We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOLIDAY , NOT FOR HONEYMOON” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beatriz Playa & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beatriz Playa & Spa to your Saves list
Beatriz Playa & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GOOD HOLIDAY , NOT FOR HONEYMOON”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just arrived back from a weeks stay at Beatriz Playa . Family of 4 with 16 year old and 12 year old. Short transfer around 10 mins which was great , on arrival receptionist was very friendly , spoke english and helpful , bought the drinks package which then got us the fridge for the week free , this cost around 15 euros and we got water , coke and fanta. First impressions of hotel were great , very clean and organised.
I emailed the hotel before we arrived asking for a quiet sea view on lower floor as this was our honeymoon , we were in a room on ground floor looking over pool but away from main entertainment ( evening) so i suppose we got 2 out of the 3 we asked for. Our room was large and clean , basic but adequate , and a bottle of cava was delivered to our room within 2 hours of us arriving which was nice.
The lock on the patio door was hanging off and the bathroom door wouldnt shut but reported this to reception and within ten mins this was all sorted.
Food ..... Buffet breakfast was 8 - 10 all self service and sit where you want , drinks served at pool bar all day , lunch restaurant at pool bar and main restaurant 1 - 3.30 and burger bar open 12.30 - 3.30 , ice cream parlour was open from 3 , apart from these opening times no other food available throughout the day which was a little disapointing however the food was plentiful with a variety of dishes and we only saw one bird dive bombing the food not as previous reviews saying this was a massive problem.
Weather was fantastic!!!! Spa was lovely , 12 euros per person .
Night time entertainment was a shocking , but we didnt go for this .
Staff were friendly and didnt favour spanish over english all was in order , Pints served in evening , and you could get bottled water from the bar at night time , which we saved and cooled as the water throughout the day was warm.
Pool area wasnt washed down and was generally sticky , however there was plenty of sunbeds and no need to get up at 6 am to reserve beds which was great !
Water park well worth a visit 3 euros on bus per person there and back.
Alot of spanish (rude) guests , and one bug bear was the children at night time running around the hotel until all hours screaming and shouting with no consideration!
All in all a good holiday , great location , good staff , food ok hotel fine , will we be going back ? Unfortantley not :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    498
    330
    170
    117
See reviews for
501
665
32
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Roll on the Sept 10th when my husband, 2 friends and I will be heading back to the Beatriz.
This will be our 4th visit in 2 years and we go back again and again because every time we do we leave having had a fantastic holiday, knowing we got great value for our money and being absolutely delighted with the location, hotel, staff and service.

We travel alot and are used to hotel life but rarely do you find a gem like this one. The Beattriz have genuinely warm and caring staff who can't and don't hide their delight in seeing you return. That's a rare and priceless quality and we consider ourselves very fortunate each time we visit to be partaking of their hospitality. Staff treat you as they would if you were a guest in their home ( & in a sense you are) and they positively excel in making you feel welcome and ensuring your looked after regardless of the time of day or how many hours they've been on the go.
Metagorda may be quieter than Puerto Del Carmen but its also got it's fair share of restuarants and bars so whether full board or all inclusive if you fancy a change of scene then head out. Everything you need is on your door step and within easy walking distance. Metagorda is flat - the walk along the beach front is lovely what ever time of day, exceptionally clean and well looked after and a great base for exploring the island. We can recommed a stunning steak/grill restuarant (Sirrocco's) which is within easy walking distance and has a menu to suit everyone's budget as well as the Great Wall Chinese restuarant, the Guinness Bar and possibly the smallest bar on the island located next door to the Spar supermarket called Gee Gees and run by Shamus and the team.

This hotel is by far one of Lanzerotes best kept secrets - only its not so secret because each time we return we bump into old friends made on the last trip who like us have decided to return.
I look forward to seeing you there and want to say a big thank you to Josie & Mick for the mention earlier this year. We loved meeting you and were glad we could be of assistance.

Bob & Jacquie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Let me thank you, on behalf of the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa for your lovely review in the travellers community TRIPADVISOR, which will make know "the best kept secret" to other holidaymaker and motivate them to choose our establishment as a good option for their stay on this beautiful island. We effectively do our best for you to feel welcome in "our home". I have to add a big thank you from Seamus & the team for you mentioning Gee Gee's, i did show them your comment as they are friends of mine.

