We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday for Years - Loved Every Minute.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Villa Canaima to your Saves list
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Tomillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Holiday for Years - Loved Every Minute.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I really did not want to write a review on this hidden gem for selfish reasons in case it becomes so popular we cannot book again due to unavailability.

Bit of a walk from main commercial centre of Matagorda - nothing strenuous as water can be purchased quite reasonable in reception area along with milk. We stayed on top floor and only drawback was lugging suitcases up the steps but the view was to die for - what a wonderful wonderful view from the glorious sunrises to the outstanding sunsets with the sun all day on the balcony.

Kitchenette, living room, bathroom with shower and reasonably roomy bedroom. Yes the beds were hard but I found with a damaged spine that I could sleep really well without any effect what so ever as my spine had ben supported all night - I slept better than I have done for years! Spare pillows was a bonus and the blankets if needed and the pillows were not the usual "pancake" type you have to fold over to get comfortable.

Spotlessly clean and brilliant staff who would do anything to help you AND the pool was cleaned and checked EVERY day for its ph balance - very impressed with the attention paid to the pool water.

Only minor gripe was the cooking utensils and cutlery was minimal and could have done with just a little more for preparing meals when not wanting to eat out. But this is entirely my fault as I feel sure that if I had requested additional supplies they would have been there.

Washing dries so easily as it catches wind when hung out on the corner extendable drier. Always hot water 24 hours a day and air conditioning and heating unit if needed which is started off with 99 euros in the meter.

Don't under estimate the quality of the pool side snack bar. On our last day we had breakfasts which were exceptionally good, well presented and reasonably priced. The other snacks are also of really good quality and the beer in iced glasses is just as cheap if not cheaper than a lot of places in Matagorda commercial centre.

Taxi rank just minutes away, Puerto del Carmen a lovely sunny walk by the sea on one of the longest promenades in the world running from Arracife to Puerto del Carmen Harbour where you can catch a boat for various trips.

Reception will organise any additional trips and we went on a Last Minute. com tour of the island. First time used them and they were really professional throughout and excellent value for money with many trips actually being cheaper than trying to do them yourselves. They pick up on the opposite side to the taxi rank practically on villas doorsteps.

This is our sixth time to Matagorda and I worried that I might be bored with revisiting same place too many times - not a chance! The most wonderfully enjoyable holiday for years. These villas a truely a hidden gem. Fantastic and cannot wait to return - well done Villa Canaima for getting it so right - lovely relaxing quiet chilled out place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Please excuse me for answering your review this late.
On your next visit to us, please ask us for extra cooking utensils.
Comments like yours reward our every day work
Thank you for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
126
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I am writing this whilst currently sitting on our balcony at the apartments, overlooking the sea. All the previous reviews praising these apartments are well justified. On arrival, on a Sunday evening, we found a burst water pipe had caused minor flooding to the apartment, a quick phone call and within 30 minutes or so, staff had attended and we were moved to a new apartment, now that is what I call service.
The apartments are situated about a 5 -10 minute stroll from the shopping centre where there are a number of bars, restaurants and two supermarkets to chose from, a slight uphill stroll on the way back, but not too exhausting at all.
Matagorda is a quiet area, with just the resaurants and bars at the shopping centre, if you are looking for nightlife, that is in Puerto del Carmen itself, which is about a 30 minute walk away or a taxi at around 4/5 euro.
Everything you need in the apartments, which are kept spotlessly clean, as is all the complex, plenty of sunbeds by the pool and no-one reserving them. Digital TV included with lots of channels which you can change to English language, what a bonus.
A nice snack bar overlooking the pool area which does a very good large breakfast at 4euro, only slightly more expensive than in the shopping centre, but no walking, we have not tried the snacks yet, but not expensive either, large beer 2.5 euro, cheaper than the restaurants.
The beds as mentioned previously are on the hard side, but we found them to be fine and extra pillows and blankets if you get chilly.
Free wi-fi, a bit hit and miss at times, but as I write they have had a man in to try and sort it out, obviously not too bad as I managed to write this from there.
All staff are extremely friendly and can not do enough for you, we have stayed in a number of other apartments in the area and I can honestly say for location and quality this is one of the best. We will certainly book here for our next visit if available and would certainly recommend to friends and family.
Taxi from airport was 12.5 euro

