We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Panic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beatriz Playa & Spa

Save Saved
You added Beatriz Playa & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beatriz Playa & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
torpoint uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dont Panic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Forget what all the moaning minnies are saying and dont panic. I have just returned from a week in the Beatriz Playa and had a fantastic time. Alright the hotel is a little bit dated and in need of a face lift, the painters were in attendance while I was visiting, but this in no way distracts from the overall ambiance of the place. The pools are large and there are loads of sunloungers. Towels are available from poolside. Rooms are large and are cleaned to a high standard every day. The food is cafeteria style and varies. It may not be to everyones taste as it is not traditional British fare. As for the claims that the food is allways cold, how can a steak or chicken breast cooked in front of you be cold? The staff are freindly and efficient and do not as some people claim favour any nationality more that another. Spanish is spoken as a norm but as this is a Spanish island what do expect so if you are prepared to learn a few words of the language you will not go wrong.

Matagorda is a quiet pleasant spot with nearly empty beaches, not much nightlife and a laid back feel. Watch out for cyclists though. A cycle track runs along the promenade but the lycra clad fools tend to cycle at full pace anywhere they want.

The question in not would I go back but when am I going back. The answer is later this year and I am looking forward to it allready.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    452
    291
    151
    97
See reviews for
437
595
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We're just back from Lanzarote and after half an hour in the hotel knew we wanted to be moved to a different hotel. Husband isdiabetic and hotel staff said they would open up the mini bar fridge free of charge for his insulin. It was't until the next day when we got the rep to chase it did anyone turn up to unlock fridge.

Food was really disgusting - stone cold with very little variety. Birds were also pecking at the food. There was a cochroache running under the tables at lunch too.

Too many rules and regulations and certainly not a 4 star hotel - more like bottom of the range 2 star. We paid to be moved to a decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

boo ked to go here as our Egypt holiday cancelled due to volcanic ash.
Rooms OK but that's about it!- all inclusive but spend so much money on eating out!
Resturant more like a cafe-none of the food labelled up and was always cold
Best place to eat was the Italian restuarant which was only open on the weekend
Birds pecking at the bread at breakfast and flies buzzing in the hot food at lunch!!
Noticed that the Spanish were treated to a different choice of food as the British people were encouraged to eat at the first sitting and the Spanish were always served first at the bar.
Cats allowed to sit on the furniture, most of our party were covered in bites, which did not ressemble mosquitoe bites..
Do not exchange money in the hotel- go outside
Would recommend a visit to the Sportsman bar-2 mins from hotel-friendly, welcoming atmosphere unlike the awful entertainment in hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

went for 12 days and had a fab time, no having to get up early to put towels on sunbeds it was just a lovely relaxing hotel food and drink to please all tastes would definately go back. clean towels without fail every morning and beds and rooms cleaned everyday bar staff were particularly funny. great spa we paid 11 euros and it was well spent a must for everyone to try

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this Hotel, we were originally booked to go to Egypt but our flight was cancelled due to the Volcanic Ash scenario and we rebooked to this Hotel which was available and fitted our dates.

After booking our holiday we read the reviews and were a bit concerned as they seemed to vary from good to pretty poor add to this our disappointment at not getting to Egypt, I was quite worried that I would not enjoy the holiday.

The hotel itself is really well laid out and I felt the public areas were always very tidy and very well presented. True some areas of the walls had lost its original plaster and was patched in places but overall the buildings were well laid out and maintained. Our room was also a good size for the two off us but would have been quite tight if we had our two kids as well. I would agree that the room did seem a bit dated but was a typical hotel room and for all the time we spent in it we certainly couldn’t complain.

At the time of our visit (22nd April) the hotel was very quiet so there were no issues with facilities. The pools provide plenty of space and there was more than enough sun beds. (I don’t know how this would compare to the height of summer)

On the down side we felt that the entertainment was limited and pretty poor. There was only the one all inclusive bar open at night so you had to put up with the noise or go out a walk which we opted to do most evenings. I didn’t really notice the staff favouring the Spanish clientele who were there in large numbers (as had been suggested in other reviews) but they were obviously friendly and warmer towards them rather than other residents.

I don’t know how user friendly the hotel would be to wheel chair users, there seems to be a large number of elevators around the hotel but there is also a number of ramps and inclines along many of the corridors.

Overall our holiday was okay, we certainly got plenty of sun and the food wasn’t too bad although we seemed to eat a lot of salads. If anyone else fancies this hotel I would advise trying to get a room on the opposite side from the main bar as the noise seems to be amplified by the structure of the building. Another tip would be to visit the Italian restaurant as many nights as you can. They consistently provided good pizza’s and pastas although the choice of pasta dishes was limited with only four on offer each night, although it was buffet style so you could pick and choose. The food in the main restaurant was usually cool and had limited choice, again thankfully my wife and I enjoyed salads.

We also felt that our kids would have been bored at this time of the year and the entertainment seemed to target younger kids probably up to about 8 years old.

I would certainly recommend this Hotel to older couples who are looking for a cheap week in the sun but I don’t think I would come back with our kids.

Hope this is of some assistance to you in your choice of holiday destination

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teensb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We went the second week of the Easter school break and it was empty. We walked from our room tto the restaurant the first evening and didn't see anyone. The hotel is built on 5 levels with the restaurant below the hotel in indoor gardens. Al ovely hotel, a bit dated but that gave it charm. I was the first on a sunbed at 10am!!! Lovely fresh food, choice of dining rooms at lunchtimes. Very big bedroom/apartment. We went with no expectations of the evening entertainment and it was some of the best we have seen. One evening there was a bird of prey show. Not much fun you'd think but it was amazing. The 2 guys who did an acrobatic type show were mind blowing. The entertainment team were always around but never pushy. Planes could be a problem as the hotel is 10mins from the airport but we just found it fun, there aren't too many for it to bother you. Brilliant promenade which stretches from the marina in Puerta del Carmen right along to the edge of Costa Teguise. Brilliant for cycling and walking, I've never walked so far on a holiday. Bikes a bit pricey at £10 each for the day but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

All i wanted to say is that we have just got back today from a last minute booking and it was fantastic - food was great location was great staff were great rooms were great what else is there to say - yes it is 4 mins away from airport but once you have heard one plane you do not even notice it while you lay in the sun especially if you have an Ipod.

Food was phenominal if you was all inclusive - breakfast, lunch and dinner - more than enough to choose from and catered for literally anyones taste.

Ok... the entertainment was interesting but you kind of expect it - the spanish have funny humour!

Overall - ***** Fantastic definitely would recommend and would go back any day!!!

Thank you Thomas Cook!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beatriz Playa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beatriz Playa & Spa

Address: Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beatriz Playa & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beatriz Playa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatriz Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Beatriz Playa And Spa
Beatriz Playa Lanzarote
Beatriz Playa & Spa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beatriz Playa & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.