We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Luz Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Costa Luz Apartments to your Saves list
Costa Luz Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Inglaterra, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Before our holiday I had read some of the reviews here and was concerned that the fittings and apartments would be dated and poorly equipped. Luckily my concerns were put to rest when we arrive.

We stayed in the first block by the roadside and our 2 bed 2 bath apartment was clean, spacious and very generously kitted for self catering (adequate pots, pans, utensils, cups, iron/board etc). We had lots of rom to ourselves and whilst some of the fittings such as curtains were a little dated in design it was cozy and more than suitable.

The beds are not the most comfortable i will add, at least not for those who like their memory foams like myself but that is one of my very few criticisms.

The pool area is very nice and always very clean. Sadly there is no dedicated small pool/paddling section so you may want to make a note of that if you have very young kids otherwise you'll constantly be in the pool with them like we were. If that is not an issue then the pool is lovely.

Good access to the beach and to the town centre and a stones throw from the bus stops that take you all over the island, nobody could fault the location of these apartments.

The staff are very friendly, especially the lady on reception who was incredibly helpful (when she warns you of mossy bites take her word on it).

My only bother during my stay was that as we were in the block by the road the bars close by are really loud (not the fault of the apartments i know) and the rooms sadly do not have air con. If you are like me keeping the windows open means the noise from the bars will bother you whereas closing windows may leave you too hot. Room fans would have perhaps helped with this. Those in blocks closer to the sea would likely have less to worry about.

Lastly we signed up to the wi-fi there but it was not the fastest in the world, but it did its job. It is annoying having to re-sign in every time you return to the apartment but it could be worse. Don't expect to be running iplayer or netflix as we stupidly did as they are region locked, doh.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay, I cant comment on all of the apartments but ours was lovely - block A apartment 2. when booking perhaps ask to compare with that one and you'll be on the right track

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely self catering apartment on the beach. 2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms, Sea view, spotlessly clean, helpful staff. Free entertainment in the San Antonia Hotel almost next door.next door. Had a great holiday and will be returning next year. Weather perfect too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Cavan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in this accommodation on three occasions and unfortunately this time their description of apartments from standard to superior seem to have all the same furnishings. This time we booked a deluxe apartment with sea view and was very disappointed as we only had a side sea view and the apartment didn't differ from the standard apartments I have satyed in previously. On arrival we were told we should have booked a beach front apartment which was news to us, considering it cost a fortune for thiirteen days. We also had to put up with four sleepless nights due to noise from another apartment, no fault to Pammy but any complaint we made, no one seemed to deal with it. The night we arrived we had to clean the shower as it was blocked with hair! We noticed the sheets were not fully clean either. We will certainly not be staying there in the future and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Book else where!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I just thought I'd write a review regarding our holiday at The Costa Luz Apartments. We visited as a family group taking two apartments, one by the pool/ reception and the second just set back from the sea front block. Prior to arrival the communication with the operators was excellent with all our questions, requests answered quickly and efficiently.

On arrival the checking in procedure was simple and quick, from memory from the plane touching down to getting into the rooms to being on the beach was all achieved within an hour, the staff on arrival were extremely helpful and first impressions of the resort were very good with well maintained gardens and pool area, the beach as described could not have been any closer, nor could the array of small bars, restaurants and shops which were quite literally over the road.

The apartments were very good, clean, well maintained with everything that you could need, the satellite tv was limited but who goes on holiday to sit in their room watching the box all night ?. This was excellent value for money and we could find no fault whatsoever with the apartments, location, local bars, restaurants etc, all this capped off with a beautiful beach.

We will be booking again for next year and thank Pam and all the team for their hospitality and advice. In summary an excellent little resort, relaxing, quiet, safe, very family orientated with fabulous weather.

See you next year.

