We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean apartments, excellently located :) Would recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Penita Apartments

Save Saved
You added La Penita Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice clean apartments, excellently located :) Would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in La Penita for a week in October. The apartments are clean and spacious, beds were comfy, all the rooms are twin, but you can push the beds together if you want a double.

I was surprised to read some of the bad reviews so I have set out the good and bad points.

Good points:

Staff
Staff are friendly and helpful. The reception staff have good English and will book taxis, booked our diving trip and advised us about buses etc.

Entertainment
There are activities on everyday except Thursdays from 12 on, there is water polo, shooting, darts, bingo, aqua aerobics etc. There is supposed to be a mini disco at 9pm but the bar is dead at night as no one drinks there.

Pool
The pool is lovely and despite other
reviews it is not chlorinated! Yes the paint is flaking but the pool is being re painted in November.

Quiet
The apartments were occupied mainly by older couples and families with young children. It is quiet all the time, which we loved. But if you are looking for somewhere lively this would not be the best place to stay.

Clean
The apartments are cleaned 5 days a week (not Wed/ Sun). Fresh towels are provided everyday, the floors are washed and beds made. They were not changed in the week we stayed. The only small thing was we were given 2 tiny bars of soap for the week.

Location
The apartments are excellently located about 1 minutes walk from the main area with the beach, lots of restaurants, shops, bars, nightclubs etc.

It is around 30 mins walk away from old town.

The airport is about 10 - 15 minutes away and €20 in a taxi.

We booked the bus transfer from the airport to the hotel and return, however the bus did not turn up to collect us going back to the airport and at 4am it was difficult to get a taxi to take us to the airport. If booking with low cost holidays, DO NOT BOOK the bus transfer back, it is too unreliable. Also there is a porter in the hotel at night (obviously we had checked out & handed our keys back) & when we went back to the apartment complex 10 mins after we left to get the bus the porter was no where to be found, the gate was locked and we could not get back into the apartments to try & ring a taxi.

There is a safe in each room & you can rent a key for €11 a week plus a €5 deposit.

Bad points

Sunbeds
People get up really early to reserve sun beds, so if your planning to lie in past 9.30 am you are not going to get a sunbed. Some people leave towels on the beds all day & might not turn up till around 4pm. There are usually free beds in the afternoon anyway.

WIFI
The wifi signal is really bad, intermittent and the band width is very low. However there are 2 computers in the reception that can be used for a small charge - 40 cent for 10 minutes, very fast.

Bar Food
Bar food isn't great, medium size pizza €4.50 (burnt and no taste), mini breakfast €4.50 - but walk down to the end of the steps and they do a full English for €2. Also restaurants do large pizza for €4.

TV
There is a TV in the room and the remote can be rented for €5 from reception, the signal/ picture is pretty bad.

Overall
We really enjoyed our stay at La Penita and plan to revisit next time we are visiting Lanzarote, the bad points were minor and I have mentioned them to give people a full review :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    179
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
118
321
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are coming back on 4th November for 10 days this year for our 5th visit. Can honestly say we have never had a problem with the apartments. The location is just perfect, close to everything you need but nice and quiet. Go on give them a try.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you want a great holiday brilliant location and lovely staff this is the place to go. We traveled here in October and had the best holiday ever, we go away every year and everyone taught this was the best holiday in the 12years wer going away. So thank you everyone in la pienita and wel all be back to see you next October xxx

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are lovely I think there number 119-142
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay and already can't wait to go back again next year! Apartments are clean and we could always get a sun lounger by the pool! Perfect location for beach, bars, restaurants and shops. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just back from La Penita left on Sunday 7th October. Had read a lot of reviews before going to La Penita most were good reports which I have to agree with. The 'Good' points about these apartments is the location, brilliant part of Puerto del Carmen, flat for walking, near beach, bars, shops and supermarkets. The apartment we had was 205 on third floor, ideal, nice and quiet, not overlooking pool or pool bar, nice and quiet in the afternoons and evenings. On arrival at 11.30 pm initial reaction to apartment was brilliant, better than we expected (this was our first self catering for over 15 years), but as the days went on found fault with dust on main door and in toilet window (well not window as such, opaque glass overlooking next apartment). Can't fault maid as she did her best and she probably has a time scale to work to, she was very pleasant.
Also no air con, very warm at night. Bad points about these apartments, entertainment in evenings was very poor, in fact on two occasions we went nothing on even though it was stated on 'board'. Also down side if you are elderly or infirm stairs can be a problem, would recommend if this is the case ask for ground floor at pool this would lead you on to main gate entrance and lead onto street, some ground floor apartments still require you to use stairs if you want to go to pool, pool bar or reception.
Staff were pleasant, reception staff helpful.
Plenty of places to eat out reasonable or otherwise. We enjoyed Chinese Oriental World at other end of Puerto del Carmen, also Indian American restaurant, but favourite was La Brasa across road from the Casino and sits on corner. Also found in square on leaving apartments turn left The New Londoner, small restaurant run by very nice English family, food great.
Saw good reviews about the Mucky Duck near apartments, but would give this a miss, my meal was overrun with gravy dripping onto table. Also in a square further up on left had side next the The Sports Bar had meal in the Codfather worst meal ever.
On the whole we had a great holiday and would certainly recommend La Pentia, but if you want 4 or 5 star think again.

Room Tip: Rooms at Pool near main gate entrance have no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

went for 1 week in june and returned 6th sept for 2 weeks apts clean and good maid service only downside is lack of air con just a fan ,apts were spacious and pool good size ,just walk down a flight of stairs and your on main street and beach ,in a quiet area so not much noise as centre is about a 10 min stroll plenty of good places to eat tex mex yum and great bars would defo return and stay again jin long chineses great value and sue ping lovely only 6.99 euro for buffet only 15mins from airport taxi recommended only approx 15 euros each way as bus takes up to a hour to arrive at apts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

These apartments are very old and in need of a good refurbishment, the rooms are of a reasonable size and the kitchen area not so bad, but the bathroom was awful. As there is no window in the bathroom there is a glass vent leading onto an airshaft that is shared between the neighbouring apartments and through this you can hear everything, including your neighbour using the toilet (and I don't mean just flushing it). You get dark blue towels which are only changed twice a week so you can't see if they are dirty. Behind the bathroom door we found long dark hairs on the floor (we have blond hair) which remained there for 10 days.
The bedroom has a window that opens onto the open-air corridor that is used by others to gain entry to all the apartments on that floor, so unless you want other people looking in, the curtains had to remain closed all the time and the window shut for security. As there is no air-con you get a fan which we had to keep on all night as it was so hot - the noise from the fan doesn't help when trying to sleep. The bed sheets are changed once a week.
Cleaning is not done on Wednesdays or Sundays and if the rooms were circular it might be okay but they most definately don't clean as far as the corners (see picture)
The pool is a good size but it's painted, not tiled, and the paint is peeling off round the sides and on the floor
(see picture) also it's very heavily chlorinated. Despite the notices not to reserve sun loungers, people were putting their towels on them as early as 7:30am when it was only just getting light and the staff just ignored them.
The staff seemed very pleasant, probably doing the best they could, but we shall not be going there again.

If you go to the small beach across the road, be aware that at high tide the sea comes right in and the sand is wet for a good while after. The main beach is about 20mins walk away, 2 sunbeds and a parasol was 8 Euros

At Arrecife airport if your luggage weighs even 1 kilo over your allowance you will be charged, I think the people in front of us paid about 17 euros per kilo.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Address: C/ Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Penita Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.