We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Las Gaviotas

Save Saved
You added Bungalows Las Gaviotas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalows Las Gaviotas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mato, 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 84 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at Las Gaviotas Bungalows with my partner in May 2013, and had a lovely lovely holiday. We were in Block 8 and even though a little walk from the beach front, all in all it was ideal. Plenty of room around the pool and no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed! The pool itself was absolutely freezing though and could do with warming up out of high season. The bungalow was clean and ideal for us, well equiped kitchen, nice shower (always hot). Nice to have your own patio area with sunbeds too - and excellent area for breakfast as well. Plenty of choice of bars and restaurants in Matagorda, or a pleasant walk along the seafront and there are plenty more bars and restaurants. My favourite was Jungla
:-)) The wifi is very hit and miss at Las Gaviotas but most bars have free wifi so wasn't really a problem. We will definitely be going back next year - can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    141
    82
    54
    31
See reviews for
130
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent a week here on 16th December for 1 week and loved it! facing shopping centre and could see the sea view to left of our bungalow, payed for upgrade before going and had no complaints, we went for a relaxing holiday, rooms was lovely, and cleaning staff were constantly coming to clean and provide towels so much that we asked her not to clean our bungalow on some days and to come back the following days, which she did, nice friendly cleaning staff, a lot of the residents were quite old but this did not bother us because this made it peaceful and quiet, we are family with one teenage daughter of 15, who had pool to herself a lot of the time! 10 mins by taxi to bars and clubs on main strip,and nice to come back to quiet bungalows! I look forward to coming back again and would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: book superior rooms, they are nearer to shops and beach! and are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay @ Las Gaviotas, we had initially booked the standard accommodation, but on arrival decided to pay extra and upgrade to their "Superior" apartment..After checking over our accommodation we found there were some problems with fixtures and fittings and i was not happy with the standard of cleanliness in the bathroom, i did complain to reception and to their credit the issues i had were dealt with quickly and effectively, end of story!...Our stay at this Apartment complex was a happy one, i loved the lay out of the place, the pool area's and the friendly atmosphere..
This was our second trip to Lanzarote and we have fallen in love with the Island and have made some very special friends on both occasions..
Most Holidaymakers have little teething problems with there hotels/apartments and on a budget this is to be expected, overall we had a fantastic Holiday, and we are already planning our next trip to Las Graviotas

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last year my boyfriend and i stayed here, at it was SO nice we decided to go back again this year.
As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to a superior bungalow, which was perfect location, right next to restaurant and swimming pool, perfection!
The food was well mixed, Breakfast had amazing fresh bread and sugar/doughnut sticks which were out of this world. Lunch time was fresh mxed salads and hot meals, and dinner was fab!!! Beer and wine were just what we needed, especially as we were All Inclusive!
Staff were extremly helpfull and bungalows cleaned 5 days a week. We think the main worker was Anya, she was outstanding!
I would recommend these bungalows to anybody. We plan to go back next year!

Room Tip: Block 3 bungalow 6. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Returned last week from a 2 week stay at Las Gaviotas which I booked through Sunshine Holidays. Familiar with Matagorda, I have often walked past and liked the look of the bungalows so decided to book as a birthday treat. Blocks 1 - 4 are by far the best location nearest the beach and promenade so I paid the extra supplement for a superior bungalow which are only located in blocks 2, 3 and 8 and requested to be allocated block 1 - 4.

On arrival (approx 1 pm) we were greeted by a very abrasive woman (Ms Velasco) who told us to come back in two hours because morning arrivals had not been checked in yet. We went for a walk and upon returning were told we had been allocated block 8. I explained this was not what I had requested as it was much further back in the resort, she knew this as she had a copy of the booking in her hand. With a shrug of the shoulders she said "f you want blocks 1 - 4 you will have to pay an extra 280 euros. I had ALREADY paid extra for a superior bungalow and there is no mention anywhere that blocks 2 and 3 cost more than block 8. I protested and refused to pay this amount and was then offered a 'cut price' deal of 140 euros!! This was totally unacceptable so there was no option but to go to block 8. What I gathered from the conversation was that unless a booking is made directly via Gaviotas, then the chances of being allocated 1 - 4 are minimal, and even then cannot be guaranteed. Why, when there are availabe bungalows?

