We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotlessly clean hotel, friendly staff, excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Suiza 4 | Puerto del Carmen - Lanzarote, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
tyne and wear
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“spotlessly clean hotel, friendly staff, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

just back from our first all inclusive holday. the riu paraiso was very good. the hotel is huge but dont let that put you off, its right next to the beach, in between matagorda and puerto del carmen. from the moment you get there the staff are pleasant and helpful. the rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. hotel over 3 floors with adequate lifts. we used the pool area nearest the main reception - heated adults and childrens areas, plenty of sunbeds and despite there being numerous germans there was no need to be up at the crack of dawn to stake a claim on them! gardens and surrounding area were kept pristine really couldnt fault the hotel on that front. the hotel is situated about 5-10 mins walk from puerto del carmen and about 15- 20 mins from matagorda its all on the level and suitable for people in wheelchairs/walking frames. beautiful coastline, and again, spotless.
food in the various restaurants - main,asian and mexican/canarian all cooked fresh and to a high standard. for all but the main restaurant you have to book ahead(2 sittings 6.15pm- 8.15pm)
buffet bars were all well stocked during the day with pasta/burgers/hot dogs/pizzas/chips/salad and fresh fruit/ice cream etc if you are so inclined, you could literally stuff your face from morning till night and have no complaints (unless you are a serial whinger,like some on here seem to be!)
would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, was disappointed to be be coming home. the entertainment staff work their backside off to make everyone, young and old have a good time, some of the "professional" acts however would get paid off in any working mans club! boney m and abba have had their day i think!
i would have given the paraiso 5 stars accept for one or two little niggles(and in no way let it put you off)
plenty of choice of drink both alcoholic and non alcoholic available - however none of a brand you have heard of and we couldnt find anything particularly that you would want to indulge in a lot of.
the block we were staying in the hotel - the walls were paper thin and you could almost join in next doors conversation.
the gymnasium- is a joke with half the equipment not working and no free weights.
admittedly, minor niggles, however if rectified i would definitely give this top marks, on the whole, a very well ran hotel, enjoy people! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    711
    264
    48
    40
See reviews for
531
1,076
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week at Rui Paraiso, weather was fantastic except for 1 slightly overcast day, room we had was over other side of wooden walkway which at first felt like a long slog but found quicker routes back to main hotel via the pool area. Seems a bit of a waste as unused part of hotel was really nice and would benefit a bar of its own, we did have a pool bar in our side of hotel during the day which was nice as pool was heated. Plenty of sunbeds as it was quiet but some people still felt the need to lay towels at 6am, my neighbours for example.
Food was really good but very repetitive and boring, fish, meat, pork, odd bit of chicken, 2 themed restaurants Asian & Mexican which you can go to once which was a nice break from norm. Staff were really helpful and efficient, always happy to help. Entertainment was ok, good for kids but that's about it..
Disco bar open til 2am for more drink which was quite good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here as a family over New Year. Our room was located across the 'dreaded' bridge in the quieter half of this hotel... and that suited us just fine! Our room (1128) faced out to the best pool and best suntrap on site, 'our' bar and snack counter were more than adequate during the daytime, and it was peaceful and quiet at night...if you want busy and noisy with it all going on around you don't stay in this part! It was no problem whatsoever to make the 5 minute stroll to the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner.
We were struck by the friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff from the maids to the waiters and even to the management who were on hand and approachable every day...even helping out in the restaurant.
The food was plentiful and good, bearing in mind that many nationalities stay here so not all dishes would be familiar to, or enjoyed by, all. The draught beer and wines were OK, the Cava was great, although none of the alcoholic drinks were branded. The Gala New Year's Eve dinner was truly a banquet.
The pools could have been a touch warmer, the coffee a bit stronger, the towels a touch thicker, but that's nitpicking. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our party of 6 (my wife and I and our four kids aged between 7 and 16) have just returned from a fabulous 10 day break at the Paraiso. The hotel was decorated festively and the atmosphere was very warm, friendly and welcoming at all times throughout our stay. Our rooms were in the new part of the hotel and had fabulous sea views. The cleaners made an excellent job daily. The food is of good quality but as other people have stated it is repetitive but that said the choice is varied. There are soft drinks, cocktails (for kids and adults), hot drinks, lager, spirits and wine available from breakfast onwards. There are six clean pools which have nice views and lovely surroundings. The animacion team are great with the kids and adults. If you make an effort to get involved in the activities they will make you feel special but not in a weird way. I wish we had got involved in the activities earlier on. The team go that extra mile to make sure you are having fun, there is great chemistry between them and with the guests . I must thank the highly talented Martin, Sol, the two Alex's, Karim, Joana and Pepi for the excellent entertainment and for keeping us all in stitches throughout the holiday. I am quite picky and could not complain about anything. The best part was there were no chavs! The hotel is located in a nice quiet spot but we didn't need to venture out as there was always something to do. I will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed one week 6th-13th Jan 2013. It was not long enougth, I am normally ready to come home after a week, but easily stayed anoyher week or two.
Where do I start !
Hotel, a large complex, beautifully maintained inside & out, clean, and all the facilities you would expect from a 4 star. 10/10
Staff, Helpfull, friendly, nothing is too much for them, well presented and always greet you with a smile. 10/10
Management, always walking around and say hello to everyone, I was asked twice that everything was ok 10/10
Food, a great choice, always fresh, different menu every day 10/10
Rooms, we had a bungalow, large, spotlessly clean, maid service every day 10/10
Entertainment Team, worked hard to keep you entertained, loads of daytime activities to join in with, very friendly guys. Daytime entertainment 5/5 Evening entertainment 4/5 (not quite my thing but my partner loved it) Overall 9/10
Location, ten mins from airport, ten-fifteen min stroll to puerto del carmen, which is lovely 10/10
In short, a fantastic holiday, made special by Club Hotel Riu Paraiso, and the team that work within its walls. BRILLIANT !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from 3rd jan 2013 till 10th jan and all I can say is perfection.

We are a family of Grandma, grandad, mam, dad and two children aged 4&2.

Where do I start??..,.. The only place is the Childrens Entertainment. The staff, especially Martaan were amazing, they did everything they could to ensure the children had a great time, my 4 year old Ben would agree, he had the best holiday ever.. Thank you to all the Riuland staff, you all made Our holiday perfect.

Brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just arrived back from a fabulous week at the Paraiso. This hotel was an excellent choice , This hotel is very well run and managed throughout. The standards of cleanliness are very high. This hotel has excellent facilities. Food is very good, plentiful, fresh and hot.
Staff throughout this hotel are cheerful, polite and attentive. Excellent entertainment and activities day and night, as well as choices of being part of the events.
This hotel is situated on the promenade and has views of the sea, a lovely walk along the water front to matagorda and puerto del carmen.
The pool was heated and grea,t my daughter was in there for at least half the day.
Towels are provided as well as safe and fridge withouit any extra charges.

We will definatley be returning next new year time, weather was great, cool at night but hotel has patio heaters which are on and checked by staff.

It was my daughters birthday whilst there and the hotel gave her a necklace for her birthday, this was a lovely jesture and very much appreciated.

A special mention must be made to the cleaners, the entire hotel and especially room service is excellent.
Thanks Riu x

Room Tip: all rooms appear good, no noises, all with different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza 4 | Puerto del Carmen - Lanzarote, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.