We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Izaro Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Izaro Club Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Salinas 9, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What do we think of Izaro Club Hotel? � Absolutely SUPERB. To arrive to a very smart, clean Hotel was a great weight off our minds. Even better was to be greeted by the ever- friendly and humorous Luiz.
The staff are the jewels of the crown � but indeed what a fine crown they have! The complex is spotless and meticulously maintained. The attention to detail is amazing. Some may say they have been trying too hard. However the pride in their complex is obvious and we felt lucky to be there at such a reasonable price. They cleaned the rooms every day (unheard of at this level of price \ accommodation). They even cleaned every sun bed and would personally put the cushions on every bed after wiping of the condensation. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble. It was 5 star service, with the difference being that you weren�t paying 5 star prices and they didn�t have to go as far as they did to make your stay so good, but the WANTED to � and that�s what made it miles better than ANY 5 star hotel that I�ve ever stayed at. The hotel and the staff were so much better than one would expect � they weren�t being paid to �offer� the service, it was above and beyond what you could dream of.
The only �average� we encountered was with the restaurant. However we accept that the hotel has to cater for the majority and we suspect the majority wanted plain and simple (un-seasoned) meat and veg. The fruits salads and breads were spot on, the desserts were okay too. They even offered cheese and biscuits. We only tried the cooking for one meal, so it is hard to form an qualified opinion. Put it like this; we know that they are phasing out self-catering and introducing Half Board. We would be prepared to pay the extra to be able to stay at the Izaro, whether or not we ate there every night.
The rooms very fantastic; they were clean, tidy, modern and ours was spacious. Our friends who came to visit were jealous of everything about the Izaro, particularly our apartment.
The pool was lovely and warm (relatively unheard of in January), the facilities were wheelchair friendly, including the pool. They had dedicated staff to entertain the kids and the young at heart adults (if you wanted it).
We found the location of the Izaro excellent for the harbour area, which we preferred to the main seafront bars of Puerto Del Carmen. The restaurants were lovely there and we spent most of our evenings sampling the different bars and restaurants there. But if we wanted to go to the bars along the �strip�, a 3 Euro taxi ride was all that was required, which made it very accessible. As for the hill; you should try Madeira � now there are real hills there!!! Yes, pensioners might struggle, but the abundance of affordable taxis makes the issue irrelevant.
My wife and I agree that this has been the finest holiday that we�ve had in Europe (& Canaries). Just the hotel alone would have put it above the others, but the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and management put them out of sight of the competition. You�d be mad to not consider the Izaro and you want to be assured a brilliant holiday experience.

Room Tip: Not saying - in case someone's got the room we want when we go back ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidelizaci0n, Responsable de Fidelización at Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience on tripadvisor, about your recent stay with us at the Izaro Club Hotel. We are really pleased that you and your wife had such a wonderful holiday. We value your extremely positive comments regarding the high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail. The management and staff team aim to provide the best possible service for our guests and we are delighted that you found our team to be friendly and professional and contributed to your brilliant holiday experience. I will pass on your compliments to our staff team and specially to Luis, and I know that they will appreciate your positive comments too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Izaro Club Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Marian Cabrera
Guest loyalty responsible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    89
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
191
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the Izaro Club Hotel over New Year. (Party of 4). The Hotel room was very modern clean and spacious and was also kitted out with a Kettle, Toaster, Microwave etc. The complex itself is lovely, clean and modern and a short stroll takes you into the town. I travel abroad about 3 times per year and in all my travel experiences I have never met staff as friendly, cheerful and helpful as those in the Izaro Club.
Towels can be rented on a deposit basis as can the safe.I have read in the reviews about the steep Hill and to be honest I didnt encounter it and couldnt find it.This Hotel is situated in a prime location with a lovely big pool and kiddies pool. The sunbeds are cushioned so no sore backs.The pool maintenance person cleans all day long around the pool area. Therefore no overflowing pool bins or no dirt to be seen whatsoever.If you are looking for a relaxing holiday stay here as the complex is quiet and peaceful.

I recently booked again for 2 weeks in July.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level get the Sun all Day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

All the reviews about this hotel are true. Great staff, apartment, food and service. The only problem was the access. This hotel is on three levels. Level one is reception, bar and restaurant. Level two consists of apartments. Level three has the pools more apartments. We had a great apartment by the pool. Between level 1 & 2 is a platform wheelchair lift. Looked new but Not working. When I asked they said they were waiting for a safety certificate!! Between level two and three there is a lift Not Working. When I asked about this they said they were waiting for repairs!! The alternative was two 30 meter ramps of about 1 in 4. We were exhausted pushing my wife in her wheelchair up these two ramps tww or three times a day. I checked with Thomson when I booked and was told there were lifts to the upper levels, well there was but not a lot of use if out of action. The area is no good for wheelchairs which we knew but as we had hired a car this was not a problem. A really good hotel spoilt with purly ornimental facilities. By the way the wi-fi is also mostly for show, it takes forever to log on and it would be quicker to write a letter than send an email.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Izaro in November, The rooms were clean and recently refurbished. The hotel is at top of a hill above the old town, and a 15 minute stroll to the main strip. We only used the self catering facilities in the hotel, 2 local supermarkets close by.

