We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our first visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sal Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Sal Apartments to your Saves list
Costa Sal Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've just returned from 10 days in Costa Sal apartments in Matagorda. It was most enjoyable and I agree wholeheartedly with all the comments about helpful staff and cleanliness. We had a standard apartment. We were happy with it although if possible, I would recommend having a superior one. They looked really attractive inside.
The little supermarket onsite is extremely useful in that it means that you don't have to carry heavy items like milk or water up the hill. It has quite a good range of products.
The weather was very windy when we were there - practically gale force winds most days. We went into Puerto Del Carmen a good deal and it is my impression that it is not as exposed as Matagorda and that wind was not such a problem there. We took both taxis and buses to go into Puerto Del Carmen. Reception ordered taxis very willingly and they arrived almost immediately. Buses were frequently extremely packed and uncomfortable, although very cheap. The bus -stop is very conveniently located. Taxis were also very well-priced - about 6 euros each way. It is possible that some holiday-makers may feel a little "cut-off" by being in Matagorda rather than Puerto Del Carmen - it is worth bearing this in mind when choosing accommodation. However, on the plus side, Matagorda is just about 5 minutes by taxi from the airport, although the airport does not give any problems by being so close.
Costa Sal is an enormous complex - based on the small typically Canarian layout of two storeys surrounding a pool. Initially it can be quite difficult to find your way around but it is well laid-out with several exit gates. In terms of value, the price is extremely competitive.(I understand that the complex is embarking on an extensive revamping in the coming months in anticipation of an upgrade from 3 to 4 stars. I hope that it will be possible for prices to remain competitive). Breakfast was more than adequate although a more extended layout and choice would be good.
A few small suggestions - which must be taken in the context of the reasonable cost: 1. Could some cushions be provided in standard apartments in order to ensure comfort while sitting on very wide sofa. 2. Could the breakfast fruit salad have a little more variety - it's mostly apple. 3. One of our mattress protectors was very plastic and noisy and wrinkled badly under the sheet which made it uncomfortable - perhaps that could be replaced.
Overall, Costa Sal is run smoothly, unobtrusively and efficiently. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
From all the team at Costa Sal we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to us, and hope this will be the first of many.
It is good to read that you agree with other reviewers about the helpful staff and the cleanliness. Both of which we pride ourselves on, and it is always nice to get recognition for this,.
This last month or 6 weeks was probably the worst we have ever known in Lanzarote, and as you experienced , the wind was particularly strong.
I am delighted to say that the last 5 days the wind has disappeared and we now have our lovely 25 degrees during the day temperatures back.
As I have said on previous comments, the lower pool area is very sheltered for these windy days. The upper area is very open, and is great for cooling down on the hotter days.
Just to say to those of you reading this review. there is also 2 areas with bars and restaurants close to Costa Sal. One which is the Matagorda Commercial Centre. The other one is the whole strip along the Hotel Jameos Playa.
And as you point out, on site we also have the supermarket and a bar and restaurant that are open all day and we have entertainment 6 days of the week.

A map is also given out to everyone on arrival, and if you have any problems finding your way around, all you need to do is ask at reception.
And as you so rightly point out, we are now almost at the point of getting 4 stars,. We will endeavour to keep our prices very competitive.

I would welcome your suggestions on any additions to the breakfast buffet, as we have taken people suggestions on board and for 6.50Euro we think this will offer any of our guests excellent value . There are 4 choices of Cereal.2 Choices of dried fruits.-. A fresh fruit salad. Yogurt. Cold hams, salamis, cheeses, tomatoes , cucumbers.
Various types of bread rolls baked freshly every morning ( both brown and white)
Sliced white and brown bread.
Freshly baked Croissants.
Bacon, Sausages, Fried and boiled eggs. Fried potatoes. Scrambles egg. Beans. Cooked tomatoes.
Choice of juices .
Freshly brewed coffee ( made from ground coffee beans) Or tea made on the spot for you and brought to your table.
All the above is a help yourself buffet.
If you have any more suggestions, we would be delighted to hear them ( we only added the beans a month or so ago on another guests suggestion, so we do listen!)
M y e mail address is geraldine.mcfadden@gmail.com .

I will pass your comments on to housekeeping about the cushions and mattress protectors and see if we can also find some solution. Thank you for your comments.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share it with our future guests,. and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    277
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
414
414
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just back from a two week stay at the Costa Sal apartments. We stayed in S4 studio and we were very happy with our room and although it was only a studio it still had a little balcony. The room itself has everything you need though having only two knives and forks was a little strange. The only slight down side to the apartment was that it overlooks the childrens play area which although we had no problem with it could i imagine be a little troublesome in the height of the season. The resort itself was very very clean and the staff where always very polite and helpful. We took advantage of the HB 3 day option and while the food was always well presented and the staff were always more than helpful the actual food was ok rather than exceptional.

We booked Matagorda as we are not party animals and thought that the quiet resort would suit us more than PDC. However it is rather too quiet and the walk into PDC is just too far. It takes Appox 45 minutes to walk to the begining of PDC and perhaps another 45 to get right into the centre so if you are not a walker id suggest going to PDC.

Whilst we were there it was also VERY VERY windy and this made it very cold at night needing to wrap up when going out. We were told by people that had been going there for 20 yrs that it was the windiest they had know it.

