We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Gracioseros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Los Gracioseros to your Saves list
Los Gracioseros
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Calle El Ancla 14, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Our flight was delayed and we arived in about 9pm. Reception and pool bar were closed and after initial panic a security guard found us and put everything in order.
The living room of the apartment was good size and the kitched area had everthing needed.Plenty of wardroom space in the bedroom, but a coat of paint in the rooms would not go astray.In-room safe for rent at €2 a day and TV at €2.50.Cleaners came in every other day and towels were changed three times a week.
Reception is only open from 09.00 - 13.00 and I think it should be open for guests arriving at reasonable times.There is a small library and internet, and the girl on duty was very friendly and helpful.
The pool was not heated and the "shallow end" is 1.7mts! However, it was barely used by the guests during our stay and there is no problem with sunbeds.The poolside bar had very nice staff and prices for food and drink were reasonable.
The complex is in a quiet location even though only a 5min walk to the main strip, and there was never any undue noise at night.SPAR supermarket is only 200mts away.
If you like a basic drop and flop holiday or are on a bit of a budget this place has it all. Location,clean,quiet,friendly staff and reasonably priced.I can easily see why people return.
P.S if you need to take a taxi from the airport check out lastminutetransfers.com. Exceptional service. Read the comments page.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    86
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
36
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Just got back from staying in Los Gracioseros last. this is my second time to stay here in less than a year and I will be back again in the summer. Love the place. Myself and my family went over for the New Year, around twenty of us. Not one person had a bad word to say about the place. Its five Min's form the centre of Puerto Del Carmen, There is a big Spar supermarket around the corner. The food is excellent at the bar. Security guard patrolling the complex ever night. So all in all Great place to stay the apartments are spotless.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We were very happy with our choice. See comments below which will hopefully be helpful for others.

1. We got perfect apt. about mid way down and upstairs. So weren't overlooking reception or pool and wasn't too noisy with kids in the morning.

2. Apts were very clean and had everything needed, inc kettle and toaster.

3. Safe key had to be rented off reception. Don't forget to leave it back the morning before you leave as reception mightn't be open when leaving. Just ask at reception for times.

4. Think key for working the TV also had to be rented but we went without for the week. We were on holiday after all. had ipod and speakers instead for when we were relaxing. - Don't forget your electrical adaptors :)

5. As the norm in Spain, there were two single beds which we could put together but not exactly the ideal.

6. Althought clean and beds made daily, there were holes in the pillowcases, so if your picky then don't go to this place. Towels were also changed at least every second day.
We had our own beach towels so we were sorted.

7. When we were there, we never had problem getting sun bed, and each apt had their own mattresses which we carried down to sun beds around the pool. Made lying out much more comfy.

8. As previous poster said, pool is very deep. (seperate kiddies pool) Not a problem for anyone that can swim any bit. Also pool wasn't heated when we were there. Didn't mind as was good cool down after sun bathing.

9. There were at least 3 food supermarkets within 5 mins walk inc one small one across the road where i got my daily croissant.

10. As resort was in new town, we were nearly the last to be collected on way back to airport so no getting up too early and spending two hours on bus winding around streets. Just leave key back in box outside reception.

11. Only got down to pool bar on one of the nights. Drinks very reasonable there. Run by an english guy, now living in lanzarote. Really friendly guy. Prices very reasonable and cocktails very strong.

12. In terms of location, its well down the strip, near the casino. About 45-60 mins walk to old town. No hills until you get to old town. Resort is about 5 mins walk from strip. maybe another 5 mins again to beach (which is up the strip a bit)

13. Last point. Can't remember the name, but we loved the italien restuarant which was on the corner on the right as we reached the strip. Ate there at least 4 times and food very good every night..

Thanks for lovely holiday,

Georgie

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for a week in September.

The Good:
Gate open 24hrs
Quiet but there were road work right outside our room
Secure
Apartment itself Clean
short walk from the strip

The Bad:
Do Not get the Tv its expensive and has a bad signal and only a few channels most also seen to be just free to air, Bring a laptop or portable dvd player.

Safe box is too expensive its the same as found in B&Q for €30/40 so has paid for itself over and over

You'll have better luck getting a bar of gold out of fort knox than get extra thin towels, the woman seemed to be more worried about keeping control on the staff than keeping guests happy

I went to use the internet in reception but was told i had to go by the woman after 5mins after paying 'enough' for 15mins??? No wifi either to make up for it

Security guard is a ignorant crank so much so that he had the cheek to come to our door and Sush us because we were laughing!!!!

