We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floresta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Floresta to your Saves list
Hotel Floresta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mercurio 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“enjoyable holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Travelled as a party of four adults and stayed all inclusive. Apartments were larger than usual, equipped kitchen but unfortunately no kettle only a coffee making machine, but one is provided if you ask for one, although there are no complimentary tea, coffee and sugar. Hotel is very clean, the food is excellent and the gardens well maintained. There is varied entertainment in the evenings, the gaucho act and the magician are really good but there is only one weeks entertainment on so if you stay for two weeks you have to see the same acts again. There is a kids entertainer and three pools for adults and children. In the area are lots of shops and bars and a lovely beach just across the road. Well worth trying this hotel for yourself.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view otherwise you may be overlooking the main road.you can request any room you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello Joy p:
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in Floresta and were very satisfied with our services. You especially mentioned the cleanliness and the excellent food. We hope you will decide to stay again with us in the near future.
Many greetings from our Hotel Floresta-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    288
    98
    11
    10
See reviews for
377
211
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Got back 3 days ago, arrived at hotel and was impressed with the hotel reception. Friendly, helpful staff, check in was easy and painless and got in way before check in time. Also requested a certain room before hand and got it.
Room was H201 and a two bedroom. Very spacious, clean and quiet, looked over the front of the hotel looking down at the crazy golf. Room was cleaned 5 times in the week and facilities included kettle, microwave and hob in kitchen. Ceiling fans in bedroom and air conditioning in lounge.
Really good size bathroom with great shower and towels replaced each time it was cleaned.
Pools very cold and salt water so didn't venture in much, lots of sunbeds available even though people had towels out at 7.30am. Resort very clean and well looked after. Location ideal, not too busy,but enough shops and bars just outside, especially the Spar right outside, very handy.
However...we were self catering and this hotel caters more for the inclusive customers. We went to the bar one night and never went back as the drinks were too expensive to buy, obviously they make up their money through the self catering customers buying there overprice drinks. During the day if you bought a beer it would cost about 2 euros for a small plastic cup of beer, where down the road you could get a large beer for 1 euro. We had no choice really but to find cheaper drinks outside of the hotel. Great if you were inclusive(and never left the resort) but not for self catering. I also think the pool area it needed a bit of background music coming from the pool bar maybe, as it was a little dull. And it might of drowned the noise from the building work next door going on, as you were sunbathing. And just to confirm the building work next door, is nowhere near finished as stated in other reviews on here.

Overall a good, friendly, clean hotel but more for the fully inclusive holiday makers.

Room Tip: G H I are away from the noise from next door building works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned home from a week's stay at the Floresta as a family of 5 and overall had a great week. The room was spacious and clean, plenty of towels and the cleaners were very hardworking and polite. Every member of staff we came across was friendly and helpful, special mention to Nicky on reception, the bar staff went the extra mile, including Pablo who made sure that he found us a table big enough for our family to dine at during busy times and John, Daniel and Herbert who were really freindly and the kids thought they were fab.

We all found the food to be tasty with plenty of choice of meats, fish, vegetables and a great selection of cold foods such as salads, cold meats, cheese, soups, fresh bread, cakes, mousses, ice cream and fruits. It was nice to see many of the meats and fishes cooked directly in front of us. Plenty to choose from, fair enough it isn't Michelin star standard but for what we paid for the trip, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of food.

Drinks as all inclusive were brilliant; the kids loved the constant supply of slush drinks, coke and fruit juices and the lager, wines and spirits were all decent quality.

We were suprised how much we enjoyed the entertainment; the magic show and reptile shows in particular were good nights, the singers a tad cheesy but hey ho, no one forced us to sit bopping along! The only downside (yet hilarious) aspect were the competetive strictly ballroom couples who took over the dancefloor, especially the bossy old dude that was kicking off about children dancing as he wanted the space to gyrate and thrust his hips at what he felt were an appreciative audience (no, sorry, those were tears of laughter, not admiration, you grumpy old show off!).

Location was lovely - very quiet but plenty of bars, restaurants and shops if you fancy a change of scenery. The old town harbour was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed the submarine trip - quite pricey but it was amazing to go 30ft under water to admire the many marine species and shipwrecks.

All in all a good week, thank you Hotel Floresta and Lanzarote!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello TwoHoots123:
By the way you describe your holiday you had a great time in Floresta. You especially mentioned the clean apartments, the very friendly staff and the good food.
Apart from the evening entertainment it seems that you enjoyed as well a trip on the submarine.
We hope you will be visiting again in the near future.
Many greetings from the Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

i stayed here 17th-27th may.,I am appalled.I was assured by the holiday company this was a great hotel for people with special needs?(NO) .my 6yr old son is autistic so we where treated like second class citizens by staff and guests alike.my son was threatened by a German man, another told me to tell him to shut his mouth, we got tuted at stared at, my 2yr old was shouted at. The play leader Lucy wouldn't let my son play the games.....what sort of play leader doesn't let kids play? there was nothing at all for younger kids. The staff found it hard to cope ,even in may. Worst thing ,I reported to reception staff my 17yr old daughter was followed back from the shops by a man in a white van, she was abrupt, said maybe he wanted directions?(don't think so) local asking a holiday maker?. The food was cold, the staff was rude,appart from Nathan 1 of the activity leaders & 1 of the bar staff. Overall it was a holiday from hell. I would never stay here again even if it was free.£2000,i was robbed. Oh there where cockroaches every morning to great us.accually they done a better job than the staff.

