We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Holiday by Paula Malcolm and Phoebe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Suiza 4 | Puerto del Carmen - Lanzarote, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Surrey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Holiday by Paula Malcolm and Phoebe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

From beginning to end this was one of the most fantastic breaks we have experienced. Hotel and resort lived up to all expectations from comfort cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. Food excellent from choice to presentation. Staff very attentive especially in restaurant and lifeguard located with pool bar most hardworking polite and professional. Rooms spacious and clean. Swimming pools wonderful and entertainment good. Stone throw away from beautiful beach and within easy walk into Puerto Del Carmen. Would definitely make a return visit to this hotel and its resort.

Room Tip: Pool view overlooking pool with pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    705
    264
    48
    40
See reviews for
529
1,069
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just back yesterday from this wonderful place. so clean and safe. staff wonderful and friendly, entertainment team brilliant. kids club....well they seemed happy enough, although our 5.5yr old wasn't so sure, however she is used to the Thomson clubs !! lots of mixed nationalities here, even the Spanish. lots of sunbeds, however.....some looneys were up with the lark to put their towels down...we always got beds and we didn't get to the pool areas till at least 10.30 am. several pools all quite deep, just a tip if your taking little ones although there are 2 kiddies pools. 1 pool has a pool bar....fab..the lovely pedro. food wise we don't know what other reviews are moaning about, we never had a problem, lots of choice, breakfast lunch and evening. tip...you must try the Asian and the Mexican....lovely. yes its busy but its a hotel they usually are !!! free towels for the pools. free bottled water from reception. shows were good fun, some better that others, they could do with a proper disco for the kids with up to date tunes etc, and not just their own riuland cd. a little bit of karaoke wldnt go amiss hahaha !! hotel rooms were lovely and immaculatey clean, nice size balconies. we emailed the hotel before we went and requested a room in the main hotel which was 375, great because we had the sun in the morning but not in the afternoon. TAKE NO NOTICE OF THE IDIOTS WHO CLAIM IT IS A 15 MINS WALK BETWEEN THE HOTELS,,,,,,,,its not...a lovely walk through the grounds / gardens 5mins tops. just go and have fun, relax and enjoy !! we may go back next year..........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked our holiday through Thomson who from the start lied to us about availability and the standard of their service and the hotel.

We wanted a good quality hotel, not too big and with good food and nice wine. We wanted it to be near the beach for our 4 year old daughter to play on, some nice 'café del mar' style bars very close to stroll to with our daughter, and no 'Brits abroad' type hotels

Thomson initially tried to push us towards a hotel that he said had a beach 5 minutes away – but even the brochure stated it was 4km away.

The Wilmslow store manager then remembered the Riu Paraiso in Puerto Del Carman, Lanzarote. He advised he has an apartment very close by and so knew the place very well and could guarantee it would be perfect for our requirements. We challenged the fairly high cost for a 4* (£2500) especially as the holiday we were about to book elsewhere would have cost half as much, although admittedly only B&B. He persuaded us with his knowledge of how nice the hotel, beach and surrounding area is/was, and that the extra cost brings the comfort of the Thomson service levels.

We arrived at the hotel and immediately saw we had been miss-sold to. Before our cases arrived in our room, my wife was in tears and went to see the Thomson rep asking for her to enquire as to early flights home – she offered to look for that Sunday, but never did. She also asked for us to be moved rooms as soon as a comparable room became available – again, something which despite chasing was never offered.

Our room, despite having been upgraded to a superior room, was very dated and run down. It was also a twin room, not a double room as we were promised. It looked like a 1980s cheap motel room. It was tiny – so small that we had to stand on the beds to allow two people to pass. The décor was very tired, the balcony overlooked a noisy pool and a concrete wall and the bath was so designed so that you could only see 12-18" of the bath, the rest (including the taps/plug) being hidden behind a wall. Useless to bath a 4 yr old and so difficult that my wife damaged her back out trying to reach to turn the taps on. Despite having a 4yr old, the room was a 10 minute walk to the restaurant/mini-club/children's pool etc – 15 minutes with a 4 yr old. There was a pool nearer, but it had a pool bar in the middle and thus was filled with drinkers shouting obscenities at each others. All this in a hotel thomson describe as a 'Platinum' hotel, and something that we paid over £2500 for, or over £300 per night.