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room, very good with the sun all day. we were on 1st floor excellent, 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Please excuse me for answering your review this late.
We take seriously our commitment of keeping well maintained apartments, however water incidents can always happen, but again, our maxima is reduce to a minimum expression any inconveniences it might cause to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed in most apts and hotels in Matagorda over many years. This is by far the best. - spotlessly clean, (not an ant or cockroach in sight) well maintained and lovely helpful, friendly staff. I stayed in one of their 4 apartments for people with disabilities. I hire a mobility scooter which I bring in and recharge overnight - plenty of room for this. Nice sized bathroom with flat walk in shower, shower seat and plenty of grab rails and sliding doors so they don't get in the way. Wardrobes with low level rails and double bed and enough space to move around the room. The staff here will do anything they can to make your stay more comforable so well done all round to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
We try to do our best to please our guests and to maintain in optimums conditions our little tourist complex.
We appreciate the completed description you have done about our One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access.
Thank you very much for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and quiet holiday apartment, then look no further. This is probably the best run complex in Matagorda, and we have stayed in most of them over the last ten years. Great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
We try to do our best to please our guests and to maintain in optimums conditions our little tourist complex. Thank you very much for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This little apartment block is a hidden treasure in Peurto Del Carmen... a little off the map means it is very quiet and peaceful yet all the amenities are within easy walking distance. It is also very close to the airport so no long transfers! Excellent value for money. Apartments are clean and spacious and have either sea views or views of the pool, very nice! Staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. The bar is perfect for a light lunch and the terrace is a lovely spot for a drink in the late afternoon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
With our daily work we try to care for our little treasure! Chantelle thank you very much for: "A gem"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from a ten stay stay in Villa Canaima in Lanzarote. These apartments are one of the best we have ever stayed in. They are highly maintained, spotlessly clean and in a quiet location a mere 5 minute walk to the beach, pubs and restaurants in Matagorda with no hills to climb. The complex consists of 31 apartments, all with airconditioning ( 8 hours free per day, which is more than enough and it is noiseless ). The apartments have either a full oven or a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge and the usual cooking and dining utensils. The bedrooms are spacious as are the kitchen/diner and bathroom. All apartments have a large balcony with lovely views. Towels are changed every 2 days and bed linen once a week. There is a poolside bar which opens during daylight hours and sewrves both drinks and snacks. Next to reception is a well stocked library and both water and fresh milk can be purchased at reception. Tours can also be booked from reception. A taxi rank is located just 50 metres from the complex. Fares from the complex vary from between 5 and 8 euros depending on where you are going . The fare from the airport is approximately 10 euros and takes less than 10 minutes. Matagorda shopping centre is a 5 minute walk from the complex and contains two large Supermarkets, a jewellers, hairdresser, massage and beauty parlour, rent a car and bicycle rental shops as well as the usual souvenir shops. There are also numerous restaurants located in the centre, including Japanese, Chinese, Mexican, Irish and local. A wide variety of pubs can also be found there. The promenade which stretches from Arrecife ( Capital city ) to the Old Town ( Puerto Del Carmen ) is outside the shoppimg centre.All in all, Villa Canaima is ideal for a quiet relaxing break while at the same time close enough to the more livelier parts of the resort.

Room Tip: If possible get an apartment on the second floor of the centre block for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Propietario at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
Your gratification rewards our daily work. We are very impressed about your thorough description of Matagorda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first holiday on the Island of Lanzarote and we were not disappointed with our stay at Apartamentos Villa Canaima. Lissett and Fatima were great hosts and keep a very nice set of apartments in Matagorda. The apartment was very clean and had most items you would require in a self-catering apartment, fully equipped kitchen, great powerful shower, the most comfy bed I have ever had on holiday. We would recommend this villa and will be going back again soon!

Room Tip: Not too far to walk to bars and restaurants. About 15 mins from apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad that you have liked our unique island of Lanzarote and that you are thinking about coming back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Villa Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Address: Tomillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Villa Canaima 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming complex with 31 apartments, 29 one bedroom apartments and 2 two bedrooms apartments. Ideal for people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday. This is a small complex run by a Lanzarote’s family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos Villa Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Villa Canaima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.