We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wish we were still there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morromar Apartamentos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Morromar Apartamentos to your Saves list
Morromar Apartamentos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mato 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“we wish we were still there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is very clean and rooms spacious. If you have any problems with the room they do their very best to put it right with in hours. It's in a good position with taxi rank just out side and 5 min walk from the beach. The food is good with a wide selection. The only down side of the hotel was the evening entertainment it had to be seen to be believed at times and is the only thing they need to improve. plus be aware that if you want to use the safe in room it will cost you 12 euros. You can also catch excursions from said taxi rank we went on 4 fire mountain, Teguise market and Fuerteventura which were very good and worth the money but the 4th was the submarine this was not worth the money and would not recommend it as you don't see much and unless you just want the experience of going in a submarine avoid. The resort was nice, clean beach and a lovely promenade to wonder a long and plenty of benches to sit and watch the world go by. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Morromar Apartamentos, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay in our complex.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Now you know where to come on your next visit!
We remain at your disposal,
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    521
    295
    113
    50
See reviews for
489
476
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

i have just got home from my holiday with my wife and daughter and we all enjoyed the holiday very much. The food is excellent, the whole complex kept very clean and the rooms are very spacious. All the staff are VERY friendly and very helpful. I would like to give a very big thanks to the very hard working entertainment people they are brilliant, THANKS TO DANIELE, EMILY AND REKA. The nightly entertainment could be improved, but that is up to the hotel to give them a bigger budget to get more/better professional shows and something like a karaoke night etc.
AS FOR THE PEOPLE THAT MOAN ABOUT THE STRENGTH OF THE ALCOHOL, IT IS THE SAME AS ANY ALL INCLUSIVE IN ANY PART OF THE CANARIES OR SPAIN.
we would certainly go back to this complex and once again , a big thank-you to ALL the hard working staff at the morromar

