We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best in the area"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nautilus Lanzarote to your Saves list
Nautilus Lanzarote
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Gramillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Best in the area"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Recently returned from a 9 night stay at the Nautilus with our Granddaughter aged 5.
We love the area of Matagorda and have travelled there on numerous occasions over the years, having stayed in a variety of accommodations. I can honestly say that from my experience the Nautilus is the best self catering accommodation we have found in the area. We have stayed at the Nautilus on many occasions previously, only staying elsewhere when they have been full and unable to accommodate us. As we were taking our Granddaughter, who had just recovered from serious illness we wanted the best and only the Nautilus was going to be considered.
We requested a poolside apartment with a bath but due to the fact that this combination doesn't exist, on arrival, we were given the choice of either poolside or a lovely apartment which had a bath, both had been reserved for us to choose from (great service). We decided on the poolside location and stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom apartment just perfectly positioned by the children's pool. The apartment was well equipped for self catering (much better than others we have used in the area) and spotlessly clean. The service was second to none with the towels changed 3 times a week, bedding changed every week with the apartment being swept, tidied and beds made every day except Sunday.
The complex is quiet and peaceful and well positioned for the amenities in the area. It has a small supermarket on site and caters very well for people with disabilities.
The reception staff are lovely and really go out of there way to help you, a fact borne out when out Granddaughter became ill and we needed to take her to the local hospital. The reception staff advised us and made all the necessary arrangements for getting to and from the hospital and then being able to pick up the medication from a pharmacy later on following treatment.
The area of Matagorda is quiet but has everything needed for a nice relaxing holiday including local supermarket, restraunts and bars and a few shops. The more lively area of Puerto del Carmen is a 60 minute stroll or 10 minute taxi ride away.
Over the past few years we have tried most of the local restraunts and feel that the Sirocco and La Brisa are both good quality and excellent value. The Sirocco does get very busy at lunch time so be prepared to sometimes be patient when waiting for service however the people who work there work very hard and are usually on the ball.
We had need for a pharmacy for "over the counter medication" and used the one a short distance towards the Los Jameos. Be aware that this is a Herbal Pharmacy. We were not aware of this and paid top price for anti-histamine medication we felt was not effective. If Herbal is your preference fine, just not for us.
We will definitely be returning to the Nautilus and feel that it is a home from home and would definitely recommend to people travelling to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Family,
Thank you very much for your nice words about Nautilus Lanzarote, the staff is flattered for your positive opinion, and I am sure that other users as well will find your feedback very useful.

We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just wished that your little girl hadn’t fallen ill… I have to say that we are in love with her and we hope that she feels better now.

We would like to thank you once more for having chosen us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon – for sure with you beautiful little Granddaughter .
Kindest regards
Nautilus Team –
Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    84
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
159
157
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arrived home on 19th March 2013. Returning to the Nautilus is like walking into a BIG WARM HUG.
Thank you for allocating another well positionrd bungalow. You really do acknowledge guests requests. Once again reception and cleaning staff superb. Thank you for arranging the "SUN HALO" to appear during our stay, it was a very special touch. Looking forward to see what you can possibly improve on when we return later in the year. "maybe at least one English Terrestial T.V Chanel ?
Once again the whole complex was spotless, all staff very friendly and helpful. The highest commendation we could give is that this is the only hotel we have ever returned to durng 30 years of extensive travel.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place.

Thanks again Nautilus. Well Done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your warm words which we received as a BIG WARM HUG to us!

As per T.V. channels please for the moment it’s the best which we can offer to our clients. We understand that it’s not “like at home” but the satellite permit just this channels.
As you know you have the UBS input on the TV so you can bring over your favourite films.

