We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Penita Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Penita Apartments to your Saves list
La Penita Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Repeat visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have now been for the last 3 years in March to Puerto Del Carmen and have chosen La Penita each time. It's a lovely laid back complex and in an ideal location, close to the strip but not too close!
The previous two years we had managed to get a top floor apartment, not immediately over the pool but so that you can see the pool and the sea and these got the sun on the balcony for nearly the whole day.
Unfortunately, the last time we could not get an apartment in the same area and were concerned that we would not enjoy the stay as much. However, we didn't need to worry - the apartments were identical inside to the previous ones, but the balcony was bigger. Although it only had the sun until early afternoon and no real view, it was still very pleasant.
The staff, as always, are friendly and the poolside snack bar was excellent value.

Room Tip: Worth asking for top floor overlooking pool and sea view, but not essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    207
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
137
359
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burstwick, Hull
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Recently back from our seventh stay and already booked for later in the year. Different apartment block this time with a pool and sea view,had wondered before if these would be noisier than our usual ones ,due to backing onto a residential street, but apart from a couple of mornings when we heard the bins being emptied they were fine. As always the staff were cheerful and helpful, the apartments kept clean and the grounds a pleasure to walk through. All told, another good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We returned to La Penita after a good experience the previous year. The complex is quiet and the pool is clean and inviting with enough sunbeds. It is a short distance to the front and all the amenities including a supermarket a few yards away, a great cocktail bar (Gloden Corner) and a lovely Italian restaurant (Trattoria). The apartments are clean and comfortable.
The staff were very helpful and made the whole trip run smoothly. If there were some improvements that could be made then it is the TV reception (they raised this issue with us before we noticed it) and the strength of the wifi signal.
All in all, I’d highly recommend La Penita for a decent and good value holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently stayed a week at La Penita Apartments in Puerto Del Carmen after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked a one bedroom apartment for two people.
The accommodation was clean, basic and large there was a fridge, kettle, toaster and hot plate. The TV was the old fashioned chunky style and the picture was fuzzy on BBC1 & ITV so found ourselves watching Dubai News!
We stayed in Apartment 192 which faced the path to the beach, we got the morning sun and although there was a bar opposite heard more music from the neighbours!
The mattresses on the beds are ROCK HARD and used to wake up when I turned over in the night. Rooms were clean, no complaints there. Pool area was clean although towels were down on the sun-loungers early as accommodation was not full, could find space at 9am.
Wifi signal although free was hit and miss and had to stand by bedroom window in order to get signal or be by the pool/reception area.
Location was good, close to shops, bars and restaurants although finding accommodation by car was a nightmare due to the one way street system.....
Would stay there again as was a good price for good clean basic accommodation and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've just returned from La Penita and will gladly return at some future date. Following family recommendations, I spent a lovely week in a super one-bed apartment. I was fortunate enough to have a spectacular view of the sea and, bathed in sunshine from early morning until early evening, this was an ideal setting. Plenty of room, four piece bathroom complete with hairdryer...(not the best available but served the purpose)...and a relaxing area fitted with armchairs, sofa, table and chairs and adequate kitchen. I know most people eat out but I did feel the lack of plugs was a slight niggle. One plug meant it was impossible to brew up and make toast at the same time for those, like myself, who enjoy that kind of breakfast....but to complain is really nit-picking!! There's a decent television and the remote can be collected from Reception for a nominal deposit. Also, free wi-fi can be accessed in certain parts of the premises.
The balcony was a good size with further seating facilities.
Everything was clean and made you feel relaxed and confident about your stay.
Externally, the swimming pool and surrounding garden area and grounds were attractive and as clean as the apartments. My second niggle was that, though there is a 'printed rule' about not saving sunbeds by putting towels and belongings on unless in use, most beds were in fact saved from early morning, especially those in the prime sunny spots. One morning I watched as one resident, still attired in full-length flimsy nightie and a zipped hoodie, dragged two sunbeds into position before covering with towels. These were not used until much later. Why have the rule if you are not going to enforce the suggested sanctions i.e. removal of personal belongings?
La Penita is very close to an array of bars, restaurants, supermarkets and shops but I never felt I was so close that the noise was a disturbance because it certainly wasn't.
I'm surprised that these apartments are only classed as two-star. I've stayed in many that were higher ranked but were far, far worse. The two-star may put some people off but that would be their loss. These are undoubtedly apartments well worth a visit...I'm sure I'll be back.......

Room Tip: Try to get a sea or pool view as this adds to the appeal of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

just back from my yearly visit great place to stay mimutes from the main area but away from the hustle & bustle. Now I know you don't go on holiday to watch tv but if you are staying for a long period of time and unable to get about like some people I spoke too the chanels need to get back like before. Apart from that no complaints see you next year

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have just returned from yet another stay in the Penita apartments. This time it was very busy which is unusual for the time of year and we had to get up early to get a sunbed as towels were being put on beds before 7am which was a bit annoying. The apartments though are as spotless as ever, they may be a bit dated but very well maintained and comfortable enough for your stay. We always request a downstairs room to the left of the reception and they have always managed to do this for us, you even get a complimentary bottle of wine. The kitchen is pretty basic but you do not want to eat in as there are so many good places to eat. You are supplied with washing up liquid and a tea towel along with a microwave, hob and utensils. The bathroom has a hair dryer but not very good, but if you forgot it or yours got broken, a blessing. The TV has basic programmes unlike in the past where there has been ITV and a movies channel. Not too much of a problem as we took a DVD player wich we could plug into the TV. All in all, basic apartments but good value for money and I will still be visiting these apartments in the future. The reception and staff are very helpful when needed. The location is excellent as you are in the middle of the new town and a short walk into the harbour and old town. I definitely recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Address: C/ Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Penita Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.