It will always be a great pleasure for us to receive you again and again.

We hope, you will soon visit us again and look forward to your next booking.
In the meantime, we remain,

With kind regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we were a family of 4 my son age 5 and my daughter who has special needs age 7. when we arrived at the hotel which is 5 min from the airport we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very friendly to the children, she asked if we needed a room to suite my daughters needs but i said no as i had bought my daughters buggy.
Our room was spacious and cleaned everyday.
The hotel is absolutley massive and so much to do the kids enjoyed the swimming pools and mini club and there fav was the mini disco. We didnt really take part in the daytime entertainment as we were either out on excursions, by the pool or on the beech. We went to texas Rancho and it was brilliant. We also went on the catamaran which was another brilliant trip. The hotel itself is in a excellent location and loved the fact you see the planes going past its an attraction really. The food is great lots of choice apart from breakfast which is the same each day. wouldnt bother checking into the oriental food was not nice at all. pizzeria and the burger bar great. The icecream shop is a kids paradise lol and the pool bar is very nice too paella and bbq. only negative are the spanish tourists they can be rude but don't allow that to ruin your holiday. Overall best holiday dont think it would have been the same if we stayed anywhere else and def worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa THANK YOU very much for your review on the travel community Trip Advisor which, i do not doubt, will encourage people to visit us as it did with yourself. It is always a big pleasure to find out how much the guest have enjoyed their stay among us. i will definetly transmit your comment about the reception, the miniclub and the mindisco to them.

Wishing to see you very soon again on this beautiful island, please do receive our best regards.

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week stay at this hotel on an all inclusive basis - firstly the hotel is fantastic - very clean and great location - food was good just sometimes can be repetitive which I suppose you will get - the hotel is full of Spanish guests and they can be rude by pushing in front of you at the bar mainly - few of the waiters preferred them too.

Also the reserving of sun beds needs to be looked at - there are signs saying do not reserve sun beds then others saying not before 9am - a lot were reserved and people didn't turn up - frustrating when your walking around with a pram.

Rooms were always cleaned well - the only problem I faced was that the room wasn't child friendly so to speak we had our 1 year old daughter with us who's just started walking so she couldn't toddle about as the room was tiled also the table and bedside tables have glass ontop but not attachted - and she pulled it off - bit of a nightmare really.

You can hire a fridge or pay for 15euros worth of drinks to get it for free - so easy for drinks etc - they are microwaves inside the restaurant and by the pool bar for baby food milk etc - they are highchairs too but people wouldn't put them back so you would have to wander around to find one which is annoying.

The burger beatriz is lovely but very slow service - we didn't get a chance to get in the pizza restaurant as it was fully booked for 4 days solid so book as early as you can because a lot of guests rated it.

Overall I would return especially when my daughter is older to enjoy the activities.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment in TRIPADVISOR, it is a pleasure for us to read your satisfaction, and about the reserving of the sunbeds as you saw we do not allow it but some people still do and we cannot posibly remove the private items of the guests.
However it is pleasure to find out that you will be visiting us again.
Thank you again and see you very soon

My best regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived at Beatriz Playa in no more than 5 minutes from the airport! Checked in and arrived at our room in 20 minutes. (Room 3035.) We were quite dissapointed by the room as it is called a "Twin Room" But only has one room with 4 beds but we did not let this spoil the holiday. A big thank you to Eric who tried to help us with the problem! It takes no more than 30 minutes to get your bearings around the holiday which is good considering its a massive hotel. All the restaurants are located on Floor -1, the pool on 0 and rooms which are on all floors apart from -1. All the restaurants were brilliant but they should try to keep the food warmer as it goes quite cold. There is a microwave but i doubt you want to wait 2 days for it to fully warm up as the microwave is ancient.
The poolside is brilliant, spacious and good for people who like to relax, However, after 4 days being there, they decided to bring out a rule where you are not allowed to reserve sun beds until 9'oclock so they was usually a rush to get there so you would get a good spot! The animacion team is brilliant and keep you entertained day and night with activities such as rifle shooting, water polo and table tennis for the adults and mini club for the kids. On a night they would be a mini disco for the kids followed by 3 singers which brought a depressing atmosphere to the area. But soon changed when the entertainment started. The best had to be the Beatles tribute act which was brilliant, a big thank you to Paul, Poli and the rest of the animacion team for keeping us entertained!
I would reccomend trying the Italian Pizzeria which is free for all inclusive but needs to be reserved via the reception.
If i was to come back to the hotel i would come self catering, unfourtunatly the hotel does not do self catering so maybe they should look into that. Apart from that it was a great holiday and would defenitly return again.

