We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HPB meal out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Bistro Restaurant

The Island Bistro Restaurant
C/teide number 4, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
34608673226
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“HPB meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Twelve friends from The Holiday Property Bond in Costa Teguise visited The Island Bistro on Tuesday !5th Oct.The menu was comprehensive with three courses at 12.25euros a head.
Both the food and service was excellent and we can highly recomend them.It was well worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    21
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem and a joy to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are regular visitors to Puerto del Carmen and on our most recent visit we were introduced to this little gem by friends. We were pleasantly surprised when we first walked in to see that Fernando and Maria, who we previously knew in the Montmartre restaurant, were running the show in the Island Bistro.

We ate at the Island Bistro three times during our recent visit and have no hesitation in awarding the restaurant top marks in every category – quality of the food, value for money, quality of service, ambiance.

The Island Bistro will be our first port of call when we are next in Puerto del Carmen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful quality food and a warm friendly service - Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We holiday in Lanzarote at least once a year and we always know where we are going to eat, but as we walked up to our usual places we saw a new restaurant that we had not seen before. We looked at the menu and thought it looked good but at 12.25 euros we thought it cant be any good for that price!! When we called for a drink I where they had wifi I checked tripadvisor and saw that the few reviews they had were all very good so we decided to give it a try!

We were so pleased that we did! Fernando the owner and his lovely team were very welcoming, and the place is very nicely presented. We had lovely starters of three cheeses with three different sauces, and liver pate. My husband always likes to try different things and on the first night he had the rabbit in mustard sauce and I had chicken stroganoff, both were delicious and my husband said the rabbit had been cooked beautifully. I had chocolate pancakes to finish and my husband had profiteroles again both lovely, and all for 12.25 each which we felt was too cheap for the quality of the food but we weren't complaining!!! To top it off we were offered a free drink on the house which was a lovely touch. The wine was 11 euro so altogether a very reasonably priced meal. The presentation was beautiful and all the different dishes seemed to have there own style of plate, another nice touch. The meal was very relaxed and we were in there about 2 hours and we didn't feel rushed.

Because we had such a lovely meal we went there twice more during our stay, between us we sampled the starters of tagliatelle, onion soup and mediterranean salad, mains of pork in pepper & orange sauce (my favorite!!), calves liver & bacon (my husband said this was the best he had tasted in a long time, cooked pink just as he likes it and lots of it!!!) and prawns in special bistro sauce. Even the potatoes and veg that you get with the meals were very good quality, and puddings of profiteroles and creme caramel. Yummy!!

They also stay open to 11pm so don't worry if you turn up late they will accommodate you. It is more typically Spanish in that respect as it stays open later than a lot of the other restaurants and the meal is leisurely and relaxed.

As for the reviewer that says there are 5 or 6 super restaurants in Calle Teide and this is not one of them, I agree that there are some super restaurants there and we have eaten at them all. But sometimes I think people think the food is better than it is because they are paying top prices, for example we ate at one of the Bistro's that is in the top 5 on tripadvisor on this trip and my husband ordered lamb cutlets (an expensive cut of meat) and he was told it comes medium is that ok, which it was, but when it came there was no pink in site and he paid 22 euros for it and they destroyed the meat and my sea bass had so much lemon grass in it I could hardly eat it. This restaurant if you look at the menu uses cheaper cuts of meat and in our opinion cooks them very well, that's how he can do the menu for 12.25. Cheap doesnt mean poor quality you just have to be a good chef to use cheaper cuts and make the dishes enjoyable. Just our opinion but please dont compare this restaurant to anothers where you are getting fillet steak and paying 20 euros for just your main.

I know I am singing the praises of this restaurant but we really couldn't believe that the food was such good quality at such reasonable prices! There are restaurants in Lanzarote charging three times the price of this restaurant and the food is not as good. I am not sure that the next time we go to Lanzarote that the price will be the same and as another reviewer said "get it while you can!!"!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“New Kid on the Block”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a new restaurant near the harbour. Hence it's very popular. Food nice, very clean, Staff attentive. Red wine served very warm. Is this really an excuse if the outside temp is 30 Degs? Very reasonable prices for the Harbour area €12.75 - 3 course. You can get good 3 course set meals from €5.99 on the Strip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Super Food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks in PDC staying at the Aquarius Apts in the old town. Just down the hill is a new restaurant called the Island Bistro. A few years ago it used to be the Victoria pub. It is now run by Fernando and the menu offers a good selection of 12 starters and 12 main courses plus about 6 sweets for just over 12 euros. You can have as many courses as you like priced individually or all 3 for 12.25.
We ate there 3 times during our holiday and enjoyed all the food we had, selecting something different each time as there was so much we wanted to choose. It is all well presented and very tasty. The portions are generous and the service is very good. They take pride in cooking, presenting and ensuring customer satisfaction and we certainly had 3 enjoyable evenings at the Island Bistro.

Thank you Fernando and the team and we look forward to seeing you in January.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Bistro Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to The Island Bistro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Bistro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.