For your next stay with us please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will do our best to meet any queries you might have.
Thanks again for choosing us once more!
We send you our warmest greetings.
Nautilus Lanzarote Team.
Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After three months at Nautilus from December 2012 to March 2013, we have most probably found our favorite hotel at Lanzarote. We are seniors who flee the Norwegian winter and what we are looking for, in addition to a warm climate and a reasonable price, is a nice and comfortable apartment in a quiet area, close to the sea and with surroundings suited for walking and cycling. Nautilus has all these qualities and some more. From the beginning of our stay, we got the feeling of being seen and treated as individuals. The manager and her team have a human touch that really contributed to our well being. The atmosphere in the hotel is warm and friendly. We met quite a few other guests who stayed long term.
The reception building has a clean, bright, modern design. It also contains a lounge/breakfast area, a small grocery store, rooms for massage, and a rather big collection of art. The apartments have a similar style, practical and nice furnished, a rather well equipped kitchen (we were happy for the oven, but missed a better frying pan), nice bathroom and a small, but comfortable bedroom. The cleaning was fine and our practical needs were met. We appreciated the environmental profile and the art collection, which is spread all over the area, indoor and outdoor. Each bungalow has a painting in the living room – some decorative, others rather dark and craving. Our apartment had a large terrace with a beautiful view. The only thing that felt frustrating was the poor and unstable Internet connection.
Nautilus is situated in Matagorda, a quiet area with hotels (most bungalows), a small shopping center and a few restaurants and shops along the beach promenade. It goes far in both directions and is ideal both for walking and cycling, and in this area there is no road next to the promenade. Between the hotel and the sea is a nice open area with palm trees, and on the west side another planted with cactus. Within ten minutes walk is a taxi stop, bus stops for buses to Puerto del Carmen and Arrecife, and the nearest shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about Nautilus Lanzarote as well as Matagorda.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our little complex convenient, we are happy that we met your need specially being a long stay (we take note about the frying pan ) for the Wi-Fi connections in May we will work on it , but the real problems is that in Lanzarote we don’t have the right cables “ fibra ottica “ Anyway we will do our best to give you a better service and we appreciate that our guests let us know what to improve.

We would also want to thank you for pointing out our compromise with both environment and Arts in any discipline.
We agree with you that Matagorda offers peace and quiet that many people is aiming for when planning their holidays without sacrificing services such as restaurants, supermarkets and a little nightlife if wanted just a short walking distance from Nautilus Lanzarote.
The whole team is looking forwar to welcoming you soon.
By now we send you our best wishes.
Looking forward to see you
Best Regards.
Leda Giordano. Nautilus Lanzarote Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I spent a lovely week in march here. The apartments are gorgeous with beautiful gardens, stunning outlook and fantastic facilities. My only small suggestions would be that the beds were not very comfy and the walls thin, you could hear all noises in other apartments. I would definitely recommend nautilus. We are even talking about going back there nice year. Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Friend,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for your warm words.
We hope that in your next stay, you will come directly to our reception when you feel uncomfortable with your beds because we could have solved this problem straight away for you.
Normally we have no complaints about noise, we try to offer a relaxing, peaceful site for our customers but if in the future you would have noisy neighbours please tell us in reception so we can try to solve this.

Looking forward for seeing you again in Nautilus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked these apartments after seeing good reviews and after asking especially for a room with most sun. Arrived to find a shaded room, but after speaking to a Director, we were upgraded to an apartment in full sun. We really appreciated this and it did make all the difference to our holiday.
Whole apartment block is immaculate with an excellent pool, well equipped bungalows and ideally suited for disabled guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
We would have given this 5 stars but for a couple of points. We found the beds hard, we had to pay extra for mattresses for sun loungers, and there was some afternoon aircraft noise.
We didn't get to use the restaurant because it wasn't open in the evenings and when we wanted a lunch time snack it didn't appear to be open either, so can't comment on this.
Adequate on site supermarket, and bars, restaurants and other supermarkets within easy walking distance.
We would be quite happy to go back, and we would definitely recommend Nautilus.

