We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Suiza 4, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halmstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one week 16 to 23 March and it was a great experience with entertainment, good food, good service and clean rooms.
Slightly noisy in the dining room sometimes but it it is not easy to avoid with so a lot
of people, some took their meals and went out of the restaurant outside, where it was
quiet.
The only problem that we discovered was that our travel companion who lived in a
room that was located overlooking the entrance on the ground floor had problems with mosquitoes, they get 20-30 mosquito bites each in two days after complaining so they put in an electro / chemical mosquito killer, then the mosquitos disappeared.
Otherwise an excellent stay

Room Tip: Avoid the entrance side if it is possible, there are certainly another room with a mosquitos there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    774
    293
    59
    45
See reviews for
562
1,183
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just back from a week at this lovely hotel and had a fantastic time. The weather was lovely and hot in the day and as it was March a bit chilly at night. We had gone to celerbrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary and emailed a week before to request a room with a seaview in the Palace side of the hotel. We knew this was the quieter side as we had stayed there before and liked it. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite with a seaview which was fantastic and a bottle of Champagne awaited us in the room(Thankyou) The staff at this hotel are amazing they all work tirelessly to ensure your holiday is an enjoyable one and I would like to thank them all for that. The food quality was excellent and there was a very large selection and variety of it for every mealtime and was always well presented. What we liked about the restaurants were the sit anywhere policy which meant you were able to speak to a variety of nationalities. Do try the Mexican/Canarian and Asian restaurants booked at reception they are well worth a try. The hotel as ever was spotlessly clean and was continuously cleaned during the day. We would not hestitate to recommend this hotel for families, couples and those who appreciate a choice of a quieter hotel/Palace side combined with a busier hotel of the main pool and bar area. The animation team worked very hard too ensure guests had a good time and they provided most of the evening entertainment well done! Just like to say thank again to all the staff at the Riu Paraiso for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter part of the hotel choose the Palace side, however it is a bit of walk to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Me and my wife have just returned from here with our 8 month old daughter and what a delightful time we had.

The hotel was clean, our room was upgraded on arrival which pleased us and the staff could not have done more to accommodate us, always going out of their way to make us feel very welcome especially towards our daughter. We found we could have always find a sun bed by the pool, regardless of the usual suspects reserving the best spots. We found the smaller pool by the snack bar to be better and less crowded. As for distance to areas we was based in the centre of the complex and didn't find that a problem. Certainly not as excessive as some have made out on here.

The food was always nice, there was a variety but after 10 days it did get repetitive. The themed restaurants were also good, however found the mexican one to not be very mexican! The asian restaurant was our favourite and booked that one twice. Our one gripe was the attitude from certain guests to us eating with our daughter but that isn't the hotels fault.

If you looked really hard I'm sure you could find faults but from my families point of view it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second time from March 17th - March 24th and once again this hotel lived up to all expectations.

We travelled with Monarch and despite a couple of hours delay on the way out, everything throughout the holiday was very smooth.

The Paraiso could not have made our holiday any better, We were actually allocated a room right on the other side of the hotel - and I mean on the other side of the hotel, however, we have been there before and knew our way around very well so we were not bothered at all, however reception took it upon themselves and ask if we wanted to move the next day so we said yes and we were moved to the most beautiful room so thank you Riu !!

Everything was fantastic, and again I always say that if you do not expect Carribean/USA standards in Europe then you will be in for a pleasent surprise. The food and drink was all very very good especially the Asian and there was always enough choice no matter what time of day - again, we always say a little imagination goes a long way.

The hotel was spotless again and all the staff at the Paraiso are a credit to this hotel and after travelling to a few Riu's now, we think the Paraiso is a credit to the Riu group.

Just incase you were wondering, the weather was amazing, wall to wall sunshine for 90% of the week, but the evenings can get a little chilly so in March i would recomend taking a jumper.

The hotel is close to bars and supermarkets so nothing is far to walk to.

Another great hotel, another fantastic holiday - Thank You Riu !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block if you want to be close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was our fourth visit to this hotel and overall our experience was as good as previous visits. The hotel is very large, basically two hotels joined together. The dining room, bar and entertaiment theatre is located in one area of one of the hotels. The general facilities are very good and the look and feel of the hotel is very pleasing. The food is generaly very good although the restaurant can get very busy and this can sometimes spoil the dining experience. The bar area and theatre can also get very crowded during busy periods and again this can spoil the experience. Perhaps further facilites would help ease the crowding during these times. The staff are very good and are keen to create a clean and pleasant environment.

