We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Bar

The Island Bar
Calle Tenerife | Old Town, Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lanzarote's best Live Music Bar! Home of Rory Gallagher ("Jimmy's Winning Matches", ex frontman of The Revs).Est March 2013 by Rory from Donegal,Ireland and his wife Cara from Edinburgh,Scotland. Open 6 nights a week from 8pm,(we may open early for major sports). Closed Thussdays. DIRECTIONS: 3 min walk downhill from the big Biosfera shopping centre in old Town, Puerto del Carmen, just past the chemist, next door to Da Vinci's restaurant, beside Scotch Corner bar. See you there! RORY & THE ISLAND.
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great wee pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great wee bar pity it was closing when we were there but I believe he is opening a bigger new bar down the street from it next Monday overall great pub !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    8
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Music with a Fantastic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is by far one of the best bars in Carmen, great value for money with a lively atmosphere. Make sure you get in there early to get a seat!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Can say much more than if you don't go to this bar you are missing out.. Great few night in it Rory is brilliant on stage and you have to wait for jimmy class!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been going to Lanza for over 10 years and have followed Rory since I first came across him about 5 years ago. Great to hear that Rory and his lovely wife Cara have gone for it and opened their own bar. The music is fantastic with a blend of Rory's own and the popular covers that we all love on holiday. I am delighted to hear that he has released a cover of Galway shawl and he has given it his usual magical twist. Rory has a unique gift of entertaining all age groups. He makes my holiday and is one of the many reasons I continue to winter in PDC.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best bar on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

If you go to Lanzarote and don't visit The Island Bar you should be keel hauled , it has to be one of the best nights crack ever (crack been the Irish for great laugh) The staff are pleasant and Rory Gallagher the main star can hold a crowd like no other. I know I'll be back :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Bar also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to The Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.