We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Los Jameos Playa to your Saves list
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Arriving at this hotel we were impressed with the lovely reception & the offer of champagne on checking in. The hotel is large but our room was in a block (Los Lobos) that over looked the sea so we were very happy. The walk onto the front and the beach is through some beautifully kept gardens and the resort itself offered enough variety of bars and restaurants to cater for every taste for great for a week away. The restaurant in the hotel offered the most amazing variety of food mostly buffet but some cooked to order eggs/fish etc, the only issue was that it was very manic, loads of people all wandering around with plates stacked high with food looking for a table, brilliant for families but we are used to sitting in a quiet restaurant soaking up the local atmosphere.

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor of the Los Lobos block as it was away from the pool area over looking the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** and for sharing your friendly review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and that you were happy with your sea view room.

Our Chefs aim to provide a choice of food that matches the various preferences of our guests and it is a pleasure to read that the variety of food was able to exceed your expectations.

In order to avoid peak-times in our restaurant we recommend to have dinner early i.e. around 18:00 p.m. or from 20:00 p.m. onwards.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and it would be with great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    485
    140
    38
    11
See reviews for
751
765
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This real great place gives the whole family an excellent base to spend a great time and experience. Wonderful site with beautiful pool areas and a dreamlike restaurant outside the building. Grand scaled building where you also can find quiet zones.
I advice to try it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** and for recommending our hotel to the traveller community.

It is a pleasure to hear that your family spent a great time with us and that you enjoyed the pool areas and restaurants, as our hotel aims to provide a range of facilities catering to the needs of adults and children alike.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and remain with our best wishes.

Kind regards,

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

First time on Lanzarote, chose hotel though recommendation of both Bath Travel and Trip Advisor. Arrived to delightful welcome from desk staff, lovely sea view room which was attractively furnished with all facilities.
Food was delicious and varied, fish, and huge variety of meats, tasty vegetables and desserts. At lunchtime we enjoyed the soups and there was always a good selection of fruit. The staff were superb, so hard working but always friendly and courteous.
Sports facilities were again very good, lots of classes which were very well run, the sauna, steam room and pool all well maintained. Mini golf, pétanque and in the evening a good variety of entertainment.
There is easy access to the white sand beach through the garden and across a service road.
On our second day an elderly lady suffered a heart attack but although in fact died twice the staff continuously worked to resuscitate her until paramedics arrived and she was taken to hospital and survived. This was yet another example of the excellence of the staff who worked in teams to preserve her life.
This is certainly a good example of a very well run hotel - will we return? Yes we are returning with our daughters next month as a week was not enough!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for staying at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** at your first visit to Lanzarote and for sharing your feedback with the traveller community.

It is a pleasure to hear that the service, the facilities and the food fulfilled your expectations. Thank you in particular for your praise about our staff that proved their dedication to the well-being of our guests.

We will be happy to share your kind and motivating words with the team.

It is nice to read that you took the chance to enjoy some of our classes as well, and that you liked our wellness and pool area.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next month- this time with your daughters- and will do our utmost to also make your next stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

With kind regards,

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel in the last week of February and first week of March. We were delighted with it.

As others have said, it is huge. However, this just meant that the facilities were also very wide ranging, well maintained and covered everything we could think of. There is tennis, archery, shooting, mini-golf, tables for backgammon and chess, shops, wellness centre and nudist area to name but a few. There are 2 pools. One is a walk in pool and this one was heated whilst we were there (February into March). There is also a children's pool and a baby pool, plus a koi carp pond.

We had no problems getting sunbeds although the mattresses ran out on fine days. There is a "club house" where you can change your towels if needed and also small cubicles by the pool where you can change.

Food is provided in a restaurant with outside seating as an option (with patio heaters on cooler evenings) and the selection of food is amazing and of high quality. Our only slight criticism came from the fact that the hot food is provided in this outdoor area. That meant that, even were food was cooked in front of you, it did lose heat quite quickly so might not suit those who like food piping hot. Having said that we had no tummy trouble so it didn't compromise the freshness of the food. The restaurant and bar staff were excellent, they worked extremely hard and yet were always friendly and pleasant.

The main building houses a large seating area with balconies, lots of comfortable seating, coin operated PCs, shops, reception and a small museum of country life.

You can walk out of the rear of the hotel grounds (beautifully landscaped) into a small arcade of shops with 2 supermarkets a little further on. It is situated on Play de los Pocillos which is much quieter than Puerto del Carmen. Carmen is a long walk or a short bus trip away.

