We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cinco Plazas to your Saves list
Cinco Plazas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“well worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks in sep had a great holiday all round but the apartments where great very clean staff very nice. you have a choice of 3 big pools cleaning lady was very good would never leave u short of anything. they had great entertainment there at night for family's even couples. i will and hope to stay there again if and when i go back to lanzarote. :)

Room Tip: balcony on front pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    305
    119
    31
    27
See reviews for
363
280
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We went to this apartment In porto de carmen, we loved this place Brilliant, the kids club was first class , up to three times a day.kids disco after , painting , cooking ect.The kids and adult pools were great clean and well suppervised.
The rooms were nice and spacious and clean, secure.the bar nice but staff well friendlyness not on top of there list .Local bars and restaraunts great and cheap, pint samiguel u now the one €2, we want to go back for two weeks in 2013 .Realy great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went to the Cinco Plazas fron September 6th untill September 20th. First impressions very good 2 bedroom appartment was quite good and roomy, although in need of refurbishment. The hotel was full of Irish people who all had around 4 children each.The swimming pool was very good with supurb water quality, the problem was with the amount of children there it was very very noisy.It was almost impossible to get a sunbed because when they were unlocked in the morning people jumped on them and there were lines of 10 beds that no one used untill around 11 o' clock. which we found very selfish, we ended up on the beach some days. Because there were so many children it was however quiet in the evenings. The hotel is well situated with a few bars nearby and a well stocked supermarket 200 mtrs away. Spinickers bar is the closest bar but this was overpriced and had poor service, Spenders bar a little lower down the hill was good value and very friendly, also the Bohdram bar and the Drop in bar were only ok if you were Irish we found them very clicky . We did get a couple of nasy cockroaches in the room whick was not nice but overall if you could put up with the noise from the children a lot of whom were not very well behaved the hotel is fine. overall I would recommend it for families gut not if you want a restful holiday. At the time of our visit the Island was having a heatwave with temperatures of 40 degrees, this made the rooms very hot in the evening. The rooms need air conditioning badly. But on the island this does not seen to be the norm. Fabulous weather though.

Room Tip: A room on top is best as you can hear every footstep from the people above and you get a breeze in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Me and my partner stayed in cinco plazas at the start of September. The apartment was nice and spacious and immaculate! The beds were hard but comfortable and a fan was supplied which kept us cool enough at night. The towels were changed twice during our stay and the apartment was cleaned once. This resort is close to everything. 2 mins from the supermarket and less than 5 mins from the restaurants and beach. The resort is far enough away from the buzz of the main strip but close enough to not have to walk far.
The swimming pool looked nice but we never went in it as the chairs were hogged from 7 in the morning into last thing at night and we preferred going to the beach.
The resort was quiet at night so we always got a decent nights sleep :)
The staff were very helpful, polite and full of joy!
Although Puerto Del Carmen is the most touristy town in Lanzarote it had the best beach of them all and the buses were very frequent to the other towns.
We had a wonderful holiday here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in The Cinco Plazas from 6th August for two weeks.We had a two bed apartment in The Amarillo complex which we were glad of as it was the quietest and most peaceful one.The location of these apartments is fantastic,close to everything.The variety of Restaurants and Pubs in the area was excellent.Would definitely recommend Spinnakers Irish Pub next door for food and the staff were lovely.The food in the Cinco Plazas was not good.The only good thing was the Paella demo once a week where you could see it being made in front of you and eat it freshly made.The apartments themselves were good with all equipment in it.However,the first week we had cleaners in every two days with towels changed etc but the 2nd week after 5 days we had to ask for them to come.But my biggest complaint of all was the AIR CONDITIONING.We had asked on check in after reading reviews that you could hire stand alone air con and we were told that we had a fan in our room.We had a tiny fan made of white plastic,which was absolutely useless.10 days into the holiday I met people round the pool who told me they had the stand alone air con and had been told on check in the same response as me but then when they complained a week later they were offered the stand alone air con.It was too late for us to hire it at that stage.Normally I wouldnt really mind but there was a heatwave at that time and there was no breeze.The Pool areas were spotless and I have to say the Lifeguards were great and very pleasant.The sunbed situation was a nightmare each morning people queued from 8.45 until 9 when the sunbeds were unchained and then it was a mad rush to get them.Enjoyed our stay at the Cinco Plazas as we stayed most days at the pool and met some nice people.However,the lack of Air Con and the fight for sunbeds each day would not entice us to go back.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which didnt have a bath only a shower.Would be better if you had a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have just returned from a two week stay at the cinch plazas. If you want a quiet, child free, Irish free, relaxing holiday, DON'T come here! We always go away at this time of year when children have gone back to school, or so we thought! A lot of toddlers and school age children were here so it was not quiet!, I like the Irish but they were so noisy it was un believable, I'm talking about around the pool areas where you want to lounge around peacefully no chance!!!!, I'm also talking about having to get up at the crack of Dawn to reserve your sunbathing spot by the pool (this I really disagree with but if you didn't all the best spots were gone so you had to join the rest. Although the loungers aren't un chained till 9am you had to put towels or tables where you wanted to be). Having said that the lifeguards were brilliant we saw at least three rescues where parents had let there small children in or near the pool without arm bands and not being watched what is it with these people?

We went half board, what a mistake! The food choice was appalling, it was so bad we thought about asking for a refund and go self catering there are lots of good eateries nearby eg the spinniker, next door or mulligans and pinocchios on the strip.

The apartment was a good size and well equipped no air con tho which we really needed as temps reached over 40degrees whilst we were there!! Towels were only changed about three times in the two weeks we were there and beds probably the same.

Staff were very helpful when approached and the Thomson
reps were always around and really helpful.
There is a steep hill down to the strip which could be a problem with pushchairs or walking difficulties.

All in all it was a good holiday but won't be going back.
Shop on site was well stocked but shame about the miserable staff especially the manageress.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Arrived at the Cinco Plazas with preconceptions of basic and was pleasantly surprised. The apartments are a good size and clean with the bonus of two balconies one off the bedroom facing the sea and the other overlooking the pool (The hotel supermarket was basic and overpriced and the Hyperdino supermarket next door was also expensive and the fruit and veg poor quality the best option are the two local spars one right behind the hotel and one half way down the hill first right. ) The pool was cool and lovely in the heat of early September and the kids pool has a canopy that the pool staff control to perfection. Thank heavens for the Lanzarote breeze or we would not have been able to leave our apartments some days. The Bedlinen was changed regulary as was the towels I think those who moaned about this need to remember that water is a scarce resource here and relax enjoy your holiday cos the cinco has done its bit. Staff were lovely.. On the negative side no air con, this is 2012. Charging for wifi when cafes can give it free and if you have to charge so much for the hire of iron and ironing board buy decent quality.

Room Tip: top floor facing pool and backing to the sea good views in the morning over the hills and in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinco Plazas 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinco Plazas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.