Room Tip: ask for one that doesn't smell of dampness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello Avril F:
We are very sorry if you couldn't enjoy your holidays the way you expected. We are sure that our staff treats all our guests friendly and helpfully and your children haven't been treated badly by any of us. Both you and us have been in contact with your rep about the situation you mention in your review and think the situation has been handles correctly in any way.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

had a lovely holiday at floresta, the best bits the food roast lamb, roast turkey,beef, steak,chops and fish and much more all fresh and well presented and chips and new potatoes pasta. rice salad and more. drinks are cheap and so are the snacks. the pools are large and a bit chilliy but the kids didnt mind that, lots of lounger and sun brollys. one of the large pool is busier than the others, the grounds are well kept and clean, the club is large and comfy the entertainment is only suitable for children eg parrott shows, reptile shows and not too bad singers, but only for a hour ish, occ bingo too, the hotel is about 100 metres from beach , 3km from airport taxi fare 11 euros plenty of taxis outside airport, pocilos is a small quiet resort not bustling, but its only a 20 min walk or 5 min bus to del carmen witch is very lively,lastly the rooms, spacious ,clean, balcony/terrace small kitchen with 2 rings and microwave with oven and a large fridge/ freezer, free air con in room and ceiling fan in bedrooms/ hairdryer and tv with disney chanel , true movies and world news , the complex is only 2 floors and family friendly, on the day you leave you can book your room for 30 euros or if not available they have a courtesy room with towels and shower for free, u have to book that the morning of your departure and u can have the room for half hour u pick the time slot, hope this helps u to make your mind up about ur hol, i would def go back but i would only recc this complex for familys with children up to the age of 10, couples and teens would prob find it too quiet,

Room Tip: if u have kids ask for a pool veiw / or for others mountain veiw i stopped in 1414 mountain veiw bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Julie d:
Thanks for your detailled review about your first stay in Floresta which you have obviously enjoyed a lot. It seems that you were very satisfied with all our services and and apart from the hotel enjoyed as well the beach and the surroundings.
We hope it won't be your last stay in Floresta.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

First things first, I am going to remember that this is a 3 star hotel and not a 5 star, and that we paid a realitivly small amount per person to stay here all inclusively for a week in May...

We travelled as a family- me, my husband, 2 children (aged 10 and 5) and my mum to this hotel last week. We have never visited Lanzarote or the hotel before, and after reading the reviews, were not sure what to expect!

We arrived at the hotel at about 7pm, and were greeted by a friendly lady on reception, who explained everything to us (mealtimes ect) and pointed us in the direction of our apartment. We arrived and wow! We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the 2 bedroomed apartment we had been given. There were 2 large bedrooms with ceiling fans, and a sofa bed in the living room/kitchen area. We had asked for ground floor and had a lovely veranda with table and 4 chairs on it. We had a fridge, hobs, microwave and cupboard space in the kitchen and a lovely sized bathroom. Cleaners came in 5 times a week, and replaced the towels at the same time. The bed were nice- firm but I personally like that- but the pillows were rubbish. They were scrunchy, so whenever I moved the noise woke me up! This was the only thing I could fault about the room, but I put a blanket over the pillow and it made it a thousand times better.

The hotel itself was lovely- so clean and lots of room. There are 4 pools- a large adult and childs pool in the centre next to the pool bar, and a smaller one a short walk through the complex. The pools are a little chilly, but they are OK once you get in. The main pools are saltwater, so try not to accidently take a gulp!! There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool, and we never had any trouble getting one, at any time of the day. Also in the grounds are tennis courts (didn't visit them, but they looked good!) mini golf (lots of fun, some of the holes are a bit challenging for little ones!) a park, table football, pool table and the allotments where they grow fruit and veg for the restaurant, which I thought was quite nice!

The location of the hotel is brilliant. There is a spar supermarket right outside the hotel and a McDonalds a short walk away if you fancy it. It was a 10 minute drive from the airport, which is ideal if you have young children (or grumpy husbands!) with you. There is a beach just across the road, which is really big so never over crowded- this can get VERY hot in the sunshine though, so dont take your shoes off until you are at the sea! There is also a promanade of shops, bars and restaurants along the seafront, so its a nice stroll in the sunshine. Lots of the bars and restaurants were offering 3 course meals for 12 euros, which is a bargain if you fancy a change of meal!

One of the first shops is Last Minute Excursions. I would recommend popping in here if you wanted a trip out. They were very helpful and cheap too! We went on a trip to the zoo, volcanoes and market with them, and they were very reliable and the tour guides were good fun!

