We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valaina” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Valena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Valena to your Saves list
Club Valena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Malva 25 | Puerto del Carmen, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
killaloe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“valaina”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

have stayed there 4 times.was greatat first.but now its been let go.apt have cockroaches.all around out side.very untidy .pool was dirty sun bed area only got cleaned once a week.if u conplained they dident want to know.i got told not to come back which we wouldent.we have have found a better one .no cockroaches.its called azzuro bungalows matagorda.

Room Tip: if u do go have a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langho, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

just returned from 10 nights, at club valena, we could not fault it, some of the reviews nearly put us of going, im glad we went, nice and quiet and very friendley,hoesay and veronica, who run the bar, were great. we will definetly be going back, and as for cockroaches, etc, we never saw any anywhere, very clean. the area of matagorda, is an area with loads of villa,s and apartments. with a commercial centre near the beach, which has restuarant,s shops, and bars.a full english breakfast, was 2.90 euros, how bads that, cheaper than back home,????. out of all the canary islands, we think lanzarote is our favourite, very clean. we were in apartment 42, at club valena, privatley owned by fred and margaret. on the 1 st floor overlooking the pool. superb, thanks for a lovely holiday. rita & tony

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

I am amazed at the bad reviews!! We have been here 5-6 times over the past few years, the 1st trip was a bit hit and miss as the apartments where been refurbished at the time but as we returned each time after it got better & better, would recommend renting direct from owner as the 1st copule of times we rented through the company and got quoted three prices and all where more than advertised, we felt the lady we where dealing with was chancing her arm!! We got my sister to call and get a price she was quoted €250 for one week in a one bed & we where quoted €350 for the same & same week, I questioned the lady we where booking with and she came up with the excuse "its down to the owner of the apartment & whats available" bull, While we where there one year we meet a few owners i asked about this & they where shocked as all appartments are the same price so we got their details & now we book direct, no mix ups on cost now!! we have noticed a changed in staff over the past three years, all where very nice but seamed to drink a lot and got very messy late at night, this was the only turn off!! Thankfully in 2011 the same lady was behind the bar that had been there the previous year, beautful food, nothing was any trouble and no messy drunk staff!!! We have heard a few wedding parties have been there over the past couple of years so we are considering this as we hope to marry in lanzarote in 2013, I've spoken to the wedding planner & she has recommend this as a great venue for groups with families for our wedding & has promised to get one couple to contact us to give there view, well wait & see is this happens!!
Heading back in Sept 2012 to book everything.
So I'm very confused with the bad reviews, this complex is clean, staff couldn't do enough for you, appartments are all refurbished some differ in decor but that's the owners personal choice but all beautful & comfi, never seen a cockroach, taxi fare to the airport €8-€10, food better than some restaurants, near all aminites & a lovely walk to the beech. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Just returned from Club Valena in Matagorda after my first visit to the area. We enjoyed a wonderful stay in a peaceful resort and complex. The apartment was clean and modern, with plenty of room, the staff were more than helpful. Was a little confused on reading previous reviews ( some good, some bad), I think it depends on which owner you rent the apartment from and how they upkeep their apartment. Fortunately for us, the apartment we stayed in was beautifully kept. We had fresh towels and sheets, whenever we wanted them! The area of Matagorda is ideal for couples and families, very clean and safe, with some wonderful restaurants and entertainment for all. We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: Ask for photos of apartment and area before travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

we travelled with young children and had stayed in club valena twice before and thought that it would be a good choice again for our family... how wrong were we.. cockroaches everywhere even under the beds in both bedrooms, no cleaning provided, we were expected to sleep on the same sheets for two weeks, thank god for the washing machine!... no kiddies pool and the water that was in it was filthy the pool area was so so dirty.. barman smoked and clipped his nails at the bar.. will never be back..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Myself and my wife spent two weeks at Club Valena and thought it was the best holiday we had for a long, long time. From the location to the club bar, restaurant, pool and accommodation all was perfect. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough. Will definitely be returning as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were very dissappointed with the accomodation as it was much more run down than the photos online I'm afraid . We had cockroaches every day in 1 bedroom and there was no storage space in the kitchen . The place really needs a makeover . The curtains in 1 bedroom were even torn in shreds......not good enough

Room Tip: staff lovely but very poor apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Valena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Valena

Address: C/ Malva 25 | Puerto del Carmen, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Valena 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Club Valena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Valena Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Valena Hotel Matagorda
Club Valena Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Valena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.