Room Tip: The less mobile should ask for a room at the reception end of the hotel, otherwise there will be lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a weeks stay at the Paraiso first week in March 2012. Weather was on average 20 degrees, but noticable breeze on a couple of days, which Lanzarote is known for, but came back with good tan.

Hotel is excellent, and we could not find fault with the staff, whether being on Reception, Room Cleaners, Restaurant Staff, etc. they are all very polite and attentive to your needs.

Rooms are plentiful in size, with twin beds (all rooms have these), air conditioning, big bathroom, with twin sinks, shower/ bath and toilet. All rooms above first floor, have balconies.

There are two swimming pools to the hotel, with one being the quiet pool and the other where all the daily entertainment happens. Pools are fresh water and very clean, and spilt into two, with one being warm (25 degrees) and the other cooler (18 degrees), you will see which is which by the bodies in them ;0) The sun beds are plentiful and there is no need to rush and bagsy your beds. Towels are available for pick up by the pools and can be exchanged for fresh ones the following day. Showers and changing cubicles are available next to both pools to save a visit back to the room.

In addition to the pools, there are pool tables (2nr), air hockey, table tennis, tennis courts (2nr), indoor gym, spa/ sauna.

The daily entertainment is ok, and you are not hassled into taking part, with Football, Volleyball, Tennis, Shooting, Water Polo, Aqua Aerobics, etc. The evening shows put on by the staff are enjoyable and entertaining, with invited acts two nights of the week. They begin at 9.15 pm and seats are occupied early in the Theatre Room, so bare in mind. There is a timetable for the weeks events positioned outside the main dining hall.

The Food is very good and plentiful with Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Meal served on a Buffet Style Service. The service to have you seated and clean your plates between sittings is first class. There are also three themed restaurants, which you need to book a night in advance, and these are Mexican, Asian and Canarian.

Being all inclusive the drink is also free, and there is a good selection, with soft drinks (fanta, diet coke, sprite, fruit juices and sparkling water), wines are (white, red and rose), with Cruzcampo beer on draft (you pour your own). and the main bar serves spirts and cocktails, with servings from 10.30 am till 12.00 pm.

Other perks that the Hotel has are, the availability of bottled water from the main reception, just ask. curtosy room for showering/ change if on later flight, but remember to book room as only on 30 min slots.

Note - Evenings in March got cold with the winds, so always best to have some warm clothing (sweater, jacket, etc.).

Transfer from Airport to the Hotel is 10-15 mins.

First time at stay at a Riu and from this experience it will not be the last.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with your initial room, please note that the Reception Staff will do there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Firstly I'll get the good parts out of the way.The hotel grounds are immaculate, the rooms spacious and clean.plenty of sun beds…That's where it stops I'm afraid.The swimming pools are nearly always empty because there as cold as the north sea.Dotted around the hotel are 5 cats,we couldnt work out why until we saw 1 chasing a rat and smacking it on the bum with its paw,which my 4 year old daughter found highly amusing.still on the subject of wildlife,my daughter had never seen a cockroach until this week...3 times and we had a nightmare with Mosquitos,18 kills in the room in 6 nights.The rep told another guy it's because of the change in season and they wernt here last week.thats a lie they were!
Onto the food and drink.everything is Luke warm.The show cooking is laughable as the chefs cremated the fish and beef(stewing steak)but cooked the chicken kebabs on Friday night Rare.This is unacceptable.The muscles on show cook last night had been boiled for at least 30 minutes,2-3 would've done.The beer,cruzcampo is barely drinkable and spirits of a very low quality,but no alternative even if you wanted to pay for it was available,still think its 4 star?.The "fruit juice" isnt fruit,its watered down fruit squash,sugar water basically.Coffee is very low grade soluble rubbish with barely any flavour,even the espresso is weak.The hotel is 80% German between the age of 50-80,and are very rude to say the least.if your British and taking your young family choose a different hotel.As I paid £1500 for me my mrs and daughter I feel very let down and feel like the victim of an all inclusive daylight robbery.On the plus side the hotel is close to the beach and a 15 minute walk from the main town if you make the mistake of booking this hotel and need to get away.1 last thing,I was awake at 6 in the morning and fancied a coffee,I walked down to find the machines switched off,I asked the guy on reception if there was a machine I could use "No"…er can I have a tea bag then my mrs has got a small travel kettle "NO"…erm ok thanks mate :-( Thaks Riu,I'm going to have to fork out for another holiday to make up for the 1 your company didn't give us.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Address: Suiza 4, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.