The bungalow in block 8 was tired and quite isolated from where we wanted to be - after 3 days we decided to go back to Reception and pursue the matter as there were many empty bungalows in blocks 1 - 4.

As luck would have it, a charming Norwegian lady was working on Reception and after consultation with Asst. Manager Gilberto we were offered a bungalow in block 2. This we accepted and it made a total change to our holiday. It was fresh, cosy and in a good situation - in fact just what had been requested, what a shame it took three days to get there.

This situation has clouded my opinion of Las Gaviotas as I feel we unneccessarily lost three days of our holiday and would urge caution if you have a special request, particularly if booking via one of the many internet booking sites.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 - 4 if you can get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent a good week at the bungelows which were tired and dated but very well cleaned. It was what we wanted and will definately consider returning! Excellent facilities and near everything you need for a self catering week. Shops, Pool, and bars etc very close by. We upgraded to s superior room but were not sure what we upgraded to? We paid an extra 20 euro's per night upgrade for a nice bungelow next to the pool. We upgraded but the TV had no remote (no english channels either), no remote for the air conditioning and there were no key for the safe box. Excellent reception staff and cleaners

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed at the Bungalows Las Gaviotas from 25april 2013-06 may 2013.
check in was quick and simple,nice girl on reception,,first thing we did was upgrade to a superior apartment and nearer to the complex centre....assome of the bungalows are a good walk away,and no where near the complex centre,we were originally going to be put in to gaviotas 8,which is a ggod walk away,but ok for the bus stop,ended up getting on area 3,,,
we ended up paying for a superior bungalow(hate to the what the normal ones were like,,unless just paying for the proximity to the beach,,2 mins walk and commercial centre 2mins walk away.
we got a room next door to the restauarant,bungalow 8,which was ok,but there was quite a bit of noise from the restaurant(slamming of cupboards and doors,in the morning and late at night,which either kept us up or woke us up...that was the only thing that spoilt our stay really.
the apartment was clean and tidy,basic cooking utensils,microwave ,fridge,small freezer box in fridge,two hobs,pots and pans.
we stayed for 11 nights/10 days and out of them the cleaner came in everyday bar one.
cannot fault on the cleanliness of the place although the wardrobes did leave a bit of a musty smell on our clothes.
cannot really comment on the food in restaurant ,but we did see it everyday and it did not look like there was much choice at main meals and didnt look very appetising either,glad we didnt go half board.
there are plenty of restaurants 2 mins away at cc matagorda or further down the coastal path to the pubs ect which always had specials on.
the place we found the best was a pub/restaurant called JUNGLAS 3 course for €12..did a great steak,,ate there on a couple of occasions..
there are some nice walks along the beach to either puerto del carmen or player honda by the side of the airport...
matagorda really is a nice quiet area and i would recommend it to anyone.
buses to the other towns are cheap---€1.30 to carmen and puerto calero and playa hondo,,€2.70 to costa teguise..taxi to airport €10

Room Tip: superior bungalows are nearer the beach and sea,,,look for booking in areas 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bungalows Las Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Las Gaviotas

Address: Calle Mato, 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows Las Gaviotas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Las Gaviotas is located in Matagorda, Lanzarote. It has a unique situation on the seafront, actually perfectly connected. Just a few minutes away is found Arrecife (the main city of the island), as well as the international airport, an incredible golf course and also Puerto del Carmen is near (the most important touristic city on the island). In front of the apartments you will find a wonderful avenue, which connects Matagorda with Puerto del Carmen. This is ideal for walking, running and practising other sports. THe Las Gaviotas will surprise you due to the huge amount of open spaces it has and its horizontal architecture, typical of the island. It has 155 completely independent apartments divided in seven sectors. Each sector has its own swimming pool and all of them are perfectly interconnected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Bungalows Las Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Las Gaviotas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bungalows Las Gaviotas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Las Gaviotas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.