We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family friendly budget complex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bitacora Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bitacora Club to your Saves list
Bitacora Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice family friendly budget complex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We hired appts privately in the residential side of this complex through friends, but were warmly welcomed by the staff around the reception/pool/bar area. Staff all appeared friendly, helpful and polite especially the lady who works in the shop. She was so lovely to all the children and was extremely helpful when the goggles we bought - and opened - did not fit our granddaughter, changing them twice without any hesitation and offering a refund or replacement without quibble. We were slightly disappointed to see the 2nd pool was not in use and taped off, and consequently looked a bit unclean while we were there, but there were plenty of sunbeds on the other side and we never once had a problem claiming beds at whatever time of the day we arrived. I saw no territorial laying out of towels at the crack of dawn either so hopefully the manager's diligence is paying off.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we weren't there much, but played bingo one afternoon and won a prize. The families staying there all seemed very happy, but we personally found the bar prices quite high for food and drinks, and the place itself a bit far out for us.

Incidentally, we were there the day the stag party arrived, and it's true, they were in high spirits and perhaps a bit loud, but actually we chatted to them a few times over the next couple of days and they were nice lads, just enjoying themselves and perhaps a bit over excited on their first day. We've all been there, haven't we? I've heard a lot worse round many pools from family men! And they mostly carried their drinks upstairs as far as we saw.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    225
    135
    31
    20
See reviews for
124
278
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely quiet appartment block. Spotless pool but a liittle chilly. Block of appartments and surrounding area spotless. nice bar ( thanks for everything Jenny ) and realy helpfull staff and Marco on reception could'nt have been more helpfull. A bit of a hill to sea front but walking a pleasure in lovely weather. very handy shop on site and good safe security gate. will be back asap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First time I have stayed at Bitacora, and will definitely stay there again. The apartments are basic, but clean and well maintained. Reception bright and welcoming. 2 swimming pools, well maintained and clean, as is the general pool area.
There is also a small shop on site, which sells basically everything, drinks, food, suncream etc....
Pool bar was awesome, ran by a very friendly English family. Food and drinks served throughout the day and early evening at very good prices.
Have been to Lanzarote 10+ times and this was one of the best visits I have had!
Well done Bitacora crew!!!

Room Tip: All apartments face the pool so there is no difference, although some balconies face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Manager at Bitacora Club, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is always a great pleasure to get such positive feedback , and to know we have helped people to have a memorable holiday.
I will pass your comments on the Jenny and the crew in the bar, and we hope to see you back again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just walked in home and feel I must leave a review about the Bitacora Club. The staff are all wonderful from Reception to the ladies who clean the apartments. Really friendly in the café/bar with Jenny and her great family. Lovely welcome from Marco who offered to answer any questions we may have. The apartment was spotless. The shop just 40 metres from our room was really handy for the warm crusty bread, milk etc. Pool was lovely. No shortage of sunbeds but I guess the resort wasn't full. Perhaps one or two more umbrellas needed. On Friday, the day before we left, a stag party of around 10 young men arrived and spoilt the afternoon by using obscene language and raucous behaviour round the pool as well as ignoring the manager's instructions to keep glasses within the allowed area. We didn't feel able to leave a complaint as we were leaving in the early hours of the following morning. This being said we had such a lovely time at the Bitacora and met some wonderful people. We can't wait to return. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerhanlon, Manager at Bitacora Club, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. And we are so glad you had a great stay with us here in Bitacora.
I will pass your comments on to all the staff, Marco and Jenny and the cleaners.
The group of lads on the stag weekend calmed down I am glad to say after that first afternoon. And did not cause problems for the rest of their 3 day stay. (They were warned by me, if they made noise at night, and disturbed other guests, that they would be asked to leave.)
We hope to see you back with us again in the near future, and thanks once again for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at Bitacora club the overall impression is its value for money with no frills. Complex is cleaned to a good standard the maids always hard at work as did the maintainence man so no problems with that side of things. A few small issues we had with our stay, the sleep quality we had in room 202 which is above the bar was not good we were awoken numerous times as the room also backs near to reception be aware!! On arrival we checked in but later that evening realised we had been given no information on brekfasts as we booked B&B so we visited reception in morning for the information. Breakfast is served from 9am, we thought this was a little late but on the plus side we were also told you could have it as late as you wished and not upto 12 as the man on reception told us. On the breki side i myself am vegetarian so was a little alarmed to see that breakfasts are not buffet style but order from menu instead but this was no problem as vegi breki was an option. Have to say could not complain with the vegi option, 2 eggs, hash browns, beans, toast. mushrom, but what did put me off was the fact that bacon and sausages seemed to be cooked on same plate as vegi options, in my opinion i would have thought these would be kept seperate. on summing up these are good value 2 key apartments and if your on a budget they are fine. Thankyou to jack who worked behind the bar and cooked breakfasts who sometimes seems to single handed run this side of things maybe a little help would not have gone a miss!!

