempted to repair the damaged door-closer over the next half an hour. As we were settling into the new room we discovered that the double-bed was in fact two adjacent single beds (i.e. a twin-bed). Furthermore, the tiled floor felt very sticky (probably as a result of massage oils). Not wanting to loose our valuable time in beautiful Mallorca, we decided to get on with it.

When we tried to use the shower the next day, we were faced with more disappointment of towels which smelled of body oil. There weren't any tea/coffee making facilities in the room either and nor was there any drinking water (which would have been nice as mineral content of tap water is apparently too high for drinking)

The hotel guide in the room suggested we should use the safety box (which costs €2.50 per day) for important belongings as anything stolen from the room is not the hotel's responsibility. This was supposedly included in our room booking but the same unfriendly receptionist refused to accept the booking document and pointed us to the policy in the hotel guide.

After we returned to our room from the day out, we discovered that the room floor had not been cleaned and was full of what felt like sand.

When we were reading the dinner buffet menu at the entrance of the hotel's only restaurant, one of the waiter's approached us and arrogantly mentioned "11 euros per person for dinner" and left without waiting for our response. We did not feel welcomed to either the hotel or the restaurant particularly in this situation as the waiter did not even say "Ola" or "Hello".

At night as we were preparing for bed we could hear the light coughing of our neighbours and their conversations (which I am glad we could not understand).

The next morning we were woken up fairly early in the morning by the talking and steps of other guests who were staying on higher floors than ours.

On the positive note, we had a nice view from our room facing the beach. We were treated to a lovely sunrise and sunset during our 4 day holiday. The masseur was also skilled and polite. The jacuzzi/sauna were free to use until 7:30 PM however not all the guests respected the hotel's rules (no nudity and only persons over 16 years of age should have been allowed). By far the best part of our stay was the hour long Flamenco organised by the hotel on Friday evening. The dancers were highly skilled and it was a delight to be treated with such richness of the Spanish culture.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon-Aya, Manager at Aya Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sir,
First, I want to thank you for the time dedicated to write reviews of Hotel.Please let me point out some of the aspects discussed by you:
The chambermaid who went to you room did not observe any pipe smell.
At the reception you didn’t said anything about the hair on the bathroom, the “sticky floor” and towels smelling to oil. It’s not too usual that the clients do not report such serious things when the happen.
The additional charge you paid is because you requested a room with sea-view. It is the supplement for upgrading your standard-room to a room with direct sea-view (both categories were available the day you booked through booking.com, so you should know that the price is higher).
If you check the description of our hotel you will not find any reference about the price of safety box being included in the price of the room.
We regret very much that you found the waiter “arrogant” when he informed you about the price of the evening meal. I do not think that he had intended at all to appear arrogant, because that is not the best way to convince clients to pay for the dinner.
However we appreciate your opinion about some of the weak points of the hotel, and rest assured that we will do our best to improve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Was the 2. time in Hotel AYA after 3 years ago and again in early October. Nothing changed by the very good quality, very friendly and very personal stuff, cleaned and comfortable rooms in that comfortable Beach Hotel, cross the Esplanade from L´Arenal, beautifull the view from Balcony to the Sea and Esplanade, enjoyable sunsets. Great Breakfast buffet every morning we had and so a good start into the Mallorca holidays! The pool area inside is cleaned and relaxing.
... a bit upset by very loud "typical german-ballermann- tourist group" we had in our time in that Hotel. So we are ashamed of this typical german-ballermann-party group behavior, as we are Germans too. So yes we are not that typical german tourists there on L´Arenal, and just we enjoyed 3rd stay on Island Mallorca and 2. time in the Hotel AYA.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Sea-front have an excellent view to the Esplanade and to the Sea with dream sunsets. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon-Aya, Director General at Aya Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

wir bedanken uns für Ihre positiven Kommentare und Bemerkungen. Wir arbeiten sehr gerne auch weiter daran Ihnen einen angenehmen Aufenthalt bei uns zu ermöglichen.
Wir hoffen, Sie in Ihrem nächsten Urlaub wieder bei uns begrüßen zu können.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

In 2005 I have been here and was not really impressed by the place so a little hesistant to go back. But as my friends also booked here I gave it a try. To my positive surpirse I must say the hotel really imporved a lot. Rooms have been re-done. Very basic but excellent. All you need. Also the rooms are relatively spacious. The public areas excellent, very bright and clean and inviting. Service very good and attentive as well in the restaurant as the reception desk.
Location great expecpt the drunk tourists at night on the street in front of the hotel, but guess that belongs to the location. Value - Price absolutely given.
What I never understand in such hotels is that you have to rent a safe. Especially if the hotel is on a 4-star level. The positive things is that WiFi is free of charge for hotel guests.

Room Tip: If you have some Euro's extra pay for the sea view. It's worth to wake up with this amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon-Aya, Gerente at Aya Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciada Señora,

Muchas gracias por enviarnos su opinión del hotel.
Ciertamente el hotel se reforma cada año y desde su estancia en el 2005, ha cambiado mucho.
Precisamente las opiniones de nuestros clientes nos sirven para saber cuales son sus necesidades y que debemos reformar del hotel.
Nuevamente muchas gracias y espero poder saludarla personalmente en una próxima ocasión.
Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the end of April. Great staff, clean rooms, clean hotel, good food, great location. Beautiful walk along the beach

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorbasse, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here for a week. Fantastic service - they replaced our matress when we asked for a more firm type. Next day our bag was stolen on the beach among other things also containing both the card for the hotel door and our key rented for the safe. When explaining this situation at the reception they offered to replace the whole lock in the safe free of charge. Absolutely top class service. Also both the breakfast and the dinner buffet are fine. Unfortunately the hotel is placed in an area with many tourists behaving extremely badly. The hotel and the beach just in front of the hotel are wonderfull.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aya Hotel

Address: Carretera Arenal 60, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Aya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aya Hotel Playa De Palma, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.