We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cinco Plazas to your Saves list
Cinco Plazas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great apartments in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just spent a week at Cinco Plaza Apartments in Puerto Del Carmen. We stayed in a one bedroom ground floor apartment which was very spacious with a large shady terrace area. The apartments were cleaned daily and the maid even washed up if we left anything in the sink! Kitchen had double ring hob, microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and coffee machine and plenty of cooking pots and utensils. Bathroom with shower over which was very powerful (no hairdryer so remember to take one). All the staff were very friendly and service was good (they replaced our microwave within minutes of telling them it was not working) Plenty of sunbeds available at the poolside (there are three separate apartment blocks each with a pool) - we found it very peaceful and laid back around the pool which was great if you wanted to read or doze in the sun. Small supermarket at the complex and large supermarket just over the road. We were self catering and we ate out most days and found the quality of the food and service in the restaurants to be very good. Nico's restaurant just down the road on the way to the beach was excellent and I would really recommend it. If you fancy an 'english breakfast' you can get one for €2.50 including coffee in some of the resturants along the front. If you walk down the hill to the seafront there are lots of restaurants to choose from. You may get somebody outside each one to get you to go in but it's not too bad and they are very friendly, and if you walk on the promenade next to the sea you can check out the resturants from afar and then decide yourself where to go. Nice promenade, good beach, plenty of toilet facilities. You can walk along to the Harbour in the old town (turn right at the seafront), takes about 20-25 mins, then sit in one of the restaurants overlooking the sea and have some Tapas and Sangria - lush! If you turn left at the seafront this seemed to be the quieter side of the resort, very nice.
We had an evening flight home but the hotel has a courtesy room which you can book for half hour slot to freshen up, and a locked room to keep your luggage in.
Good location, great service, would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor one bedroom apartment which did not get any sun on the terrace but we were ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    305
    119
    31
    27
See reviews for
363
280
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed a week at cinco plazas in a 2 room flat with balcony. The apartment was spacious and the staff cleaned it everyday along with washing the dishes. Great service. The pool area was just down the stairs with lots of sun beds. Next to cinco plazas is a big super market and the strip is just down the road. Great location. Only bad thing was that they turn of the heated swimming pool after the first couple of days.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just returned after a one week break over Easter. 3 adults and 2 children in a 2 bedroom apartment. Great size, 2 single beds in each bedroom and a large sofa bed in the lounge. Kitchen facilities included 2 cooking rings, a microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee maker and lots of cooking utensils. Good size bathroom with bath and overhead shower. We were located on the first floor, there are only 2 levels, ground and first. If you have small children or a push chair the 1st floor is fine, however a narrow staircase with a turn, so can create a problem getting the push chair up there. The complex is split into three sections, all have their own pool with a life guard. Ample amount of sun loungers, although I am not sure what it would be like in peak season. There is a small play area for the children, this is very basic, however in the summer, there is 2 blocks which are mini clubs. The main pool also has a small childrens pool with a canopy to protect the children. Each of the other pools are also children friendly with a very shallow end too.
The hotel does have a snack bar throughout the day serving hot and cold foods, drinks, ice cream etc which is very reasonably prices. We did opt to pay for half board, this again is very reasonable and is offered by the tour operator before departure. Breakfast was continental as well as hot food such as eggs, bacon, beans, sausages etc. Evening meal changed every day and was a theme night every night, eg Italian, Indian, Chinese, Spanish, all buffet style and a small variety of other food if you did not want the main option. This is great if you have got children and do not want to be walking around at night looking for restaurants. Each night the children could sit on the stage and do colouring in, then the mini disco followed by the main entertainment. All this is held on a small stage in the restaurant. It was mainly the Scandinavian guests who took advantage of this, as I don't think it is promoted well in the English brochure, definitely worth considering. The entertainment did finish early as it started early, but again for small children and if you do not want a late night perfect.
If you go self catering, a 2 minute walk will bring you the a main supermarket, gain all reasonably priced. A very short walk down the hill will bring you to the centre of the resort and on the promenade,here you can eat your way around the world with the many restaurants, bars cafes etc.
The staff at the Cinco Plaza were amazing, always a smile and nothing was too much trouble, greeted with a smile every morning from the reception desk and the restaurant staff too would always go out of their way for you.
When booking your holiday, Thomson offered a Taxi facility rather than a coach transfer, we needed 2 taxi's, but again a good option. We were at the apartments before the coach arrived and checked in. Also on return, we left after the coach, yet still got to the airport before it beating all the rush and queues.
As it was the last week of the winter season, the reps and entertainment staff were all changing over, so my review is based purely on what we experienced during our week which was fantastic. Would like to return again, the same time next year. This is a TUI accommodation, so you will find just TUI guests from around the world. All were lovely people.

Room Tip: It can be difficult getting a larger push chair upstairs, so ask for a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and two children aged 12 and 7 months have just returned from a weeks stay at the Cinco Plazas Complex. As with other reviews the staff are very friendly and there are a lot of them running the place so you get the feeling yopu're getting looked after. The rooms were cleaned almost every day. The drinks at the bar were 2 euros for a large beer and or wine almost all day except for between 5-8.30 pm. The food in the restuarant was excellent and they offer a very quick take-away service of all the menue...very handy when the kids are in bed. Most rooms surround at least on tof the 3 pools. Our pool felt warm all week expecially as becuase of the time of year the air temerature of around 22 deg meant the 23 deg pool felt comfortable. In terms of eating out there are a lot of Irish bars but one that stands out is Spinnaker. Oh, and by the way, the complex is right next to a large supermarket, my patners favorite dry white wine only 2 euros per 750ml bottle!

