We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible attitude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Los Tulipanes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Los Tulipanes to your Saves list
Apartamentos Los Tulipanes
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Finlandia 18, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Arrived back from here today after being the victim of an attempted robbery. My girlfriend was woken by the sound of someone attempting to get in the balcony which I went to investigate and when doing so found an arm coming from behind the curtains! I started shouting and went to the balcony by which time they had got away. Luckily we woke when we did as they had managed to open two of the three locks we had on. Phoned the police who wouldn't come as they hadn't got in, then just before leaving seen the police in the complex as a Spanish family had been broken in to. Whilst we were there 2 other couples were broken in to the Thursday previous so this place is riddled with break ins yet when I reported it to the receptionist she never asked if we were ok, whether any damage had been done nor offered an apology. There attitude towards the break in makes me strongly suspect that they may know who is committing these crimes The pool was
freezing everyday. The room had many cracked tiles and a cracked plug in the bathroom which was also home to more than a few ants.
I have never completed one of these before but need to warn people away from this place. Don't make the mistake we did. If you have already booked try to change your booking as you will not feel safe in this place at all

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    64
    55
    25
    20
See reviews for
33
93
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Was worried before about location from the main strip but its only 10 mins walk and easy to find. pool area was fine nice to cool down. Friendly staff if some what quiet. Only downside was no air con in the apartment. Was hard to sleep some nights as the heat was to much. simply adding air con wuld fix this problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here. Apartment was roomy and had all the essentials for catering, Pool area was a good design, Very nice bar that opened till late, Quiet location but close enough to beach and all attractions, Most guests were very friendly and majority were repeat customers, No problems that we were aware of regarding security. On the whole I would put this apartment on my short list when travelling to Lanzarote again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdhopkins
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Los Tulipanes in July 2012. We couldn't have enjoyed it more. Apartments are clean, bright and have lovely staff. We stayed Bed and Breakfast and the food was lovely. We occasionally ordered food from there too such as omelettes, chips etc, all very nice. Our rooms were cleaned every day and although we were once woken up by cockcroach, within 5 minutes, it was removed by the staff (even though I was standing on the sofa with a pot for protection haha). It is located about 5-10 minute walk from main strip, and just 5 minutes from Rancho Texas (amazing day out). I really couldn't think of a bad thing about the apartment. The people staying there were lovely, pool area/bar is nice (although I do wish cocktails were available on happy hour). Lanzarote is beautiful too, so much to do. Loads of excursions available at reception however I'd advise going to main strip and booking with Last Minute, amazing deals.

Room Tip: I'd request a pool view, as garden view gives you view of road. Although both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

60 of us stayed here for 4 nights in April and we loved it! All staff were very helpful and friendly, they didnt mind when all of us crawled in at 3 in the morning very drunk! The pools were alright, a bit cold but we didnt mind. The bar staff were very friendly and they loved us, they book you a taxi if you need one. A cleaner came and cleaned our rooms every morning and they put up with all our mess bless them! If anyones going here make sure you go Cafe Del Carmen and Piccadilly and ask for the tequila bar if your getting a taxi. dont listen to the bad reviews its fine! We miss it loads, defo going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on a sunday afternoon to be greated by no-one. The reception was closed which I thought was a bit odd so we collected our keys from the bar- very odd. Our room was right opposite the bar which we thought was good at first but being on the ground floor we had no privacy when chilling on our terrace or even in our room the whole pool area could see in. Every morning we were awoken by a strange noise which turned out to be the maintanence guy who was killing all the cockroaches!!! On our terrace there were some flowers n bushes in front of our patio which we then discovered waswhere the cockroaches lived n they ran into our apartment!!!
The hotel has no blockage for wind and I know lanzarote is windy but it really was here n also blew straight thru the room as there was massive gaps under the doors which made it cold and noisy at night .
There was no hot water at all which we told reception and a guy came to fix it but didnt understand us so we were still no hot water.
The rooms were ok overall for the price but the hotel itself is like stayin in the middle of a deserted island as there never seemed to be anyone around and it was in the middle of no where. We got fed up with the location and wind and no hot water as it was a lot warmer on the beach front so we moved hotels after 3 nights. Its very cheap but you get what you pay for but overall I wouldnt recommend this hotel as there are alot of other hotels for the same price to choose from. We moved to the blue sea kon tiki club which was luxury compared to this !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

On arrival the reception was closed with a sign directing you to the bar, we were greeted by a waitress who didn't explain anything to us and just pointed to our room!

I know that Lanzarote is windy having been there quite a few times before....but the pool area at the Tulipanes was so un-sheltered that it was unbearable to sit around. We thought it was just the weather in general but when we walked out of the hotel complex and found that it was nice and not windy we realised it was the hotel itself.

There were three of us staying in a one bedroom apartment and we could only get enough hot water for 1 shower everyday, so the unlucky two that went second or third had to have a cold shower! We did report this to reception and they sent the maintenance/cockroach killer man around to check.....of course when he ran the water it was warm because we hadn't used it yet and he didn't understand enough english for us to explain that.

We left after 3 days and booked into another hotel...as the cold showers were getting too much!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Los Tulipanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Los Tulipanes

Address: C/ Finlandia 18, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Los Tulipanes 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos Los Tulipanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Los Tulipanes Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Los Tulipanes Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Los Tulipanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.