We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location by the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Velazquez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bungalows Velazquez to your Saves list
Bungalows Velazquez
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Av de Las Playas, 8, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week and the location next to the sea made our holiday. We would not normally like such a busy resort with a very limited supply of really good quality restaurants, (most of the restaurants seem to complete on the basis of price not on the quality of the food which is unfortunate) however, the location of the apartment was glorious. It was very clean and well serviced. We found the beds and the sitting room furniture very basic and uncomfortable however, the balcony and the proximity to the sea makes this very special and we would recommend it despite it being expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Velazquez apartments many times and every time was almost faultless. The receptionist and maids are very helpful and the rooms are spotless! The kitchen is well equipped and spacious. The rooms are maintained every day by the maids and towels changed very frequent. The view is brilliant: sea view and your own little beach. It even has signs up at either side of the beach saying "PRIVADO" which I think means private. That made us feel very secure! There is also a security man who comes out at around 10 o'clock to check all the doors. We will definitely be staying here again (around June/July time).

Room Tip: Book and reserve rooms number 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, for the best view or rooms 1-17 for distance to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We normally stay in much cheaper apartments but having passed the Velazquez every year saying "I'd love to stay there" we decided to splash out.

We had bungalow no 25. One bedroom, large sitting room / well equipped kitchen and decent modern bathroom, we even had our own little laundry drying room with a sink for beach stuff and a small welcome pack of groceries. There is a charge for the safe deposit box, TV remote (returnable) and for air con. There is a hairdryer, iron and board. You also leave a deposit for any breakages which I found unusual. Beds could have been more comfortable and slipped about a lot on the floor but a minor grumble.

We had a large terrace with chairs and a sun lounger and cushions and the view was fantastic, an uninterrupted view of the sea, it was beautiful and perfect for nightcaps, breakfast and in fact any other time.

You can swim from some points opposite the bungalows, but when the tide is in, I found it difficult to get into the sea because of the rocks. When the tide is out, you can walk into the gently shelving and clear sea easily and it is lovely to swim in.

There are 2 pools in equally good surroundings, with loads of sunbeds. No bar, but that didn't bother us and kept things nice and quiet. It is surprisingly very quiet considering that you are right next to the road.

The staff were very friendly and helpful from the lady on reception who was excellent, to the cleaning staff and security man who patrolled the grounds.

The weather was mixed when we went so being in such a central location was great, you could be back at the appartment in minutes when it decided to rain.

I would give it 5/5 but did find it quite expensive, 3 to 4 times the price we normally pay for an appartment. I'd love to stay here again but will have to start saving up now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just back from a seven day stay at these apartments, please note there are known as the Bungalows Velazquez locally. I can only confirm the other reviews that they are excellent. We were two adults and two kids, we had apartment number five right next to the pool as requested. It was two bedrooms and two bathrooms, both spotlessly clean. For a complex so close to the main road it is very quiet. there are two small pools, the adult one we all found to be very cold but this is the norm in PDC. There is no bar or restauant facilities here but you are a stones throws from hundreds of eateries and pubs.
These apartments are a bit more expensive than similar ones but are to a much higher standard. There is a small sandy/rocky beach infront of the apartments where we snorkelled and fished.
I would highly reccomend these apartments and will stay there again. If we could find one fault it would be the lack of Wifi, there is only WiFi available around the reception, perhaps looking into WiFi by the pool would be an idea, otherwise great.
A nice touch at the end of the hoiliday was that we asked for a late check out because of a late flight but were told no because they were full up, we accepted this and understood. Later that afternoon reception rang and said that we could stay longer in our apartment because the people coming in weren't getting in till late, and it was at no extra charge to us, this hasn't happened anywhere else to us and we were really appreciative of the effort made by reception.

Room Tip: Our Apartmenst (5) suffered from a bit of AC noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

As a frequent visitor to PDC generally staying In 4* hotels ie Rui Paraiso, Hotel Fariones, Barcarola Club and Las Costas I was delighted with the Velazquez Apartments. I am an extremely fussy person the accomodation was spotless clean and the bathroom perfect. We stayed in No. 28 and had our own sandy cove. I would highly recommended these very clean and very central apartments.
I know where I will be staying next year.
Joanne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Going on previous advice and comments made about these bungalows i was hoping that we would not be dissapointed when we got there. I must say that what was written about these apartments was true. They were exceptional. The staff were very helpful, the bungalows were cleaned every day and towels and linen changed every two days.

The Location is perfect right on the Playa strip with a great choice of restuarants and bars. There was also access to a small beach directly from the complex. I cannot fault anything about the place. Would definitely return to this complex if we are going back to Lanzarote again and would thoroughly recommend it to all who would ask.
I have no complaints about the complex but a suggestion would be that wi-fi would be made thorughout the complex as wi-fi was only available at reception. Even if there was a small charge for this facility it complete an exceptional experience that we had on this holiday.

Room Tip: The bungalows near the pool are excellent with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for a fortnight having tracked it down through tripadvisor. Loved it! Having visited other Canary Islands together with mainland Spain and Portugal over the years I have stayed in lots of different apartments and these are by far the best. The cleaning service is excellent. It is quiet. There are plenty of sun loungers and umbellas near the two pools. The pools are small but sufficient. Also the complex faces the ocean and I loved the option of having a dip in either a pool or the salt water. It is on the main strip which is handy. You can walk to the Old Town at your leisure or hop in a taxi which will cost around 3 to 4 euro. There is Wi-Fi down at the reception. Also, if you need to go online and have no laptop or smart phone with you, you can pay a small fee to use their computer. I LOVE that the apartments have air-conditioning - a blessing at night. If you would like a peaceful relaxing break - this is the spot for you!

Room Tip: I love the sound of waves but as you are right beside the ocean it is quite loud at night...keep thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalows Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Velazquez

Address: Av de Las Playas, 8, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Velazquez 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bungalows Velazquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velazquez Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bungalows Velazquez Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Velazquez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.