We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Valena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Valena to your Saves list
Club Valena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Malva 25 | Puerto del Carmen, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have just returned from a week staying in apartment casa cunniffe club valena, November 2013

The two bedroom apartment is spacious and clean with a lovely terrace on the ground floor so an added bonus for any worn out hip/ knee joints.

The apartment is great for self catering with all the comforts of home like TV a fridge, cooker, microwave and all in excellent working condition. Comfy furniture and the celling bedroom fans were great to cool the air.

The apartment is in a good location as its within walking distance to the beach and local restaurants' and bars.

The complex also has a well maintained pool area with available WIFI, although the bar area wasn't open during our stay due to the time of year we visited there are lots of local shops nearby for snacks and bevarages.

I don't usually self cater on holidays however, it was a pleasure to experience this in the apartment Cassa Cunniffe number 26.

Would love to return at this time of year again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in number 13 Club Valena . Great accommodation , complex , location and very friendly neighbours . The apartment was on the ground floor , full kitchen , 2 bedrooms and TV , everything you need , well kept and very clean . We had 2 problems which were fixed very quickly by Oscar , the caretaker of the complex who lives on site , a great asset to the complex . Most of the apartments are owned by Irish families and they are well kept and the owners very friendly. We will definitely return in the future and we would recommend this complex to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for an upper apartment if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed for a week in June with my son, I rented a 1 bedroom apartment which is privately owned (no 20) this was fantastic I can say in all my years of travelling and staying in any self catering place this apartment was the best ever. It was so well equiped with such lovely furnishing. The complex was lovely, plenty of sun beds my only complaint would be the pool it was freezing.
The complex is in easy walking distance to the beach, we hired bikes and went miles along the sea front which is a lovely paved area.
We are returning to Club Valena in September but to a different apartment due to number 20 being booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Have just returned from Club Valena, 2 bed apartment, with my family after 2 glorious weeks. The weather was amazing, obviously.... but this is a quiet complex, close to the sea and very well kept. There were plenty of loungers and the people were very friendly around the pool. The apartment we stayed in, was very spacious and very modern. Everything was to a very high standard, clean & fully equipped. Will definitely be booking next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are just back from a great 3 weeks in club valena the apartment we stayed in was very clean and homely .We can not understand the last review we think all the owers are doing a great job .In all my time in club valena i did not see 1 cookroache maybe i was just lucky the food at the bar is great witch is great to have the staff are nice the new sun beds are very welcome we will be back in june for another 3 weeks and be no means is club valena on a slippery slop . we allways feel wellcome and safe there and have a very chilled out time keep up the good work Ned Roch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from our second time in a Club Valena apartment. Bottom line is the place needs some attention. There is no real "service" in these apartments, they are individually run so we had no cleaning for 10 days. When we arrived the main bedroom in the 2 bed apartment had clearly been slept in and the sheets had not been changed. We scrabbled around and found clean sheets in the wardrobe but first impressions - not good.

The pool area is not busy but the pool is looking tired with many tiles missing. Its clean enough but just looks shabby. There is wireless but only in reception, which is locked until around 10:30 each morning.

Cockroaches are a problem. Now this is an interesting topic. I understand, its Lanzarote and cockroaches are a way of life. However, well serviced apartments with a regular regime of pest control do not suffer. I have stayed in many places over the years in Lanzarote and never had to deal with cockroaches running around the room. It doesn't make for a relaxing stay when at night you are chasing them around with a can of raid and in the morning you find more (half dead ones) that you have to brush out..

Location - Brilliant. Matagorda is a lovely quiet side of the main Puerto Del Carmen resort and for couples who want to chill out it is perfect. Taxi's are only a few minutes walk away as is the loacl commercial centre with a Spar and many pubs and restaurants.

So - there are ups and downs, problem is the competition for apartments is fierce and I'm afraid that Club Valena is on the slippery slope.

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask about the service included in the room. All apartments are owned individually a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from club valena, we had a lovely chilled out week, the apartment we stayed in was casa cunnife on the ground floor, lovely spacious 2 bedroomed modern bathroom and kitchen. And lovely terrace which is not overlooked so ideal if you want to sunbathe in peace. Plenty of storage space , lots of plug sockets And the bonus of having sky so was able to keep up with my Strictly dancing and X factor ( sad I know) . A few cheeky cockroaches came in the first few nights but after being squashed and putting the plugs in the bathroom they got the message and no more dared to show themselves. We ate out ever night there is a good selection of restaurants to chose from in the main square and on the beach front would recommend Sam Maguires on the front food was fab. Weather was great this was the first time going in October and the first time to Lanzorote , a 5 min taxi journey from the airport, even though the resort is by the airport we never really noticed the air traffic , would recommend it and will defo go again thanks Anna for letting us stay in your home from home .

Room Tip: The apartments are all privately owned book through the owners from the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Valena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Valena

Address: C/ Malva 25 | Puerto del Carmen, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Valena 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Valena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Valena Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Valena Hotel Matagorda
Club Valena Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Valena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.