The pool is unsuitable for beginners the shallow end is up to your shoulders and deep end is 2.6 meters from memory

Information seemed to be on a need to ask basis on the final day checkout was at 11:00am we didn't see or know this so we went for breakfast and came back to a cranky Didier we asked where was this said and he said at reception which it wasn't but outside on the wall which isn't a place easily noticed

you have to pay for the baggage weighing machine

I won't be returning to these apartments Lesson learned

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

stayed here for two weeks , very impressed apartment was large and clean with loads of storage space, good size area for prep of food , bedrooms had loads of wardrobe space beds comfortable enough , a very nice balcony and tables chairs of a good size was perfect for sitting out with a few drinks at night .
its located no more then five min from the strip , and the walk which is slightly uphill but its not really too bad of a climb there are loads of good restaurants which offer good value within 5 min walk , most of the clubs are about a 10 min walk but there are loads of pubs which offer good value .the Irish bars on the strip can be a bit of a rip off . .there is a small beach, it is located within five min walk the larger beaches are a bit further away . taxis are plentyfull and pass close by 4 euros will get u anywhere in Porto del Carmen
.
the pool is deep but there is a nice kiddys pool the pool bar is clean and nice offering good bear and food at fair price people who were running it are very nice

the staff are friendly and helpful , the rooms were cleaned five six days a week to a high level there was no problem with towels which were change frequently . the guy on the front desk is very helpful and speaks perfect english..

if you are booking any tours try executive travel as opposed to the ones budget recommends very professional service ( they don't try to sell u anything)tagise market is worth going to for suvioners as the strip is a rip off , the drag show is a great night out

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

As part of a group of 12 my boyfriend and i stayed in these apartments for seven nights. couldnt fault them at all for the week. lovely spacious apartments with kitchen/living area. kitchen has full set of delph, frying pan, saucepan and two ring hob, kettle and toaster for those who may cook a little. bedroom had plenty of storage with 4 drawers and two large wardrobes, no need to live out of the suitcase for the week. tv was in the living room but was on a pay for week basis 15euro. we didnt need it but i believe there were english channels on it sky 1 and sky news. etc. laundry available on site one of the gang used it very happy with it. apartments located in the new town. less than 5 minute walk to the Strip or Avendia for the restaurants, bars and clubs and no steep hills to climb in this part. apartments just far enough away that there is absolutley no noise at night. slept like a baby for the seven nights. on site night porter will come around and ask you to whisper if you sit out front having a drink or anything at 5 in the morning which is fair enough but he is lovely and really keeps an eye on the place at night. pool is great but unusually deep for holiday pool. im five foot 6 and shallow end was to my shoulders. deep end very deep, lads were over 6 foot and couldnt get near the bottom. threading water ability required. small childrens pool as well as swings and slide located by the pool as well. poolside bar was clean and friendly serving the usual drinks at very fair prices no rip offs here and basic but good burgers chips and sandwiches. would def return to here and one friend said would return with small children. very safe secure apartments with supervalu two minute walk away and smaller shop right acoss street for immediate provisons of water, cigarettes sunscreen etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed here for two weeks. It was bigger than I expected, but lacked a few fine details, which I cannot really complain about because it is cheap accommodation. The showers never had enough water so had to rush my shower most days, and even at that the water was luke warm, the shower head also didn't work properly. Also, they did not provide enough towels, and then only replaced them once a week. Not enough if you're showering every day, feels a bit unhygenic after cleaning yourself to dry with a very used towel!...Was disappointed there was no oven and there was no cleaning product for washing dishes. They had one little tea towel and no dish cloth and was disppointed to find out it was twin room when I thought it would be double. Would be nice if they gave that option. We didn't need to rent a fan as opening the window let a nice breeze in and the temperatures were very high. Don't eat at the pool bar, it's horrible, even the chips were rotten, and very expensive compared to the lovely meals you get in the Old Town. Buy breakfast and Lunch at nearby Hiperdino supermarket and save your dinner/lunch for anywhere but the bar. They were far from friendly at the bar, so I'm not sure why people are raving on about it. They also had no channels showing any of the football//sports which would have been handy. I would recommend Mulligans in the New Town for watching sports. The Beach is lovely and worth walking the 10-15mins to. The pool can get very noisy with kids running around and quite alot of kids fell as it gets quite slippy. There is no kids club as such, so I don't think I would recommend this for a family with kids who get easily bored. The old town is the place to go for dinner, Cascada/Bodgeo and the French restaurant beside Jimmys Bar were ones to remember. If you're going with Budget Travel or planning on trips, I would recommend Volcano trip and camel ride-half day tour, don't do the full day, we were told that the longest you would be on a bus was 30 mins...it was more like an hour at a time..it felt like we had just been on a bus for the day, don't do the second half, not worth it.
Didier at reception told me to get off the internet as there was someone waiting. I had put 1.50eur into the machine which gave about 45 mins. Another resident came in to use it just after me, and I was shocked that I had to leave with 20 minutes of my time still left. Was very rude and not very fair. If there is a time limit, maybe they should display this or get more computers. I walked to the strip to use the internet after that. All in all, had a lovely time there, I would recommend it, but don't be expecting huge comforts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Gracioseros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Gracioseros

Address: Calle El Ancla 14, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Gracioseros 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Gracioseros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gracioseros Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Gracioseros Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Gracioseros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.