Staff were friendly and helpful,

Booked again! See you soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The only downside is two single beds rather than double beds. Food is not bad but you can find better food outside. Staff are really helpful. Room service is ok but dorsn't happen all the time.

All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 12 nights from Dec 19th. Had booked a 2 bedroom wasn't ready for the first night so they gave us 2 x 1 bedrooms beside each other for 1 night with complimentary breakfast and dinner for the inconvenience. The apartments are lovely, very modern and spotlessly clean , and very spacious, huge balcony ,cleaner called every day , beds were changed twice while we were there. We stayed in apt 527 , 1 twin room, and the other room had a king sized bed with balcony, lightweight quilts on beds which are very comfortable. All the 5's are up a good few steps so if you had children an a buggy I'd suggest you stay on a lower floor. Although these apts get the sun all day .Washing machine an dryer at the front of complex are E4.00 each bring your own washing powder or liquid. The clothes line is tiny . Towels can be rented E10 deposit ,and .50c each time u change them. I brought my own t towel ,scourers and j cloth. TV has only 2 English channels cnbc and bbc world news ,you can change audio settings if you ask them to explain it. Basic pool bar food which is made fresh and very nice,buffet breakfast is E7.50 in the restaurant and there's a good selection. I know people say you can get breakfast elsewhere for E2/3.00 but sometimes with extras and tea and coffee it does add up. Dinner in restaurant is E14.00 it is okish but you can get better selection and value elsewhere.we didn't use the bar or entertainment so can't comment on them. Hillwise it does get a bit wearying carrying anything heavy back up but I managed to totter up an down in high heels at night. on our first day we shopped in the spar in the biosphere and got a taxi back up E2.30 for four of us. Taxis are very cheap to go anywhere in and it's about 20 mins stroll to the start of the strip. Oh, showers were great constant pressure and endless hot water.
Safe is E15.50 pw plus E10.00 deposit. Gorgeous complex would definitely go back. El burro around the corner does takeaway and is a lovely restaurant , would also recommend Montana tropical ( which is around the corner from the flora apts )for highlander too and the crafty cow . End of long-windedly review , hope it helps

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed over new year. Apartments said to have been refurbished but our furniture looked as though it had just had a cover of paint. Bathroom new and new beds. Our double wardrobe only had one door don't know if they were all the same. Some apartments had different furniture in them to ours and this did look new. Apartments were cold in the evening, asked about heating but could not understand if they wanted 30 euros for payment or just to hire the control for the week so in the end we did not bother. Heard other people complaining how cold it was at night and also heard about the over bookings from people and we talked to the chap from Scotland who has written on trip about this. The apartments were well equipped but only saw the maid five days not seven and the floors were never cleaned just a change of towels, empty bins and a quick wipe round the bathroom sink. Would go again but self catering not half board. The food was ok but only lukewarm,got the turkey and beef for two days after New Year's Eve meal,it was served in a couple of different ways. They need a bit more organisation with the staff, but all the staff were lovely and pleasant and very helpful. Although it may seem as though we are moaning we are not we are just stating facts. I know this is the first season since refurbishment so hopefully things will improve, as they are only little niggles that need seeing to. It is a lovely complex and the walk up the hill is not as bad as people make out. It was always neat and tidy round the pool and the grounds. The girl in reception (I don't know her name) was really nice and always seemed to want to have a chat.well that's it from us and yes we did enjoy our holiday very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Izaro Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Izaro Club Hotel

Address: Calle Salinas 9, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Izaro Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel was renovated in 2013, the village-style apartment complex with its white-washed architecture, is situated in the south of Lanzarote in the town of Puerto Del Carmen. Gloria Izaro Club Hotel is one of our smaller owned hotels; nevertheless it has astonishing sea views, top quality buffet and plenty of facilities to suit your needs. All of your dreams are within reach as there is an efficient 24 hour taxi service at reception or you could choose to use the public bus stop which is 300 meters away. The closest beach is Playa Chica which is 800 meters away. The closest shopping centre is Biosfera which is 800 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Izaro Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Izaro Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.