We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Olivina Lanzarote

Save Saved
You added Ole Olivina Lanzarote to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Olivina Lanzarote
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Riu Olivina Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 84 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 2-9th June. This is our third stay in a Riu hotel so were getting used to the concept, which seems to be pretty much the same wherever you go with this chain of hotels.

The hotel has a strange layout. 1The main hotel with the pool, restaurant and bar. 2 Other rooms over a bridge with a pool and snack bar and thirdly over the road were apartment's with just a pool. We were in the main hotel so can only comment on that area.

We arrived after a lovely flight and easy transfer of about 20 minutes. Check in was nice easy and efficient. The room was comfortable and we had a pool view. The restaurant was nice and clean and the food was of good quality and for a week we had plenty of selection and plenty of it. if you wanted you could eat from early morning to late evening. The staff in the bar were very friendly but don't expect waiter service as you have to either go to the bar or the self service area.

Two things which were wrong with the hotel was the pool temperature, felt like you were getting into an ice bath as its not heated in the summer. Also the sunbeds are starting to show their age and need replacing.

All in all a lovely week and thanks to Vicki the Thomson rep and all the staff for their hard work.

Room Tip: room 1228 has a pool view and is on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    281
    123
    30
    17
See reviews for
133
344
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay in Riu Olivina. Puerto Del Carmen. We were presently surprised at how good this Hotel was. The rooms were spotless and was cleaned everyday. Towels were changed daily and the sheets every 3rd day. The staff are the best asset this hotel has as they make you feel very welcome and can't do enough for you. Any requests are dealt with promptly. This hotel is all-inclusive and we found the food was usually very good. after 2weeks you are bound to feel it is a bit repetitive. The drinks were fine as in most al-inclusive hotels they serve local alcoholic drinks but the red wine was very good. The pool was cold for this time of year and very little people were using it. The pool area is lovely and has sun all day. Overall we had a great holiday and would definately return to this hotel again. On the negative side the one thing that we were disappointed in was there were no British channels on the T.V. Not even BBC as there were a lot of British people staying in this hotel. Most hotels in the Lanzorate area now have a few British channels and it is nice to catch up with programs when you go away. We read tripadvisor reviews on this hotel before we booked and found this very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple the hotel is much better than the apartments?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel with my mum and 2young daughters and we have had a fantastic time.
We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which was great very spacious and comfortable, lovely powerful shower which was always warm, fridge was handy there was also a hob with a few pans which we never used. Tv with a few English channels, sky news and some kids channels to keep them occupied whilst getting ready. Room had 2 singles pushed together and a cot and the other bed was made up on the sofa which was comfy.
The food was all great one of the best all inclusives I have been to, everything was fresh and hot, a couple of nights they had themes on, you could help yourself to drinks whenever, juices, fizzy, beer or wine. We never went to any entertainment in the evenings.
All the grounds were very clean and well kept, the pool areas were good, there are a few Pools dotted around the complex and pool bars which you can help yourself to drinks and hot drinks also nice cocktails are made for you.
The hotel is in a great location just a short walk from the beach and into puerto del Carmen for shops bars and restaurants.
We have been to LANZAROTE many times and it wont be our last, just hope the weather is better next time! This is our first visit to this hotel and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Warm welcome from very happy, hard working,staff throughout hotel. Gorgeous well kept (volcanic)gardens and very clean rooms. But I do feel the rooms are dated now, still the old Riu style, apart from TV which was flat screen with a couple of channels with English films. We struggled to find electric sockets to charge phones, hairdryer etc. Finally found double one behind the dresser. TV was plugged into one so we had to unplug the standing lamp to use the other, only option. I can't fault the food as there was enough selection to suit everyone, anyone who thinks otherwise must just be far too picky. Yes it's a bit free for all but AI sometimes is. Entertainment was limited and we had fun watching the peoples frolicks on the dance floor
after their few AI drinks had hit the spot. Nothing going on during the day, so pool area was a bit boring. A little background music would have given some atmosphere.We went along to sister hotel Riu Paraiso 5 minute walk away and it seemed much happier place to be, as the reps were organising daytime activities and quizes . Hotel is in a nice area,near to beach and local
buses, which are cheap. Also Taxis along to the Port are only 3/4 euros. Its well worth a trip there as the port is lovely. you can walk along to the Port, past the usual shops,restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We were in room 1141 & 1142 on bottom floor. it had a long corridor into room which made it seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

For a week's break we chose this hotel and it was a good choice. I don't really think that I can add to anything anyone else has said except to reiterate that the gardens are pretty, the food is excellent and the whole hotel is kept very clean. This hotel has some wonderful positives - free safe, availability of a free room for half an hour on our last day as we had a late departure (if we had been longer than half an hour I don't think anyone would have been hammering on the door!) and the friendliest of staff.

The negatives were the hardest bed I have ever slept on (yikes it was so uncomfortable), no mattresses on the sunbeds at the smaller pools (perhaps I just haven't got enough padding on me!!!) and no notification about the building work being done in the room next to us one day.

Unfortunately we had the week with bad weather (April), so a bit disappointing, but we had a great break all the same, hired a car and had a good tour round.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel and cant really find too much fault.
Went here a few years ago and this was a return to see what things are now like, and must say its still fine. Now all inclusive and found the food and all that goes with it was good, the food is not top class but is of a good quality and plenty of it, well cooked and well presented. The resturant staff excellent and the cooks on show are really good. Food 7 out of 10.
We stayed in the apartments and these could do with a bit of an upgrade, no A/C only a fan in the bedroom, but the cleaning staff do a good job and a credit to the hotel. The apartments still set up for self catering, though not a full range of pots and pans.Safe is FREE which was a nice surprise, Fridge in room and tv but poor range of channels. We were over the road from the main hotel around the smaller of the three pools, very quiet and always plenty of room around pool which was very clean but VERY cold !!!
The very small pool which used to be in a court yard with apartments around it has been filled in, which is a bit dissapionting if you are in that accomadation. Apartments 6.5 out of 10. pool area 8 out of 10.
The resort its self is good, plenty going on and the usual range of shops and resturants.8 out of 10.
Hired a car for 5 days from Payless Car Hire which is on the main street down from hotel, great value at 80 Euro !
This was a £1350 two week holiday all inclusive, which i think is great value.
To recap the hotel and all that goes with it is fine, and i couldnt really find any fault with anything at that price,im sure most people would find no fault with this hotel, some always will but you cant please everyone !

.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently spent a week at the riu olivina, set just off the main promenade in a quiet location but near enough to walk to nearby resorts. The staff and cleanliness in the hotel was first class. No fights for sunbeds, plenty for everyone.
The food in the restaurant was delicious with plenty of variety, adding to an increasing waistline. The jugs ofcoffee in the morning were a great idea and it was lovely to be at an all inclusive that did not feel like a canteen
Rooms were always spotless with flower decorations and the maids were always cheerful and helpful
Sunshine and relaxation
Will definitely return
Will definitely return

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in hotel, easy access to pool and restaurant and overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole Olivina Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Olivina Lanzarote

Address: C/ Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Riu Olivina Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ole Olivina Lanzarote 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach. 2-storey building. 2 km from Puerto del Carmen. 500 m from various shops. 8 km from the airport. 300 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ole Olivina Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Ole Olivina Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole Olivina Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.