The trips we went on were a mixed bag- The volcanoes were a must see- they took you up into the volcanoes, through craters and into a restaurant where they cooked food from the heat of the volcano.... amazing! If you took your shoes off, you can feel the heat through the floor! There was also a chance to ride a camel for 6 euros each. This 25 minute ride was a hit with my 10 year old!

We also visited the Market. It was great and we got some great bargains! This trip was 4 euros an adult (12 euros if you booked through hotel) and well worth it!

We also visited Rancho Texas zoo. I wouldn't go back here- it was very expensive (85 euros all together!) for a zoo we walked abound in 30 mins. But there were some shows (birds of prey and sea lions) which were quite nice.

The entertainment in the hotel was.... patchy. Each evening (except Fridays) started with a Mini Disco, which both my 2 loved! There was also a bit of bingo- cheesy but a bit of fun for all! Then there was a show... Some of these were awful. (The parrot show in particular- sorry!) But some others were better. The comedy Magician and the Flamenco dancers were very good, It was hotel entertainment, so i guess its what you make it! We had a giggle each night, even if it was an "Its so bad its good" moment!

The childrens entertainers did a good job- especially Nathan, who was fantastic. He got all the kids up and dancing as well as a lot of the adults! Lucie was good too, just seemed to be lacking a little bit of confidence? My 2 didn't go to the kids clubs during the day but they were always off doing something when we saw them! Only comment was we did see Lucie on her phone a lot when she was in charge of the children, not a big deal with the bigger ones, but maybe an extra eyes should be kept on the little ones.

Now for the food- I am a very fussy eater, so I know that there is not always a lot for me. Looking at the food there was always plenty of choice. Meats and fish a plenty at lunch and dinner as well as salads, pastas, soups, fruits, veg, cakes and ice cream. The meat and fish was being cooked fresh in front of you which was nice! There was always rice, chips and pasta available, which pleased the children. Breakfast was the worst meal- no variation at all. I understand there is only so much you can do with breakfast, but I have been to many different places who have managed it, and felt maybe more could be done. There was only ever streaky bacon, frankfurter sausages and overcooked fried eggs! I often just had croissants as I couldn't find anything to take my fancy. They had theme nights it the restaurant. While we were there we had Chinese, Italian and Mexican, all of which were delicious! Only thing is it wasn't always hot, just luke warm! The food was not the best, but again thinking about what we paid for the holiday, it certainly wasn't bad! The only thing i would say is that there was not a lot of choice for vegetarians- all I could see was vegetables and the same pasta bake everyday, so I wouldn't recommend if you don't eat meat. The pool bar also did food between 12 and 4, which was delicious! Burgers, hot dogs, toasted sandwiches, nuggets (Cheap brown chicken though!) and amazing chips! Made a nice change if you were chilling at the pool. 2 complaints about the restaurant- 1. there very very few large tables. We travelled as a group of 5, and often had to sit apart. and 2. the drinks system. All Inclusive guests have to queue at the bar, so remember to do this before you get food, or it will be colder than usual!!

Drinks! OMG I don't know how anyone could say they are watered down! They were obviously all locally produced drinks, but were all lovely, my husband particularly enjoyed the Tequila Sunrise, which was always more tequila than sunrise!!!!!!!!

I would say that there needs to be more staff on duty! At the pool bar, often there was only one member of staff working during the day. He was there to serve drinks, cook and serve food as well as clear up the tables?! Not possible! There needs to be more. The staff did brilliantly, but obviously the queues built up and it could often take a while to get food. This IS NOT a complaint against the staff- just the management of rotas?!

Overall we really enjoyed our week away. We paid 3 star price and got a lovely 3 star place to stay. We would definitely think about returning. Our main points would be this:

1. New pillows please!
2. More staff at the bar, especially during busy time
3. Think about vegetarians in the restaurant
4. More larger tables, especially at dinner time

Room Tip: We were in room A101. Close to the pools and bars but far enough away from and noise! xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Book an all inclusive holiday with on the beach 22/05/14 to 29/05/14. I was not sure if I had made the right choice booking through on the beach after reading a lot of bad reviews about on the beach.

Floresta is a very friendly hotel with friendly staff, nice food and is a clean hotel. There is plenty of entertainment for kids Nathan and Lucie are great. it has 2 big and 2 small pools. Rooms are nice size and they are cleaned 5 days a week. It was a very enjoyable holiday and will go back there again.

Negative points
1.It's not 4* hotel as I have booked, the sign on the hotel entrance shows 3*, but having said that service was excellent.

2.There is building work behind the hotel and you can visibly see the crane from the main pool.



Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello Snydyze M:
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in Floresta and found the staff very friendly (especially Nathan and Lucie), the food good and the apartments very clean. What we don't understand is that you thought Floresta would be a four star hotel since it is everywhere marked as a three star hotel, but in the end this didn't seem to bother you since you said that the service was excellent.
We hope you will be back soon.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Floresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floresta

Address: Calle Mercurio 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Floresta 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Floresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floresta Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Floresta Apartments Puerto Del Carmen
Floresta Lanzarote
Floresta Apartments Lanzarote
Hotel Floresta Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Floresta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.