On our requests:
• The Hotel is nowhere near a 4*, maybe a 2* at best (as collaborated by every other guest we spoke to). It was very clean, but the facilities and everything about it's operations were nothing like of the standard we requested. The food was always dry, tasteless and 90% of it didn't change from one day to the next. There were 1400 guests while we were there (so much for 'not too big'), so each meal time was like an army mess hall. The only option for children was Pizza, BeefBurgers (which didn't even look like anything like beef) and hotdogs. The drinks were all dire. The only wine available was from a tap and tasted quite obviously watered down. The beer was flat. All cocktails were pre-made and tasted of plastic and even the Gin & tonic was made with post-mix tonic, and flat. There was no mini-bar in our room (which we were promised) so when we had to go back to our room to allow our daughter to go to bed, I had a 20 minute round trip to go and get a drink from the bar.
• The beach was very nearby, however it is a shale beach, the sand is so coarse that you cannot walk on it without shoes – plus being dark sand (something we had challenged Thomson about) was so hot, it burnt feet even if you were brave enough. The hotel and even the Thomson rep said they advised people not to go onto the beach with small children
• The nearest bars were a 15 minute walk away (20-25 minutes with a 4yr old) and were burger and chips styles places. Plastic chairs/Irish bars/loud music/free entrance cocktails/etc.
• As for 'Brits Abroad', the first thing we saw was a group of shaven headed men, with tattoos, dive bombing into the pools, swearing across the pool. That was very typical of the standard of guests there. When one woman saw my wife in tears she just advised her to join everyone else and get "[--] P*ssed". The whole place gave the impression of catering for people who wanted to drink and eat as much as they could. Archetypical 'Brits Abroad'. We spoke to 6 or 7 others parties, mostly parents with young children at the Mini-Club, all thought the same. Every Thomson customer felt fully miss-sold and vowed never to travel with you again. Even the Italians and French we spoke to said the same thing.

We complained to the Thomson Rep less than an hour after arriving, and again an hour after that. We were promised information, early flight details, room move – nothing happened. We also asked for her to look at other options of accommodation for us to move to within the hotel – bearing in mind we hadn't even unpacked, or spent our first night there. Eventually, after 2 hours per day on the phone to the UK and the local Resort Duty Office, they offered to move us after over 4 days in the resort, but with less than 48 hours until we needed to start packing to head home, and a risk that a move could take 24 hours, it was a fruitless offer.

In the end, my wife spent most of the time in her room in tears and even our daughter stated she just wanted to go home, partly so she could eat some "proper food" - both her and my wife have lost weight due the scarcity of genuinely edible food, only the three feature restaurants were palatable, and even then, only just. My 4 yr old daughter lost 4lbs in weight whilst there so bad was the food.

Frustratingly, when we tackled the hotel manager on our last full day, he advised that had your rep spoken to him about our unhappiness (which she claimed she had), he would have moved us to wherever he needed to in the hotel to minimise our dissatisfaction.


To top it all off, we then had a 28 hour flight delay due to Thomson’s failures – nothing to do with the hotel, but just capped off what a dreadful experience it all was.

Thomson repeatedly stated they could do nothing whilst we were abroad, and that we would have to deal with everything on our return – Having now done so, Thomson are refusing to do anything saying that they can see nothing wrong. They won’t even compensate for the 18 hour flight delay caused through flying a plane that even one of their engineers stated shouldn’t really be flying.

To the hotel’s defence, the RiuLand children’s club is excellent, and the hotel is quite clean. But unless you are a member of the tattooed fraternity and rate you holiday purely on the volume of food and drink you can consume, this hotel is best avoided.