Paul H

Manchester

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location, no fighting for sun beds as there were plenty of them by the pool. Very close to beach and a short walk to the bars and entertainment. Excellent base for families, perhaps may be quiet for teenagers but ideal for relaxing holiday. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Rooms were cleaned every other day. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uttoxeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked on the internet and there was a nagging doubt about this place because it looked too good to be true. My doubts were totally unfounded as this was a brilliant little complex. The actual apartments are very clean and spacious and had more than enough room for the 4 of us. One bedroom has en suite whilst the other has the shower room/toilet next to it. There is a full kitchen with a surprising array of working equipment including a more than adequate fridge/freezer. There is a lounge/diner with a full wooden table and chairs, settee and armchairs, coffee table and TV. The TV has about 5 English channels BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, etc. If you want more channels - stay at home or go to any bar within 2 to 10 minutes walk away. There's a balcony and another set of plastic table and chairs and the all important clothes dryer attached to the wall.
The whole complex is literally on the beach or by the pool or by a bar or by a restaurant etc.. If you fancy a trip to the harbour area for a different outlook there's a taxi rank 50 meters away (4euro)or it's 30 minutes walk, but there's that much to choose from on the way with sea views the harbour is unnecessary.
The complex is about 10 minutes in a taxi from the airport - 14 euros. We walked out of the terminal and straight into a taxi with no messing about with transfers etc - so easy. Pammie, at the complex, booked a taxi for our return a couple of days before hand.
Cleaners were around every 2 or 3 days to change the bedding, change the towels and clean the apartment throughout.
The pool area was surrounded by good sun loungers with nice big brollies. No need to get up at 5 o'clock to beat the usual idiots that put their towels on them. I think it helps that there's no bar by the pool in truth.
We've had luxury villas, packaged apartments, all inclusive, etc., and in truth we've had more amenities on site, air con, a thousand channels on the TV, all we can eat and drink and funny blokes that ruffle the kids hair at the right time. But if you want a place that you can turn up to, easily, that's clean and does the job, that gives you the freedom to make up your own mind what you do from day to day, that gives you 5 neighbours per block not 500, this is it.
In a way I hope you're not impressed which will leave more chance of us getting the weeks we want next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I just wanted to follow up on the review I made on this hotel from earlier this year. I wrote a letter to the management. This is the 'potted' reply (not the full reply) I received from the hotel's management:

Re the Sea view

Your apartment did have a sea view, you admit this yourself and the photo you posted on Trip advisor even shows this. If you had taken another photo towards the left instead of the right it would have shown even more of a sea view. You booked and paid for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom standard apartment and our website quite clearly explains exactly where these are located within the complex. We have 24 apartments on the Costa Luz complex and the sea view is not the same from all the apartments, but we do explain this on our website and the price also reflects this.

Satelite TV

The only way to get these English channels in Lanzarote is via a satelite dish. We also have German channels for our German guests. Maybe you were assuming satelite TV means Sky TV.

Two Bed two bathrooms

You did get this. Our website states – “The bathrooms have a bath with in-bath shower, bidet, sink and W.C. The second bathroom has a shower, sink and WC.” I don’t think that just because one bathroom is en-suite and smaller means it doesn’t count.

Power Cut

Power cuts are rare in Lanzarote but they can happen just as they do in the UK. The power cut affected a large section of the whole island and unfortunately we have no control over this.

Bedroom

You were there for 10 days and your bedclothes were changed once during that time (on the 22nd of March), which is standard practice.

Last Paragraph

I don’t believe we have made any false advertising. We have gone to great lengths to explain every aspect of our apartments very carefully on our website. All our members of staff have visited all our accommodation in Lanzarote and have received comprehensive training. They always give very good information when asked about any aspect of our accommodation and the holidays we sell.

My Final Comment

..... So there you have it. I leave it up to you to decide whether you stay in these apartments.

Room Tip: Choose each front rooms only - ignore the photos from management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Luz Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Luz Apartments

Address: Calle Inglaterra, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Luz Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Costa Luz complex is situated in the main part of Puerto del Carmen next to the San Antonio Hotel. Costa Luz has direct access to the Los Pocillos beach (you don't even have to cross the road). Many apartments have unparalleled seaviews and all enjoy a very pleasant setting amongst the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa Luz Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Luz Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Luz Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Luz Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.