Room Tip: Pooi view but not above bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

just back from a great week at the bitacora it was the first time my husband and i had stayed there and would have no problem returning .i found the staff and reception marco im sure thats his name very helpful friendly and pleasant and really could not do enough, the bar staff were great always a smile and a joke and did their best to try get a bit of bingo going .i had emailed ahead and asked for an upstairs apartment which was ready for me when i arrived the place is spotless and the cleaners are very hard working so i cant understand some of the comments about it been filthy and i did not see one cockroach or ant in the week i was there ,i stayed in 225 and was very happy with the apartment, hoping to go back we had a lovely time in lanzarote aqnd have been there many times over the years and i would like to say that we ate in lots of places but spinnikers over the hiperdino and el poril down in the harbour beside the kids playground would have been favorites such great friendly staff and good decent food

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

As promised Marco, another glowing review for this complex on tripadvisor within 24 hours.
As the title says, this is our fourth visit in 14 months, need i say more....
We have had thoughts of buying our own apartment, but with the quality and value of the bita cora it makes no sense.
Without repeating my self too much from my other reviews, the complex was still spotless, staff polite and no issues at all over sunbeds. Plenty to go round and no need to put your towels down at silly o clock in the morning!
Our batteries on the remote went dead, but as soon as the maintenance man came on duty, the remote was replaced, with a smile.
Marco, on reception, was working the whole of the week we were there, all day, every day due to staff holidays, and yet he still had a smile and pleasant word for us.
Please feel free to ask any questions, cause if we could sell up her and move home and dog to Lanzarote this is where we would stay! x

Room Tip: There are a variety of options where rooms are concerned, so if you want sunshine or shade, if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bitacora Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitacora Club

Address: Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bitacora Club 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value and great location, quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the old town, and main promenade, then look no further. Our 2 star complex is clean and well appointed. All apartments have kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and 2 ring hob. The bedroom has 2 single beds. The living room has a sofa which doubles up as a single bed. The apartments sleep 3. But if kids are small (under 12) we can take a 4th person. For this you have a rollaway bed, and a supplement of 5 euro per day. Cots for infants are free. We change the sheets once a week, towels twice a week and clean your apartment 3 times a week. If you require extra towels, sheets, you can order these from reception for a charge. We have one block which has air con. This is the block with pool view and sun all day long. The supplement for the air con is 5 euro per day. From June to end of October, we do not accept requests for this block, as it is only available for those who wish to avail of the aircon (and pay the 5 euro supplement). Our TV, which is free, has ITV, Sky News, BBC1, RTE 1 and RTE 2. We have a friendly family run pool bar which provides breakfast and snacks throughout the day. 3 nights a week there is dinner and entertainment. Reception is open from 09.00 to 13.00 and from 16.00 to 21.00.WE NOW HAVE WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitacora Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bitacora Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitacora Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.