We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sal Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Sal Apartments to your Saves list
Costa Sal Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield,MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here at Halloween for ten days with my husband and family. The apartments themselves are a bit on the expensive side compared to others but the bar and restaurant are excellent with reasonable prices. The girl who looked after us most often was Andrea originally from Dublin but now living in Lanzarote-she never seemed to stop in the restaurant, bar, supermarket etc. There was also a great guy in the bar named Michael-not Irish. We simply could not speak highly enough of both. Andrea in particular went way out of her way to tell us what was available locally, the name of a dentist and a doctor, suggest tours etc. When my husband was ill she brought us to a local doctors in her own car not the usual tourist places who rip you off.We cannot thank her enough for making our holiday in Lanzarote.
The food in the restaurant Zest on site was excellent and there was no problem to substitute veg you might not like etc. There was also plenty of choice for kids. Prices were an average of about 12 euro per person. for adults. Andrea also served in the adjacent bar but we met Michael here a bit more. Pleasant quick service and always with a friendly smile and chat.....and banter!!. The bar itself is quite spacious and had a superb big band on one of the nights. Barbeques are weekly and cooked on site by an Irish Chef-the clientele seems to be about 50% Irish some of whom told us they had been coming for over 10 years.
There is a main large pool with a smaller salt water pool on the complex. There is a mini market ( We met Andrea there too!!) with reasonable prices, a laundrette, tennis courts, pool table etc for guests. There are plenty of sun loungers. It is situated in Matagorda in a nice quiet area. There is a beach within ten minutes walk and Puerto Del Carmens 'strip' starts here. We will be back again and compliment the hotel on their great friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get a room at the lower end of the complex if you want a smaller salt water pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. And we are delighted that you had a good holiday with us.

I am delighted that our staff were so helpful, and kind to you when your husband was sick.
We hope to see you back again soon, and all of us at Costa Sal would like to take the opportunity to wish you a very Happy Christmas

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    278
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
414
416
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Its a nice location which has everything on site.Its very clean except for ants which im told is unavoidable.Its fine for kids but the hotel next door seems much better for kids.(the sol lanzorote). The bar staff seemed a bit arrogant and wrapped up in their own clique.The spanish girls on reception were friendly and helpful yet did not know what "the hop on hop off" bus was!!Its called lanzorote vision and is a great and affordable way to see the whole island.The cleaning staff are top notch and this place does not cheap out on towels.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade,the poolside bungalows are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know their opinions.

I am sorry to hear you did not find the Bar Staff friendly. This I have to say is rare to hear and as you can see from the other comments, most of the other guests have written glowing reviews about them. We do hope to see you back in Costa Sal in the future and we would like to take the opportunity to wish you a very Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well myself and Noeleen came back from lovely lanzarote on 22nd Sept and as i knew already we had a wonderful time and as of so many times before had a fantastic 2 wk stay in the beautiful Costa Sal ...i can not recommend highly enough the staff are fantastic and cant do enough for you and the food was excellent as always ,the rooms are very clean and fresh bedsheets and towels every other day sometimes 2 days in a row , we dont watch much tv in the room but its great for news of back home RTE news and BBC news is available on it and came across soccer on ITV one night ....one thing i will say is that the appartments have twin beds so couples may want to push them together lol we stayed in a studio once and those have a double bed in it though those rooms have no balcony to sit out and sunbath for example or have a cuppa and smoke hence we stay in a appartment ...we are going to book again for 9 days in march and cant wait ....its only been 8 wks since we got back and feels like a lifetime already thats how much we love the island and Costa Sal ...talk about wishing your life away roll on march lol

Room Tip: appartments have twin beds couples may want to push them together studios have double beds ....there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and we look forward to seeing you back again in March. From all of us at Costa Sal, we would like to wish you a Very Happy Christmas and Prosperous New year
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent the October midterm break in the costa sal 2 bed luxury apartments.They were fantastic and there was more than adequate space for ourselves and our 3 children.A bonus was the television with childrens channels and even RTE.
The staff were very friendly,the food at the restaurant was delicious and the highlight for the children was the Halloween night during which they were entertained for an hour while we had a quiet drink! Following that we had a magnificent barbeque with the children once again being entertained by a magician rounded off by spetacular fireworks.
In fact there was entertainment every night at the complex and we particularly enjoyed the talented Collie Farrell.
The complex was near enough to peurto del carmen by bus or taxi.
The matagorda area was lovely and relaxing with bikes close by to be rented which was a lot of fun.We ate in The kinsale which is definitely worth a visit.The food was second to none.
The only complaint i would have is that the pool was cold despite being advertised as heated.
All in all the Costa Sal is one place where we would definitely pay a return visit. A big thumbs up from us all!

