We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks most of the boxes but not great with small kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Floresta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Floresta to your Saves list
Hotel Floresta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mercurio 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ticks most of the boxes but not great with small kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have twins who are 3½ yrs old so this review is written very much from the “young family” perspective. We stayed in early February, before the start of most half term holidays. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment and stayed all-inclusive. The apartment was good sized and, like the rest of the complex, really well maintained. The very large swimming pool was nice and warm and the complex is located really close to a lovely beach. Most other guests seemed to be long-stay retired German and Dutch people, and this made it feel a bit like our twins were invading their space; it did not feel entirely welcoming to a young family. This was underlined physically by the miniclub being located right on the very edge of the complex, along with the not bad but unshaded playground. Patricija, who ran the miniclub, tried hard but there were not very many other kids to help keep ours entertained. The evening entertainment was moderate to good, but not exceptional, but this was partly because the audiences were small in spite of the complex being mostly full – it seems like most of the retirees like to retire early! The food was edible but not exceptional, but there was always plenty of fruit and salad, and the ice cream was good. The AI house red was not worth drinking but the gin and tonic was as always a good option. Most non-Spanish staff were very helpful but some of the Spanish speaking staff were a bit offhand (even if you speak a bit of Spanish), with the exception of Marcial and the young cyclist in maintenance. All in all, a perfectly acceptable stay, but not one that stands out or makes me think that I would really want to return, at least with small kids – maybe more once I am retired.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Tomito O:
Thanks for your very detailed review of your stay in our hotel. We are very happy that you found the apartments and the whole complex very well maintained. You came at a time where we have a lot of long term guests and not so many children so you claimed you felt a bit out of place with your two little children. During the whole year we have entertainment for adults and children but obviously when there are holidays the participation is a lot higher than during low season. We hope that this didn't spoil your time here and you could enjoy your stay.
Many greetings from your hotel Floresta-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    270
    89
    11
    10
See reviews for
351
196
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

On arrival at Floresta we were booked in efficiently by the courteous young man at the desk and given instructions on how to get to our room. This turned out to be a well equiped apartment on the 3rd level of the complex with separate bedroom and en suite. We had requested a high floor prior to departing the UK and were delighted the management were able to accommodate our wishes. As it turned out our enclosed balcony, equiped with table and chairs plus 2 sunbeds, got the sun from 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. approx. (Not all balconies are the same). This became our home for 4 weeks - peaceful and relatively private.
Safe hire was 10 euro per week + 10 euro returnable deposit.
A coffee machine was supplied but no kettle, though we got one on request.
B.Y.O. usually refers to Bringing Your Own bottles of refreshments etc for parties but on this occasion we refer to shampoo, gels, soap etc. as after using up the welcome pack these items were not replenished. This was the first time we have had to go out and buy toiletries whilst on holiday. The hair-dryer was not the best - so again - B.Y.O. - especially if you have thick or long hair.
The complex is set off by well manicured gardens and all very clean and tidy. A few cats in the grounds but not at all a problem except for the children's playground where we saw a cat doing its business. This area should be enclosed to keep cats out and children safe.
Not once were we acknowledged by the staff on entering the restaurant and some of the staff did not appear to enjoy their work - what does it cost to give a smile.
Meal choices were reasonably good with weekly Mexican, Italian and Chinese theme nights. On the whole a good mix to choose from although not always hot. There was a microwave available and we did use this on a few occasions, but really, we should not have had to do this.
The situation of the complex is excellant with an esplanade for walkers and cycle track for the more energetic in both directions along the coast - going to the right takes you to the main part of Puerto del Carmen and going to the left takes you to Matagordo and beyond. The path takes you right round the perimeter of the airport and this is a great place for plane spotting or just watching them taking off or landing.
Overall we were happy with our accommodation and had an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Room 1530 gets the sun practically all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello SunseekerInverness:
We want to thank you for your detailed review of your stay in our hotel. Overall you were very satisfied - you mentioned especially the nice and clean apartment where you could enjoy a lot of sunshine during your stay. As well you liked the theme nights in the restaurant and enjoyed the promenade for long walks. We hope that despite the fact the hair-dryer wasn't suitable for you you had a nice stay and maybe will come back in the future.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed feb 23 book short notice for honeymoon read reviews before went .arrived late afternoon greeted by Danielle on reception really friendly helpful room was great had champagne waiting in room brilliant gesture off hotel we really appreciated thought. Room spotless lot bigger than a lot hotel's stayed week food and dfink wdre great pleanty of choice everyday different , great for couples or families .going to book again March 2015 .

Room Tip: Pool view d block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello stevejenny6996:
We are very happy that you chose Floresta for your honeymoon and enjoyed your stay very much. You mentioned the good service at reception as well as the cleanliness and the good food. We hope to see you back in March next year.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a lovely holiday here as the facilities are very good, the hotel very clean. The facilities were good, as was the entertainment. The pool was lovely, and our room overlooked it, which was really nice.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool and it was lovely to sit on the patio with a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello holmesj2:
We are delighted that you had a great stay in Floresta. It seems that everything has been to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your apartment, the cleanliness and the pools.
Hopefully you will be back for another visit.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Been going twice a year now for several years and always look forward to our next visit. Particularly enjoy the competitions we have with the Dutch and German holidaymakers and then the beers with them afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello Keenbo:
We are very happy that you have once again enjoyed your stay in Floresta and hope it won't be your last visit. See you soon again.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

returned to this hotel as we were impressed last year - really clean, friendly efficient staff & the best kept hotel gardens I ve seen in a long time.The room we had was in a brilliant position just off the road but very quiet & great sun on the balcony in the afternoon (1414). Would recommend to anyone self catering as the kitchen is the one of the cleanest & up to date

Room Tip: don t need to pack your hairdryer or kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello Karen C:
We are delighted that you have come back for your second visit and again enjoyed your time very much. It seems that you were especially impressed with the cleanliness and the well maintained gardens. You also speak about the very friendly and efficient staff. We hope very much that you will visit again in the near future.
Many greetings from the Hotel Floresta-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from floresta brilliant hotel only thing that let it down was the food. Hot dog sausages for breakfast every day, these are not sausages at all, the cereal was a bit stale and the meals in general needed to be hotter. The meat for our first four nights was pork of some sort every night. The cleanliness was top quality. The staff are all friendly and welcoming especially Nathan (the entertainments guy). The other guests from a European country which I shall not name was very abusive to the majority of the people from England.
All Inc guests please note that you can get water from the pool bar after 6 or 7 each evening which we were not told about, and bought this ourselves from local spar for the first three days. Pool towels well worth hire!
Had a fab time, facilities great for disabled as well, but ramps a little steep. Would definitely return with my disabled mother, and would return again as a couple.
Please paint the pool though as it is chipping and off putting, but really clean though!
the pool was warm, as it heated up, and seemed to be a bit heated, but appears to be cold pools everywhere, we swam three times a day, no problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B, Reception at Hotel Floresta, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello Marzin70:
We are very happy that you had a good time in our hotel. It seems that you were very satified with our services especially with the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff, the heated pool and the fact that the facilities are great for disabled too. Your only negative point was the food - although we offer three diferent theme nights a week you mentioned the food to be repetitive.
We hope you had a great time and will be back soon.
Many greetings from your Hotel Floresta-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Floresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Floresta

Address: Calle Mercurio 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Floresta 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Floresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floresta Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Floresta Apartments Puerto Del Carmen
Floresta Lanzarote
Floresta Apartments Lanzarote
Hotel Floresta Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Floresta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.