We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great apartments dont believe what you read” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Florida Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Florida Apartments to your Saves list
La Florida Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Reina Sofia, 30, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great apartments dont believe what you read”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

well we were a bit worried about going to these apartments as some reviews wernt great, we dreaded the fact that you had to walk up small paths to get to the hotel etc,
when we arrived the reception was open and yes you had to walk up a few steps past a bar called jinty mc gintys but its was so handy i will tell you about that later, the girl at reception was as everyone said a sad sack but that didnt bother us she give us the keys to our apartments (6 of them as there was 12 of us)
and we were on our way,
the aparttments were clean and spacious nothing to fancy but were just as good as any others we have stayed in in lanzarote, the pool area was good size, and the pool bar was very reasonable, that sold drinks and toasties etc, every thing we ate at it was nice, the apartments we cleaned every few days and towels prob in the week we were there 4 times which was great, each apt had a kettle, microwave, toaster, coffee machine and a tv, ample i though for all the time we used them,
the pool area was kept clean and tidy all the time,
gettin back to jinty mc gintys its a handy bar for breakfast etc, they do a irish breakfast for 2 euros, which was dead on and loads of other types and reasonably priced also the drinks wernt bad either, on the other side of the reception there was a large super market which had everything you could ever need, from fresh fruit, meat counters, fresh bread, all the beer and wine etc you could need!
all in all i would definitely go back to these apartments with out adoubt, the location in the old town was great 2 minutes walk for Bios Fera shopping centre which is brill, and 2 minites walk from the harbour, in all the times ive stayed in peurto del carmen i always stayed in the new town, but would def go back to the old town , the views and restaurants are great,

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    198
    99
    31
    15
See reviews for
85
210
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

After going to Gran Canaria 10 times i landed in Lanzarote with the view of comparing it to puerto rico and thanfully that thought soon vanished as i had the best two weeks ever! We pulled up to La Florida apts at 11pm and it looked a dive! reception was closed if it was not for the barmaid in Jinty McGintys we'd have no clue that we had to knock on the 1st apartments door to get the key, this along with the reception was the downfall of La Florida apts. The apt was lovely standard but we got it on the cheap and couldnt believe just how nice it was. We stayed in 336 / 227 as there was 6 of us, 6 girls trying to carry suitcases an overweight suitcase at that ( i got charged £65 on the way over for my luggage being over weight !! ) was a joke no lift so this would not have been practical for elderly or families.
Met a fantastic group of glasgow lads so us edinburgh gals & glasgow lads rocked the pool side everyone was very friendly and i had a ball!
4 of our mates were staying at the private loma verda apartments but i would not have changed la florida for anything it was gr8. The pool bar staff were friendly enough however we waited along time for our food to be cooked. All in all the holiday was superb so only slight problems were being on the top floor with no lift, 1 key between the two of us, reception being shut when we arrived, towels only changed 2 a week and the food taken forever to be cooked apart from these small things the apartments are worth a shot for the cheap price you get it :0)

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

All in all it was good and I would recommend the La Florida as a decent cheap accommodation.

The only downside is that some of the younger and less considerate guests (club 18-30) were playing loud music around the pool and swearing a lot, which made it somewhat uncomfortable for other guests. I don't feel the hotel did enough to resolve this problem. Other than that we were very happy with the hotel and would happily go back. It's clean and secure and for the money you pay to go there it is very good.

The purple turtle is next door and serves very good food and is well worth a visit. Wherever you go however, beware - drinking out in Lanzarote is expensive (everywhere) for example a Tia Maria and coke was about €7 in pubs and you could be paying anything up to €4 just for a pint of coke. Its so much cheaper to get some drinks and stay in €14 for 1 liter of Tia Maria. A shame really, but thats how it is.

Ba warned the appartments may not be suitable for older, less mobile or disabled guests because there are no lifts, so if you are staying on a higher floor this may cause obvious problems. Obviously a room on the bottom floor could be requested however there will still be 1 or 2 steps to negotiate.

I would recommend asking for a room in the 320's or 330's as you get a decent view of the pool, some of southern Lanzarote and also of Fuerteventura. The hotel is actually on a busy road but we couldn't hear it or see it at all. Another reason I would suggest it be a good idea to ask for a room 320+.