Rebecca And Philip,Cork,Ireland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Sal Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review . As I have said previously, we really do appreciate when our guests take the time to do this for us.

I am delighted that you had such a good time at Halloween, and this is something we plan to repeat again next year.

Currently we have Collie Farrell playing as our resident singer on a Friday night, and he has proved to be very popular.

We look forward to seeing you back in 2013 and all of us at Costa Sal would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Very Happy Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from my first trip to Costa Sal in Lanzarote. I was pleasantly surprised as the appts are such a reasonable price. The 2 bed appt was clean and modern, the kitchen was spotless. The bedding and towels were changed on a regular basis. The staff helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant one evening and had a good well priced meal. The lunch time menu consisting of snacks was ok, but the cook seemed to like his deep fat fryer and some food came out a bit too well done especially the chicken wings.
I would visit again, but would very much like to see – more umbrellas around the pool if the weather had been more sunny I would not have liked sitting in the full sun for any length of time, we need shade, ironic really as an announcement regarding applying sun screen to stay safe in the sun was given on a daily basis to customers around the pool.
Bring your own beach towels, beds around the pool are hard, but you can hire a mattress or bring a Lillo. Yes the same old story, afraid you have to steak your claim regarding the beds, towels are on around 8.30, earlier if you want one of the few static umbrellas.
Air conditioning is limited, not having air conditioning in the bedrooms would without doubt stop me visiting in the heat of the summer. Impossible to sleep no fun at all.
All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from a two week holiday in this wonderful place. this was our ninth visit and we look forward to many many more. From the moment you arrive at Costa Sal you receive the warmest of welcomes from all the staff, they are like one big happy family and seem to get along very well together. The management are very lucky to have such staff, they have a great chef - the food is excellent, the restaurant/bar staff are exceptional especially Nicky,Mandy and Michael.
During our visit we were fortunate enough to be at Costa Sal for a Saturday afternoon BBQ, the music was provided by The Lanzarote Big Band with Collie Farrell, the food and entertainment top class.
In my opinion Costa Sal has it all, very friendly and helpful staff, great accomodation,cleanliness,great location,great service and really good value.
I cannot praise Costa Sal enough and cannot wait for our next visit.

Ann & Michael
Ireland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday spent at Costa Sal in Puerto del Carmen (11th-18th October 2012). This was our fourth stay at Costa Sal and I have to say the place keeps improving. We styed in one of the two bedroom bungalows some of which have been refurbished since our last visit in the spring of 2011. The qulaity of the accommodation is now very high. The bungalow was clean. tidy, spacious and modern with contemporary decoration and now with extra features such as a flatscreen tv and walk-in shower. The regular cleaning/maid service was more than adequate with fresh towells provided daily. The sun loungers on the private patio were also new.

The reception and bar staff were friendly and efficient but we did not eat in the restaurant this time so I cannot make any comment on that. Regular entertainment is provided though in the bar area if you wish to partake of it. The grounds of the complex are attractive and very well maintained.

One minor gripe is the wi-fi service which my partner paid €18 for, for the week but only worked sporadically at our bungalow. the only decent reception was near the lobby/bar area. However, the lady on reception did warn us at the time we paid for it that it might not be that good in the area of our bungalow.

Overall we would definitely recommend Costa Sal to anyone and I am sure we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Sal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sal Apartments

Address: Calle Diagonal 6 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sal Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sal.... The hotel that brings the definition " Home away from Home" to life! We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like family. From you arrival in our bright and modern reception area, where you are greeted by one of our very friendly receptionists. To the Bar/ Restaurant/ pool bar.You are always made to feel welcome and at home. We offer a wide range of options for single travellers, couples, friends and families. Everything from compact studios to luxury villas complete with hot-tub. Many reasons why our guests come back year after year! So read our guests feedback here on this forum. And get booking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Sal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Apartments Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Hotel Matagorda
Costa Sal Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen
Costa Sal Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.