Anyway above the shop is the family run Irish bar and restaurant. Food was great value and well presented and the staff are extremely helpful. The views over the resort were amazing too and inside you get a real pub feel.

When walking along the sefront stick to the beach side to avoid being baraged with people trying to get you into their restuarants. The food and menues in most of these places are bland and predictable. There is a fantastic Tapas bar off on the of the side streets near the complex called Tabernas De Nino. The food qulaity is wht you would expect in a top London Tapas bar but with only 4 euros for most dishes it's fantastic value.

Another nice place for traditional Tapas is D'Olivios on the reight hand side just as you reach the old town. The reps will encourage you to get a taxi to the old town but it is only a 15 minute walk. In the old harbour there are lots of restaurants to choose from and as expected you have to pay for the views but well worth a visit fopr one meal.

The copmplex itself is about 20% English, 20% Irish and 60% Scandernavians. The entertainment is ok but it can be very quiet around the pools so plenty of sunbeds. Also the weather can change very quickly from heavy cloud to bright sunshine but with young children this is not necessarily and bad thing.

All in all i would probably go in the summer for a warmer climate and go to a busier complex but you can't fault Cinco Plazas for a quite relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Had a week at the busy easter peroid and experianced something i have never seen before more sun beds than guests they were available all day,(complex was full as well) as everyone else on here says very clean plenty of room in appartments (we had a studio it was also big) All the restuarants and cafes are similar price and standard so you pays your money and takes your chance the thing that does vary a lot is the price of drinks Beer was anywere between £1.50 and £3.50 a pint and some places the coke was more expensive than the beer!!.
Sunday market is like any other worth half a day of your holiday,the organised trip was cheaper than the local bus £4 return as opposed to £5.60 but glad i took local bus as we left when we wanted to as opposed to pick up time.

If you want a nice meal turn left on main strip its about 10min slow walk to "la brassa" ate there twice the steak is fantastic total bill was only a few euros more than surrounding restuarants but well worth it.

If you travel outside the normal summer holidays take a light jacket/jumper for the evenings as it does get quite "chilly" along the front in the evening.

You will be hard pushed to find a better 2/3* holiday complex for your money and i would have no hesitation in returning or recommending the cinco plazas.

Almost forgot for a holiday resort the beds were the most comfortable i have ever slept in it was like been at home.

TIP
Dont pay for tour operaters transfers thomsons for a couple were £50 for a coach and strangley £33 for a taxi a local taxi was less than £20 all prices return.

Room Tip: there are only two floors ask for high as you get the sun on balcony in the afternoon. ALL studios a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We booked this holiday on a late booking, so although we were only a couple, we had plenty of space in our 2 bedroom apartment on the 1st floor. The complex is divided into various pool areas, and we were in Plaza Amarillo, which was very peaceful. A great many Finnish people staying in the apartments, who were very pleasant, and of course spoke perfect English.
Our apartment balcony faced due west so we had sun from about 10.15am in the morning to sunset. Plenty of sunbeds available. You had to pay extra for the TV and the safe, but costs were acceptable. Had perfect nights sleep with no noise problems at all.
Use the HyperDino Supermarket which is next door, turning left out of reception. There is a complex supermarket which is expensive. eg. Fundador brandy 11.50 euros, but 8.41 euros in the HyperDino.
We used the Spinnaker restaurant above the HyperDino on a couple of occasions, which had great views during the day. The food is a bit pricey compared to some other restaurants along the main street, and very average. The New World Chinese restaurant(our favourite place to eat) on the right at the bottom of the hill, had excellent food and service, although does not look much from outside. There are many many bars and restaurants along the main strip at bottom of the hill.
We went to Spenders bar which is about half way up the hill on many occasions. Good for watching the football. Would not recommend the Bodrun Irish bar, as expensive local beer at 3 euros per pint, whereas Spenders 1.50 euros during the day. Another good bar/restaurant is Top Gun, which is along the main strip turning left at bottom of the hill, again 1.50 euros during the day for a full pint.
You need to watch out for what is described as a large local beer at a cut price to get you into the bar or restaurant. The worst case was a 330ml glass described as a large beer for 1.50 euros, when a pint in an English/Irish bar is 568ml. Did not use apartments bar as expensive.
Would definately like to go to the Cinco Plaza again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to book a 2 bedroom apartment for additional space, on 1st floor. The balcony should face south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks staying in the Cinco Plaza apts. We had a fab holiday, the apts are great, we stayed in a 1 bedroom apt, they are very clean, lots of space and clothing storage, beds are comfy, T.V, Safe, kettle, microwave, every thing you will need. Maids in most days, all the staff are very friendly, reception staff exceptionally friendly, life guards around pool all day. Apt are in a great location, supermarket next door, main strip a 2 min walk away. Close to Beach.Restuarants to Try, Spinnakers, Hong Kong 2, Oriental World, Mulligans. Nice promenades to walk along for miles.Take a day to Rancho Taxis, 3 euro in a taxi, fab place. Trip to Fuerventura just ok, expensive for what you get.
Weather was lovely, but cold at nite. Will def be back at Cinco Plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor apt if you have a child with a pram
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinco Plazas 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinco Plazas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.