We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks was too long” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bitacora Club

Save Saved
You added Bitacora Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bitacora Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 84 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 weeks was too long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are just back from two weeks at the BItacora, I've never been so bored, the accommodation was basic but very very clean, the maids were brilliant as were the staff in the shop and reception. We had two 12 year olds with us and they had absolutely nothing to do except the pool, the bar area and reception closed every night about 8.30pm so for any entertainment we had to go to the sea front down Cardiac Hill and a taxi back up. The place did try and put on entertainment a few nights a week but ther was always an excuse for it not going ahead, we paid for a BBQ with quiz etc and decided to stay for. That and it never happened, we got our food but that was it, no quiz????. I don't think I would rush back. The owners seemed very uninterested, also there was a problem with parasoles, only 4 by the time we left as 1 had disappeared , plenty sun beds but no shade.:( . We had the kids rubber dingy and my hubbies beach towel stolen in broad daylight but no one saw anything, sorry but not impressed.x

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs room as there are cock roaches all over the ground floor.x
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    170
    117
    26
    19
See reviews for
96
230
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 10 days recently. As far as apartments go it had everything we needed, it was clean and the staff could not of been more helpful. Our towels were changed every second day and the cleaners were always near by doing something. We were out alot so I can't really comment on the food or entertainment.
However I do have some things that I wasn't too impressed with. Almost everything had an extra charge, from an extra towel to a weighing scales in reception for our suitcase and wifi to name but a few. However I would still recommend the Bitacora to a friend who was not afraid of a bit of a hike, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scorland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this trip had its pros and cons.

pro : the staff where friendly and the reception was ever so helpful. although we had 3 shop keepers throughout our stay each one was lovely and considerate even though the did not speak any english. the clean rooms and pool areas where lovely and the hotel was ever so organised. the location was only a short distance away from the sea front and the marina. \

cons: we did meet the owner on a few encounters and she seemed ok but when we complained on the lack of shade the reception said the owner refused to buy any more umbrellas or gazebos. when you walkeddown to the sea front you encountered a steep hill which was not a problem going down but it was a problem getting up. the cockroach situation was ok during the day but bad at night.

Room Tip: try to get a top floor apartment as these have no bugs what so ever but some balconies look on to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week and was just so so. The complex is divided in 2 separated by the main road. We were allocated in the complex on the far side of the road. Once we went in there it felt more like we were in our own private apartment. There was no atmosphere of people being on holidays and there was no communication with the reception staff at all. If you are going to stay here and possibly meet others on holidays, I would try requesting a room on the reception side of the road.

In relation to the rooms they were nice and spacious. There were three of us in the apartment so one of us had to sleep on the couch, I drew the short straw but it was fine, the couch was suprisingly comfortable!

Where the complex is situated would not be advised for anyone who struggles uphill in anyway! It is up at the very top of the hill that Puerto Del Carmen is known for. We did however near the end of the week discover that if we went a little further uphill it was a less steep walk back to the town (Weird I know but try it and it works!)

In general if you want just a room to stay in and not mingle with anyone outside of your group then this is a perfect place. However if you are there to try and be on a holiday where you meet other people I would maybe advise to look elsewhere.

As I said I didnt see any of the staff from the moment we checked in to departing to know if they were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just got back from a 1 week stay at the Bitacora with my boyfriend and we did not want to leave!
Basic complex yet good enough to satisfy everybody.
We arrived late afternoon to be greeted by Marco at reception who was very helpful to give us all necessary information of the hotel and surrounding areas. He gave us our key (room 225) which was good enough for us, at the back of the complex with a balcony over looking for the pool. Only downside was that in the evenings it was in the shade. The rooms was well equipped with a double hob, microwave, toaster and kettle. Other equipment included cutlery, a bottle opener, plates, bowls and mugs. I would recommend taking a tin opener if self catering. There was also a tv in the bedroom with English channels at no extra cost. Only down side to the room itself was that the bedroom had two single beds rather than a double.
We also payed extra for a safe as advised by Marco at reception, it was 13 euros for the week with a 3 euro deposit. We payed out or the wi fi which was 25 euros for the week and could allow us to connect our iPhones all times of the day which worked everywhere in the hotel including our apartment, however it only worked on one phone at a time and often in the bedroom it would disconnect.
During the whole week we only used the hotel restaurant twice which was at breakfast. It was 3.50 euro each for a full English breakfast which was cheap enough although lower prices along the sea front.
The hotel shop was very useful, selling everything you would need at around the same prices as shops along the front.
Sunbeds were not a problem, however a huge shortage of umbrellas which seemed a problem with families who had small children, although this didn't affect us.

Only bad pointers were that one night there was a Spanish birthday party going on in one of the apartments until early hours of the morning, and were also screaming and shouting and using the swimming pool. As there was nobody on reception, or any staff at this time they were able to get away with it.
We also realised that the whole time we were there our room was not cleaned once, however we saw the cleaners around every day? We only had our towels changed once or twice!

Overall we had an enjoyable stay at the Bitacora and are already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: Email in advance to request a second floor room with pool view and air conditioning! Wear shoes at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet location only a short walk down a hill to the beach front. (Taxi back up for €3.00) Clean an adequate apartment would definitely stay there again but poor evening entertainment an not much going on for children of 8 years an above but as i travelled with friends it didnt bother me.
Plenty of sun beds but only 5 umberellas between 60 ish apts!!!! We got sunburn because there was not enough shade even though we were careful with the sun cream. Did point this out to reception staff but all they could say was they know its a problem but the owners won't buy any more sunshades!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We hired appts privately in the residential side of this complex through friends, but were warmly welcomed by the staff around the reception/pool/bar area. Staff all appeared friendly, helpful and polite especially the lady who works in the shop. She was so lovely to all the children and was extremely helpful when the goggles we bought - and opened - did not fit our granddaughter, changing them twice without any hesitation and offering a refund or replacement without quibble. We were slightly disappointed to see the 2nd pool was not in use and taped off, and consequently looked a bit unclean while we were there, but there were plenty of sunbeds on the other side and we never once had a problem claiming beds at whatever time of the day we arrived. I saw no territorial laying out of towels at the crack of dawn either so hopefully the manager's diligence is paying off.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we weren't there much, but played bingo one afternoon and won a prize. The families staying there all seemed very happy, but we personally found the bar prices quite high for food and drinks, and the place itself a bit far out for us.

Incidentally, we were there the day the stag party arrived, and it's true, they were in high spirits and perhaps a bit loud, but actually we chatted to them a few times over the next couple of days and they were nice lads, just enjoying themselves and perhaps a bit over excited on their first day. We've all been there, haven't we? I've heard a lot worse round many pools from family men! And they mostly carried their drinks upstairs as far as we saw.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bitacora Club 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitacora Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.