Regardless, if you are tempted to book through Thomson, don’t. Their service is non existent.

Our holiday is now in the hands of solicitors.

I am happy to speak/communicate with anyone who has any questions about this review.

gpchaplin@aol.com

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice place but that is what you expect from Riu and so far they have always delivered that standard the food cleanliness etc are all good would definitely go again beach just opposite and only a walk away to main shopping in Puerto del Carmen

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very disappointing trip in April/May so cold and very windy ~ take warm clothes just in case!

Hotel was nice but beds were not comfortable ~ even with the mattress topper which was added!

One big dining room which was a bit like a cafeteria and not always easy to get a seat at busy times.....food was nice.

Not sure if beach is used in high season but at this time of year is it just a huge expanse of sand with nothing on it.

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel if you don't want a long walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from 8th. - 15th. August. On arrival we were "instructed" to leave our cases in the centre of the reception area and go to the desk. Here we had to hand over our passports and have our "all-inclusive" bands fitted. We were then "instructed" to go to the restaurant to eat (hungry or not) and return to receive our room keys later. I guess this was the hotel's strategy for crowd management. Being British we complied with these instructions without argument. We eventually received our room keys and some vague instructions on where to locate our room. We followed the instructions but found the room numbers made no sense at all and went round and round in circles for a good 20 minutes trying to find our room. As we were over the bridge in the older part of the hotel there was no-one to ask and eventually another couple found our room and came back to tell us. By now we just wanted to unpack and sleep and hope the next day would be better.
The next day was better in that we found the quieter, smaller pool was at our side of the hotel. Thankfully this did not have the daily, family entertainment and "bingo" etc. that the other pool had. I agree with other reviews that you had to be up early to get a sunbed but I guess that's the norm in August. The pool towels system worked well and the towels were soft and fluffy (better than the room towels which were thin and scratchy). There was no atmosphere though - some nice laid back/chill out music would have been ideal at this pool, especially as the swim-up bar was there and it was mostly used by couples or quieter families.
Our room was OK but quite small and nothing special. It was spotlessly clean but we did have two very large cockroaches visit us during our stay. There was no tea/coffee making facility, no iron/ironing board and a very compact bath/shower arrangement and a tiny balcony with average white plastic table and chairs, but a decent drying rail. However, the air conditioning was excellent in the room and was also in the bathroom, which was a Godsend as we were in the middle of a heat wave.
The food was good. There was plenty of choice in the main restaurant and very nicely cooked and presented. However the tables were very close together with only a few inches between so not ideal and the dress code was a joke - it seems anything goes, even in the evening. We had wanted to try the themed restaurants but when we tried to book on the second day of our holiday we were told they were fully booked until 15th. August, the day of our departure. However, other guests had booked and found lots of spare seats available during their visit. The booking system seems flawed here. Very disappointing as we had heard good reports about the food in these restaurants.
There was entertainment in the evenings but this was fairly second rate and the theatre style set up didn't appeal to us, again, no atmosphere and worse in the bar area where, again, there was no music, and not enough seating, so some people ended up sitting on sunbeds to have a drink and there was little to watch except children running around and table games. This hotel is most definitely geared to families rather than couples.
Our last day was a nightmare. Our flight wasn't until 9.15 p.m. but we were told to vacate our room at 11.00 a.m. We had tried to book a late room and were told we would have to wait until the day before our departure to be told if this was possible. We eventually found out we were unable to have a late room as the hotel was so busy. We asked to stay until 1.00 p.m. but this was refused as they needed our room for guests arriving in the morning. Why? Surely they could operate a system where late arrivals could occupy rooms vacated by those leaving late and early arrivals could occupy rooms of those leaving early. They had computers for heavens sake - it isn't rocket science. The receptionist was patronising and unhelpful, constantly reminding me this was their busy time. It was the hottest day of the heat wave with temperatures rising to 40 degrees and we had to spend 8 hours trying to find somewhere