We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cinco Plazas to your Saves list
Cinco Plazas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

just got back from cinco plaza. ok things to know about. get the safe keys and the sky tv on check in. the safe is easy to use and peace of mind. the sky tv is worst than our free-view. but it,s better than 3 to 4 local tv channels. plus you can open the adults channel on request..no fee far as i know.
the apartments are big enough ,water from the shower was always hot .and we had all we needed for self catering in terms of facilities and equipment. be careful though as you could
easily overspend on just a few basic foods best bring your own bits of salt and pepper. not than we ate in. just for morning snacks really.
i wont mention the little hill down to the beach front , but other places to stay were even further to stay than the cinco plaza. there is a lot of competitiveness on the front for the bars and restaurants to get your custom..the personnel will try to get you to eat in there place politely. to many to mentions which were good or bad you will have to find what's right for you. there are meal deal boards on display. and specials on at different bars and nights. just remember you get what you pay for.
I recommend a car if your up for it .. cheap to hire.. was my first time driving on the right.
saw most of the island on half a tank in a fiat panda. great resort was playa blanca..also has the private beaches there like pagayayo.not to far away. drove to timafaya volcanoes and the caves in the north. easy roads to drive on no real motorways in lanzarote.
so all in all cinco plaza was clean, well located, good amount of pools and sunbeds for everyone. no noise at night. which was good. great for kiddies as it seemed well catered for the little ones..last tip don't buy fags duty free .as they are miles cheaper in the resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    305
    120
    31
    27
See reviews for
364
280
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here during the last week of October and were slightly concerned with some of the previous reviews, however, our concerns were toatlly unfounded.
The apartments were clean, we had an upstairs apartment in one of the blocks away from the main pool, it was clean and comfortable and was serviced almost every day.
The pool area was very clean, there were plenty of sunbeds and my only minor issue was the pool temperature, however, as it was 25- 30 most days this was not a major problem.
The apartments are well situated some 200/400 metres from the main resort areas, although it is a steep hill back! There are also supermarkets and bars etc close by
I have not been to Lanzarote before but wouldn't hesitate to go back or to recommend it

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed in Cinco Plazas with my boyfriend for one week in November. The hotel is probably perfect for families with children, but we as a couple were a bit disappointed. Our travel agency describes the hotel as a 4 star, I'm not sure if I agree. Yes, there are 3 pools, and yes the hotel has a restaurant, and the hotel area is nice, but our room was not great.

We had a 2nd floor apartment and the only thing great about it was the balcony which we had payed extra for in advance - luckily it had a wonderful view over the city instead of the noisy pool area. The bathroom was terrible and seemed old. Tiles were broken, the toilet was not glued to the floor which made it wiggle when you sat down on it, and the bathtub is the smallest I've ever seen. Be aware, if cloudy weather there is no warm water in the shower. The combined living room/kitchen/bedroom was also really small, looked a bit worn down, and the bed was hard and not comfortable.

As the beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, we did not use the pool area much, but it seemed very popular for families. Actually the pool area a bit too crowded, not many beds available there anyway. We did not eat in the restaurant, we felt no need for that as there are many choices of restaurants when you walk down to the beach promenade.

As for the hotel staff, they were friendly, and the cleaning was ok, except that they didn't change the sheets (we offered the cleaning lady 5 euros extra, so she changed it for us eventually, but I don't think that should be necessary in a hotel like this, especially when the bed obviously is full of sand – our own fault off course, but anyway…).

Lanzarote was lovely, the beach is beautiful and the city of Puerto del Carmen is nice and felt safe, but if you are travelling without children like we did, you would probably be better off with not choosing the Cinco Plazas.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We've never been to Lanzarote before so had no idea what to expect. Cinco Plaza exceeded our expectations. The room was lovely - very spacious, with a great balcony. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and it certainly had a great family atmosphere. Only a short walk down to the beach, bars and restaurants although the hill back could be a little intimidating after a busy day! I'd recommend it and Lanzarote in generally, I’ll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Having been to the Cinco Plazas a couple of times before I was a little concerned to read recent reviews saying the apartments were not as good as they used to be.
However I am really glad to say that when we visited over the October half term break we found them to be just as good as we remembered.
The apartments were really clean , the maids only missed two days out of our 11 day stay.
The pool area was always clean with plenty of sun beds.
The maids and other staff were always very polite.
Puerto Del Carmen always feel a safe place to be with lots of places to eat .
Would have no problems about going back again though after reading some of the past reviews I think we would avoid going in August
The apartments do provide fans but I could imagine it would be a little uncomfortable in really hot weather as there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

we have been returning to the cinco plazas for seven years,and have always enjoyed plenty of peace and quiet,but not this time.we had two weeks of constant noise,during the day we had to listen to other peoples music whilst round the pool.loud music being played on balconies,2am in the morning our neighbours having a blazing row using fowl language,throwing things,slamming doors,you name it we heard it,as did a lot of other people.6am a group of drunken teenagers swimming in the pool causing mayhem,we complained to the thomson rep and also filled out a complaints form he was not really interested,we told him we would not be coming back he did not really care.we complained to reception we told them we would not be returning they said they had several complaints and it would be sorted.nothing had been done by the time we came home.we were there for two weeks on the fifth day we had to ask for clean towels,and the room had only been cleaned three times.all in all this was a very expensive and dissapointing holiday cpmpared to all the other times we have been.so if you want a nice peaceful relaxing holiday don't go to the cinco plazas.i have tried to put this review on the thomson site but so faf it has not been printed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

just returned from cinco plazas and have to say was very pleased with the complex after reading reviews i was a little worried but i found it fine pools very clean and staff were great inside appartments fixtures and fittings arnt the ritz but it was clean and bright everything you could want is close by. my tip book through thompsons own website and get flights independant

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinco Plazas 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinco Plazas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.