Room Tip: Our bungalow 16 had sun all day. Excellent, and easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate very much when our guests indicate us points where we can be improved. For example, since this week we have new sun beds around the pool area and in the terrace of the apartments. These sun beds have a special cover so you can lay down without additional mattress (of course, we still have sun bed mattresses for those of our guests which prefer to have even softener sunbathing).
In Nautilus Lanzarote we have many different apartment types and their positions for sure is different and so the orientation to the sun ,we always try to full fill your requests but is true as well that we have two common terrace were you have the sun all the day long . We would like to emphasise that we do not have Restaurant in Nautilus Lanzarote , there is a social room where we serve breakfast and where you can have take a way making previous reservation in the morning. Take away service opens till 2.30pm. As well we recommend to our guests to try the big verity of restaurants and cuisine situated in the promenade in 5 minutes walk distance from Nautilus.
Hope to see you back in Nautilus.
With the best regards
Nautilus Team
Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are just back from a week at Nautilus bungalows. I booked not really knowing anything about the place and we were so very pleasantly surprised. It is an incredibly well designed complex, with great facilities. The bungalows are recently refurbished, clean and have full kitchens with all utensils required. The pool is gorgeous, the supermarket onsite well stocked and the staff are all friendly and helpful. The only slight downside- if I were looking for a criticism- is that there are only news channels in English on TV - it would be great to have an entertainment channel, and the wifi in the bungalows is very unreliable. The complex is suitable for people with disabilities, and there is an onsite physiotherapy service and a masseuse. We will be back- and for longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much that you take your time and write your opinions into Tripadvisor.

As you mentioned we are trying our best to fulfil the needs of all of our clients. We are going to do more refurbishing works in some of our 2 bedroom apartments which are facing the pool this year by the end of April, the whole may, so we will be reopen on 3rd June 2013.
You were missing English film channels in TV. We are very happy that since more or less 1 month we are able to provide proper English News Channels because this was requested from our guests before. Due to that we have many different nationalities in our Hotel we would like to offer as many TV channels with diverse languages as possible. There is always the possibility to rent a DVD Player at reception where we have plenty DVDs which we loan to you free of charge!

For the WiFi we do have had problems. Please be aware that this is a Hotel WiFi, in the reception and around the pool you always have a good signal. We offer a professional Internet Connection as well – of course free of charge. This is only possible with a proper Laptop it won’t work with Phones or Tablets!
If you don’t want to bring your Laptop it’s no problem at all we have 2 Internet Terminals next to our Supermarket, the use is against a little fee.

We would like to thank you once more for being our guest and we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon!
Best regards from sunny Lanzarote
Nautilus Team
Leda Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in Lanzarote (Matagorda). The staff are very helpful and friendly. It is clean and tidy and very much geared towards disabled people. You could not wish for a better place to stay. I took my old mum for a week and she was so pleased to be staying at Nautilus. Even the pool has a hoist. The bungalow we had was great with all mod cons. The location is also perfect - five minute walk to supermarket and restaurants, two minutes walk to the front/seashore but in a quiet street away from crowds and noise. There is also a supermarket on site which is good. They offer breakfast if you wish but we were self-catering. Our kitchen had a fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker and microwave, also a full size oven and hob. Just perfect! Will go back.

Room Tip: I think all the bungalows will be as good as the one we had. Didn't hear any complaints from fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LedaGiordanoNautilus, Gerente at Nautilus Lanzarote, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for posting your comments about Nautilus Lanzarote. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Just as you posted, we have made real efforts to turn Nautilus Lanzarote barriers- free place. We agree with you that maybe Matagorda has not got as much nightlife as the centre town, but there is a fair amount of restaurants, shops supermarkets and bars to enjoy nightlife too within a short walking distance.
If you would need any kind of arrangements besides reservation such as adapted transport or adapted equipment, please do not hesitate to contacting us. We will be happy to help. As well we would like to inform you that line buses are provided by ramp for wheel chair users.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Nautilus Team.
Leda Giordano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nautilus Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Lanzarote

Address: Calle Gramillo 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nautilus Lanzarote 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort includes single and double apartments (28 of them mobility-friendly). You will enjoy a qualified service in an exceptionally quiet environment, environmentally friendly and with original works of art present both in common areas and in every bungalow. Two acclimatised swimming pools (one for small children, the other equipped with a water-powered lift for 120kg) and a bar-restaurant are also at our clients´ disposal. We also have a bungalow known as “casa del artista”, specifically adapted for the needs of artists that contribute to our varied collection of works of art. You can enjoy long walks or bike-rides in the avenue bordering the beaches, as well as all shopping and entertainment options offered by Puerto del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nautilus Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Bungalows Lanzarote
Nautilus Resort Puerto Del Carmen
Nautilus Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.