The reception service is only open part time, which could be inconvenient however if you plan around this it shouldn't be. There isn't normally a courtesy room offered (which wasn't great as we weren't flying until 2130 and you need to be out of your rooms by 1200) however we did manage to get them to let us have one, but it did take a little persuading! Alternatively we could have paid €5 per hour to keep our room.

To surmise though we were both pleased with the hotel and would happily return there. Don't expect 5 star though, but for a cheap getaway I don't think you can go far wrong.

  • Liked — It was clean and secure - what more can you ask when it is so cheap?!!
  • Disliked — About a 10 min walk from the main area of the resort - no big deal at all though
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We have just returned from 10 days staying at LA FLORIDA Appts in Lanzarote for what we paid we found it excellent value for money. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the other reviews i would recommend anyone looking for a cheap and chearful holiday to book although it does sound like it depends on which room you get put in as there are some rooms overlooking the road above jinty migintys bar which might be quite noisy but whilst we were there it sounds like they have had a lot of complaints and they have clamped down on the noise and how late they stay open. if you arrive later on in the evening dont let the fact that reception is closed put you off you have to go up the side of the supermarket to the side gate and ring the bell for the security guard, he will let you in and give you your room key. The appts were very clean but could do with a little modernisation. The maid came to clean nearly everyday and brought fresh towels the bedding was also change twice in the 10 days we were their. The only slight down side was that the pool could be cold although it did seem to warm a bit towards the end as the temperatures rose. All the staff were friendly and we found the snack bar to be reasonably priced if you want something simple like toasties or burger and chips at lunch time. After a bad experience in a restaurant we were recommended by a local english guy yo eat in the old town which we did and found a really nice restaurant called EL ANCLA which is near the harbour the meals and staff were lovely. We would recommed hiring a car to see the local sights I.E Playa Blanca and Tequise market which is on sundays they are fairly easy to find. We would recommend this instead of booking the trips that are advertised as these worked out to be quite costly. TIMAN FIYA is one example it is good to see but the tour wanted 50 euros each and told us we wouldnt be able to drive around it. It cost us 60 euros for the car for 3 days and 8 euros each to see Timan Fiya once there you park the car and board the coach which then takes you around on a guided tour this is what you have to do and is no extra cost. We got sucked into buying tickets at 30 euros each for the music hall tavern (titty trollops) which in our oppinion was a complete waste of time and money and something kids could have put together it was cold all evening from the air conditioning and the act consisted of guys in drag miming to musicals and dancing it could have been so much better as they all had decent singing voices there was absolutely nothing funny about it at all so save your money and dont bother. The beaches are lovely and are only about a 10 min walk from the appt the resort is very clean but it can get a bit chilly at night. There is quite a lot of shops on the front and in our oppinion barter for everything exept when buying groceries. The purple turtle is ideal for breakfast at only a few euros and is only just up the street from the appts although i must say i dont know why other reviews rave about jintys we didnt rate it at all and found the staff miserable. All in all a good relaxing break and would go back again.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — slight hill up to the appts
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Just returned from another great stay at La Florida. The staff are very friendly, the apartments are close to some great restaurants and the rooms are always clean. Special thanks to Renata for all her help with our reservation.

  • Liked — Comfort and central location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed 12 June to 23 Jun was pretty quiet not many children there at that time, our daughter found some of the time quite boring, but did meet up with a new friend so did eventually keep her quiet. The apartments were cleaned almost every day. We arrived after the reception had closed, after about 10 minutes of trying to sort out how to get in was fine in the end. It's about 10 minutes walk to the small beach, and about 20-30 mintues walk to the main beach and the main area where the bars etc are, the walk back up is the worst due to high temp when we were there. The beds are a little hard but after a few days you do get used to them. overall was a very clean pleasant stay and if we were to go back to lanzarote we would stay here again. Just down the road from the entrance there is a bar/restaurant called Red Rose, if you are lucky enough to be around on a Sunday, there Sunday lunch is a must it's delicious.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Hi Stayed at La Florida end of May and Begining of June. Thought Apparments very clean. Pool Great Grandchildren thought it was excellent plenty of sun loungers. We where in apparments at back looking on to the pool. The hill up to the apparments got a bit much after 2 weeks but some loverly places to eat, El Golfo,La Cascade are just 2. The receptionist could do with a happy pill but so what. Would go back again.

  • Liked — Appartment very comfortable
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Florida Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florida Apartments

Address: C/ Reina Sofia, 30, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Florida Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Florida Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Florida Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen
La Florida Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Florida Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.