As for places to eat we did not find anywhere we would call amazing but we did have a couple of nice meals in Sam Maguires in Matagorda. We also ate in Sirroccos which whilst not great for an evening meal the Pizza and toasted sandwiches in the afternoon where cheap and tasty. We also ate in the ENJOY chinese in PDC and have to say it was one of the nicest chinese we have ever had abroad and we try chinese everywhere we go and find very few are any good on which note please avoid the chinese in Matagorda not very good at all.

We also had the Lunch in Bollywood which was very nice but then we tried it at night and it just wasnt as nice as the lunch. Fazzis Indian was also ok but again not outstanding. Well overall we enjoyed our holiday. The apartments were very nice but just too quiet In Matagorda. Hope you find this helpful.

One thing to note with regard to the hotel is that there is no WIFI at all unless you pay 18 euros a week or 30 for two weeks. Whilst I can understand having to pay for wifi in your room to have no internet access in reception in this day and age i think is a little ridiculous and something i think the hotel should seriously think about changing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is my 3rd year in a row staying at Costa Sal. It is just as excellent as previously. Spotless property with beautiful well-maintained grounds. Food is excellent and good value. The staff are wonderful throughout the complex. Cleaning is of a very high standard. I love my superior room with really comfortable bed. There appears to be a large amount of upgrading the basic rooms going on. I saw lots of new quality leather sofas, white goods, pictures and lamps going into the apartments. Also lots of old style sunbeds were piled into a skip suggesting they will be replaced with the newer style that dont require hiring a mattress. The Reception area is having a major overhaul. It is being moved across the way and it will be nice to see it next year. I love Costa Sal and intend to return at least once every year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Second time at Costa Sal. Really excellent. Lovely Villa, good furnishings, quiet, excellent level of cleanliness and cleaning in Villa and throughout the complex, inside and out. The restaurant is excellent. The menu is good and 'specials' change nightly. If you opt for the half board the breakfasts are very good and set you up for the day. We hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Costa Sal with our future guests.
We are delighted to read that this was your second visit, and you hope to visit again.
The villas and villa suites have been done up to a very high standard and thank you for your recognition.
We are delighted you enjoyed the food and as you say, the breakfast really does set you up for the day.
Please spread the word to your family and friends and thanks again for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I can only agree with what the other reviewers are saying. Costa Sal is a very nice place to stay. We got upgraded from a 1-bedroom to a 2 bedroom apartment. It was large, attractive and had very good appliances. Our balcony overlooked the swimming pool and we could see the ocean in the distance. We were very happy there. There were a couple of minor complaints. Rather than having a difficult discussion, I decided to send an email and notify the management of the problem. Geraldine, the customer service manager, gave me a call a few hours later and sorted everything out. Thanks Gerladine.

We were there on a self catering basis and only ate at the restaurant once. We really enjoyed it! Seemed much better than a typical hotel restaurant!

One thing is that the area seemed quite windy. We had stayed a few days near the old harbor and the area that the Costa Sal is in may be a bit windier than the area near the harbor. We think that the harbor area may be a bit more protected.

But all in all, we were very happy at the Costa Sal. The place is well kept up, the apartment was nice, the staff friendly and helpful and our minor complaints were solved upon request. What more can you ask?

Room Tip: Second floor over looking the pools for view. Caution, some rooms have poor internet reception, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it and share with the readers of this forum.
I was delighted that you sent a mail to us with your minor complaints and gave us the chance to sort these out for you. It is rather upsetting to sometimes read reviews where people complain about things they were not happy about, and if we had been aware, we could have rectified the problem. I am glad I was of help to you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The upper pool area of Costa Sal is as you say quite windy as it is very open.
The lower pool area is much more sheltered. This seems to work well however in summer and hotter times, as the breeze can cool you down.
But in winter months, on a particularly windy day, I would recommend the lower pool
.
I think as you were told when you were here, you hit on what I could only call an unusually cold spell for us. But your observation is a good one, and one I hope I have given a solution if our readers do happen upon a windy week.

Thank you from all the team for taking the time to write this review.
I hope Lanzarote was all you wished it would be, and that we will see you back again in the future to escape your very long cold winters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay. Weather was mixed so very glad of spacious and good apartment. We have stayed there before. It is a very quiet property very well kept and beautiful gardens. staff helpful, breakfast good and diningroom lovely and bright. TV reception wasnt great and eventhough the technician checked it out there wasent much improvement. also WIFI has to be paid for. i had a problem with that as it was available free in restaurants and bars else where. Overall its a very good place to stay. Bus service very handy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Director of Sales at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
From all of us at Costa Sal, thank you for taking the time to share your review with readers of this forum.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would just like to come back to you on the TV problem. The satellite dishes were moved a few weeks back and reception took some time to be restored. I am glad to say, all is back to normal now, and normal service has been resumed.
2 weeks ago, we also installed free wifi in the Bar and Restaurant, so this problem has now been resolved as well.
We hope you will come back for another visit to us soon, and that you will be happy to have great TV reception, and you can log on for free to wifi in the bar from now on.
Thanks again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

room,grounds etc very nice.no proper bar/pub,just an overflow dining area.food and drink good but the dearest in the area.staff friendly apart from the tall bald one,he spilt a glass of red wine over a chap at the bar then laughed,he also shut the super market and told people to leave because he "had to pop out".entertainment in the bar was grim ,seen better buskers on street corners.nice watching planes come into land but dont believe reviews when people say the noise from the aircraft is not loud,it is very loud when they land and brake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Sal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Apartments

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Sal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.