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Morromar Apartamentos, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your impressions about your recent stay in THe Morromar.
We are very glad to read your comments!
Thank you for your kind words regarding our entertainment staff, I will be pleased to tranmsit them personally.
Regarding the evening entertainment, we are already looking on it in order to improve our offer.
Hoping to welcome you back in a near future,
We remain at your disposal.
Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived back today of a week stay with 2 young adult children (21 and 23) we are mid and late 40. We had a great time at this Hotel/Apartments. We arrived late afternoon and were greated with a big smile and very good english/german and spanish speaking staff. Our room was spacious and clean. We felt welcome right away.After a quick look around we found everything and nothing was to much for the staff, so helpful and friendly. As the first few days were a bit chilly due to weather we hired a car no trouble to reception. A phone call later we had a pick up to the hire car place and 10 min later we had a car of our choice. We went to the national park/ vulcanos and how great did that turn out to be. The next day we went to turguise not costa de turquoise it has a fab market on a sunday. Then we went to a very good surfing beach on the west coast recomend it. We dont surf by the way. Get a car as the trips can turn out very expencive for a family. The roads are not too busy either. The promenade was only 3 min walk away and its gorgeous. Well kept and very clean with really good exercise facilities just beside the walk by the sea.The beaches are beautiful and not to busy at this time a year. If you dont want to walk into Puerto del Carmen there is always a Taxi at the cost of around €3/4. The boys went out a few nights and found the bars very cheap and welcoming to any nationalty. Drinks and food is very cheap over there. Back to the hotel: we had a great stay and a fab welcome meeting with cocktails and Paella. The Staff is fantastic and the management is outstanding. Xmas dinner was made very special and even my boys were very impressed. My boys and us would go back at any time. I would say the 800 rooms are the best. Gracias mucho we had a great feliz navidad and hope you all have a feliz ano nuevo xxx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Morromar Apartamentos, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you very much for publishing your impressions about your holidays with us!
We are really glad to read you nice comments and to know you enjoyed christmas time in our complex.
We will be looking forward to welcome you in a near future.
We remain at your disposal,
Wishing you the best.
Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall very worth the money. Massive variety of food including themed evening meals. Food is not always piping hot, but always warm. you only have 2-3 hours a day when there is no food/snacks on (4pm-6:30pm). Staff are excellent, might have to repeat your drinks order a couple of times but they get there in the end. Very friendly. Entertainment staff make the hotel, kept spirits up, getting everyone whos willing involved. Even going the extra mile to produce a cabaret show. Activities run throughout the day except on their days off (thursday and sunday). They deserve a lot more credit than they are getting!
Plenty of christmas decorations were up, and christmas music has been playing throughout our stay.
Location is good, less than 10 minute walk to the beach and shopping centres, with more shopping centres just a further walk down the beach. And a taxi rank right outside the hotel. Rooms are very clean and constantly made up, bigger than expected, however could have used more drawers as not enough storage space for 3 of us. Good kitchen but didn't need to use it much as we were all inclusive. Excellent hair dryer, powerful shower however did run out of hot water on a few occasions.
Pools are cold, even with one of them being 'heated' but plently of sun loungers to go around!
Evening entertainment is okay at times, but could be improved on. Even if it's just leaving the disco lights on till 11/12 and having the music a bit louder.
Don't expect 5 stars when you are only paying for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Morromar Apartamentos, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you for taking your time on publishing your impressions about your actual stay in THe Morromar.
Me and my team are really glad to read that you are enjoying your stay and this Christmas days with us. We were very worried after reading your initial comment but as the days go by I think you have changed up your mind.
I do hope you enjoy every minute and if there is anything we can help you with, please let us know.
Wishing you the best,
Kind Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We are here now with 4 kids 12-11-4-3 years. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are good, food great. But all inclusive snacks are absolutely rubbish, just nothing there but a bit of cake at the bar, not very good for hungry kids,we asked for something like a sandwich and the best they could offer was fruit. So we have kids starving.also all the hotels we've stayed in and never known evening entertainment so poor. After dinner last night (Sunday) there was no entertainment and when I mean none there was nothing except very mellow orchestra music playing in the back ground quietly, this really lets the hotel down.we go away about 3-4 times a year and this has to be the worst. We're not expecting much but we'd like something for the children, last few days we've been in our room by 8pm cus so boring. We are staying in room 729, so now lovely view..if u looking for a bit of evening entertainment for the family then this is defo not the place to go. There's nothing.. Staff are average, haven't witnessed the over friendly staff like some reviews have said, but they are hard working, we are just trying to find some where to spend evenings for Xmas Eve and Xmas night.. Would we come again...NO.. Only because of the hotel entertainment and all inclusive only being meals and very weak alcohol . This hotel really needs to step up it's entertainment which I really don't think it will, I think it's there way of making sure everyone is in there rooms early.. We are really disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Clean but very dated and tired. This place is no more than a two star. Food is cold - after saying so was told there was a microwave to warm it up! It had often just come from the kitchen and goodness knows why you want to eat carrots onion rings and wedges at breakfast. In defence the breakfast was edible but the lunches and evening meals where brought out and left under Luke warm lights..not good. .the restaurant - more like a canteen - and entertainment area are all in one large hall - more line a school hall that is cordoned off. The entertained lasts each evening for three quartz of an hour - the magician was good but all others were well below standard - especially the young lad dressed as a lady boy miming and dancing around the audience - not entertainment. The only pool activity we saw were guests trying to throw a ball into a child's bucket with reps supervising! This place is kept clean but not for the faint hearted. We came back today 19th dec there was no Christmas spirit or many decorations we didn't hear one Christmas Carol played - those that are staying for Christmas won't get much festive spirit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Morromar Apartamentos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to publish your impressions about your recent stay in THe Morromar.
We are very sorry to read some of your comments. About the foods temperature, this is measured in a regular basis and we have hot dishes available. I will keep checking this issue just in case.
Regarding your comments about the Christmas decoration and ambience, well obviously in the Canary Islands this time of the year feels completely different, good weather, sitting by the pool and enjoying this period with another mood, that is why people come here. Anyway we have special christmas dinner, live music and many other activities.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

enjoyed our winter break, we were allocated room 603 an upstairs room next to the restaurant and when we opened the door the smell of tobacco was really strong went to reception and within ten minutes a cleaner appeared and sprayed the whole appartment, never really bothered us after that, rooms are basic but they have put new flat screen tv's and we had a hair drier fitted the first week. food was good and there was plenty of it, cleaners kept the place spotless and the gardens were kept nice, the manageress was also very approachable and regularily walked round the complex asking if you were enjoying ourselfs. would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrave, Director General at Morromar Apartamentos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are all very glad to know you enjoyed your holidays with us!
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be pleased to transmit them. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.
Wishing you the best,
Kind Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morromar Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morromar Apartamentos

Address: C/ Mato 13 | Urbanizacion Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sol Morromar Apartamentos)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morromar Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Morromar Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Melia Matagorda
Sol Morromar Lanzarote
Sol Morromar Apartamentos Matagorda
Morromar Apartamentos Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morromar Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.