Room Tip: Try get rooms that end in 20-30 as they have a sea view! (0020, 1020, 2020, 3020 etc.) When they sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure to read your review about the hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa, thank you for sharing your experience on TRIPADVISOR, as i have not doubt this will help other travellers in choosing our establishment for their visit on this beautiful island. You can rely on me to transmit your commentary about the Animation Team to them, and I have to add my personal thank you for the lovely remark you wrote about me. Thank You.
Last point, let me precise to you that we do offer every type of regim, All Inclusiv, Half Board, Bed & Breakfast and self catering as well, but these are not offered by every Tour Operator, so do not hesitate in contacting us to let you know how to come in seld catering for exemple.
As you had a great holiday do not doubt in visiting us again, it will always be a pleasure to receive you amongst us.

We hope to have you with us again soon and meanwhile we remain.

Sincerely yours.

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

we had a lovely holiday my mum dad. my husband 2 boys and myself . will return asap. couldnt fault anything thank you everyone at hotel beatriz matagorda. the boys loved the mini disco in the evening. the staff were very nice . apart for the man preparing the pool he chased me from the pool at 8:55 am because i was at the pool before 9am. lol

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment about your satisfaction in the Hotel Beatriz Playa, I will definetly transmit your thanks to the staff and in particular to the Entertainment team for the minidisco. Your remark regarding the man preparing the pool has been noticed. Thank you for letting us know your opinion.

We hope, you will soon visit us again and look forward to your next booking.

In the meantime, we remain,

With kind regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just arrived back from our first visit to this hotel as a large family group. The hotel itself is very attractive and Reception staff were very welcoming. We had emailed earlier asking for adjoining rooms plus a request that my daughter and family who were arriving a couple of days after us could be close by. We also asked for a balcony with a view of the planes (for my husband). Have to say the hotel delivered, we had two rooms with connecting door with a view of the planes and a lovely sea view. My daughter was given a room just a couple of rooms away on arrival so have to say great service. The rooms were quite large and and kept very clean by the maid. We paid extra for a fridge which was well worth it and a kettle appeared after a couple of days which was a bonus.

We were all inclusive and the meals were good, although a little disappointed with the sweet choice. Meals at the beach bar at lunchtime were also good, especially the paella.

There was a problem with sun beds whilst we were there. Management tried to sort this out by making sure people only put towels down after 9.00 a.m. Annoying when people put towels down and then never turn up but there probably needs to be some more beds provided. The swimming pools are very deep although there is a small childrens pool. Inflatables are not allowed.

Evening entertainment was excellent starting with childrens disco (the entertainment team work really hard) followed by a show some of which were really good and ending with a disco. The younger children in our party loved the entertainment but there wasn't an awful lot for our 15 yr. old and 17 yr. old to do.

Nothing seemed to be to much trouble for the staff - Reception fixed my grandaughters glasses and as my daughter and family's return flight was very early and reception arranged for a wake up phone call and provided packed lunches for them.

The majority of the guests were Spanish, about a third British and have to say most of the Spanish guests were not very friendly. On reflection, the hotel was value for money for couples and families with younger children.

Room Tip: Room 3036 (third floor) has a view of the planes and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Beatriz Playa & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,

I do thank you on behalf of the Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa for your review on the travellers community TRIPADVISOR, your words will help other travellers to know us better and encourage them to visit us. THANKS!
Your remark regarding the sunbeds has been noticed and you can rely on us to do evrything posible to rectify this point. And about the fact that there are mostly spanish guset this is due to the summer period, otherwise the proportion is different.

We hope, you will soon visit us again and look forward to your next booking.
In the meantime, we remain,

With kind regards

Eric Dufosset
Public Relations Manager
Hotel Beatriz Playa & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beatriz Playa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beatriz Playa & Spa

Address: Urb. Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beatriz Playa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beatriz Playa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatriz Playa And Spa
Beatriz Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Beatriz Playa Lanzarote
Beatriz Playa & Spa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beatriz Playa & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.