cool before our departure. This was impossible as the air conditioning in the public areas was non-existent or inadequate. Our suitcases could be stored in a luggage room but there was no security arrangement in place and we were told that ultimately it was our responsibility so we could hardly go off to the pool to cool down and leave our luggage unsecured. The room was far too small for all the luggage, so many people had to leave their cases outside. We were offered a "Courtesy Room" to shower and change in for a half hour slot. We couldn't find out where it was until 5 minutes before and it turned out to be back in the other part of the hotel. This meant going back across the bridge in the full heat of the sun with our hand luggage. We were promised there would be clean towels and shower gel/shampoo etc. We couldn't find the room easily but when we did we were horrified. It was just 2 showers in a room with a soaking wet, dirty floor, a pile of dirty, used towels and no clean ones and nowhere to hang your clothes. It was an insult to be sent to such a place to "freshen up" before our long journey home! I had to go back to the lift to find a phone to ring reception for towels. They said they would send them as quickly as possible. They never arrived so I had to get dried on my husband's T-shirt, (which he had been wearing all day!) How humiliating to be treat like this. The room was so hot we felt worse than we had before we went in. Then we had to cart everything back over to reception in the full heat of the sun. We were quite stressed by then. I complained to the reception manager who apologised with an excuse that it was a very busy time. Quite frankly, that seemed to be the excuse for everything. My advice is don't go at peak times as the staff can't cope. The last day really spoilt our holiday, which had been OK but not 4*.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglinton, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Myself, hubby and two teens stayed at Riu Paraiso from 15th-22nd August and would highly recommend this hotel, we all loved it. I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and requested adjacent rooms in the main building as other reviews said it was quite a trek to the older side....May I just add this is nonsense....It's only a couple of mins walk.
On arrival (11pm), we were warmly met by the receptionist who told us a cold meal was waiting in the restaurant for us, a very welcome gesture after a long flight. The hotel had granted my wish of adjacent rooms but they were in the older section.
The hotel upholds high standards and is spotlessly clean everywhere. Not a cockcroach in sight during the week thankfully. The staff deserve a special mention as they were ALL so friendly and helpful.
The rooms were slightly dated in décor but the space and cleanliness more than made up for the décor. Each room has a fridge and reception supply bottled water for your use. The maid often adorned the beds with towels shaped into swans etc...a lovely touch. The bathroom was a decent size and there is plenty of wardrobe space with decent hangers.
The hotel swimming pools were spotless, they were cleaned every morning, one of them (in the older hotel) boasted a swim up bar!! The pool at the main section hosted the daily activities and was slightly noisier. Pool towels are provided, there are plenty of sun loungers and parasols.
Food glorious food,,,,Breakfast is served in the main restaurant from 8am-10.30am and is superb.
Fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, breads, freshly cooked pancakes, omelettes, cheeses, cold meats, bacon, sausage, fried and boiled eggs etc. Then on the terrace continental breakfast from until 11.30am. You could eat all day if you wanted as there are four restaurants and two snack restaurants within the complex plus unlimited drinks and cocktails....may I add that my kids were delighted to have proper branded soft drinks. Lunch and dinner offered an array of freshly cooked meats.. steak, pork, lamb etc which were cooked in front of you. There was a least one fish dish available plus paella, pasta, pizza, soup, salads and numerous vegetables. They even had freshly cooked mussels and prawns both of which were delicious. A chocolate fountain delighted all....crepes suzette, brandy cherries...deserts too numerous to mention. Overall the food choice was amazing
To keep the waist line from expanding a walk through the well tended gardens led to a secure back gate which led to the promenade. It,s quite a distance on foot to the old town and to be honest the beach is not very appealing with no sunbeds for hire. The resort itself isn't great but the hotel made up for this.
Entertainment was hit or miss. The acrobatic show was terrific.
During our stay there were mostly German guests at the hotel. The hotel is well suited for older couples or families with young children, not much for teens to do.
Really enjoyed our stay here, well rested and well fed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the hotel and found this to be nice and peaceful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza 4 | Puerto del Carmen - Lanzarote, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.