We travelled with First Choice and they book ground floor rooms, which was a bit of a disappointment to us. However, the room was large and well furnished with plenty of storage and a nice bathroom. We had a quiet, walled patio outside and were actually quite happy with it. The TV is flat screen and offers a range of English Language programmes (although mostly news or films).

On a general point, the weather was dry, sunny on most days but with a strong wind most of the time.

Room Tip: My only point here would be to think about the sun and direction of the prevailing winds in terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for staying at Seaside Los Jameos Paya **** and for sharing your detailed holiday report with the traveller community.

It is a pleasure to read that you spent a delightful holiday with us and took the time to explore the various facilities of our hotel.

Your kind words regarding the service of our bar and restaurant staff as well as the high quality food are very motivating for the team and will certainly be shared with the respective departments.

Furthermore we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room. However please don’t hesitate to contact our Reservation Department should you have questions about your room type. Our colleagues will be glad to inform you about the different categories.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A lovely hotel in the most beautiful gardens. Staff members are helpful and so friendly.My husband had his birthday while we were there and we were treated like honoured guests with a special table decorated with flowers, and delicious cava to drink.Food is plentiful and the freshly cooked steaks and fish particularly good.The salads were superb.
The spa area was a bit of a shock - nude guests in the majority ( German I think): felt too intimidated to return!
Our room location was a disappointment - I hadn't realised there was a category system and, although we were allowed to change rooms after experiencing some loud mechanical noise from adjacent shops/restaurants, it had to be another ground floor room. These rooms do not seem to get any sun. As the weather was rather cold, I felt chilly for most of the week. Worth checking when booking, that you can have a room higher up. The bed was also very hard, but that's my personal taste! The decor was very tasteful.
Although the food was great, the dining experience was not very relaxing - very 'canteen' style with lots of noise and bustle. On 2 occasions, our table was cleared while we had gone to choose our next course from the buffet! With so many guests to feed, I cannot see how else this could be organised - unless some of the ground floor bedrooms were converted into extra dining areas !!
The hotel location is perfect for strolling or cycling along the walkway and beach ( when it's not so windy!)

Room Tip: Check what category you are being given when booking. I was unaware that there is a difference, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor and for mentioning the helpful staff members, the good food and the beautiful gardens.

We are very sorry that you were not aware of the different room categories.

Our Standard A rooms are all located on the ground floor. Type B rooms are located between 1st and 4th floor and the Double C rooms between 2nd and 4th floor.

It will be our pleasure to help if you require any assistance in finding the perfect room type for you. Our Reservations Department can be reached on following email address: reservas@seaside-hotels.com

Furthermore we wish to apologize that on two occasions your table had been cleared too early. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our restaurant team.
Thank you once again for review; we look forward to being your host again soon.

Sincerely,

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is huge and there is one buffet style restaurant. So the variety of food on offer is very large. But. If you are a vegetarian like my wife you have a real problem. She was reduced on one evening to some pasta, vegetables and spaghetti sauce to try and make up a main course. Every main course is a meat course. Even the mushroom taglietella had bacon floating around in the sauce.

If you like meat the food is fine. Recommend the steaks, freshly cooked on the grill. A bit small but the chef will give you two! Avoid the orange juice for breakfast - undrinkable, but the smoothies are fine.

As others have mentioned finding a table is challenging as there are no greeters to show you to a table and there is a general air of chaos. If you want a roll, for example, there is bread (excellent by the way) in one place, plates somewhere entirely different, butter somewhere else and a cutlery somewhere else again. So people are wandering around from station to station trying to assemble everything they need. It really is not rocket science to put the butter next to the bread.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a lot to do in the way of sports. They even have squash and archery.

Free but unreliable wifi. It kept giving me an authorisation error on a open connection - made no sense. But it worked often and long enough to pick up what I wanted. You pay extra to use the room safe and the PCs in the lobby are coin operated. I really object to cheapskate measures like this in a four star hotel.

I am not saying this is a terrible hotel. It is generally fine and I would stay there again, but my wife wouldn't unless they seriously work on the menus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****.

We are glad to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your holiday with us and that our friendly team could contribute to make your visit a pleasant one.

However we regret to learn that we did not entirely live up to your expectations.

It is true that we are not specialized in vegetarian food, but with an ample salad bar, pasta, rice, potatoes and fresh vegetables we strive to offer our vegetarian guests a wide selection of meals.
Be assured that we took good note of all your comments and that we constantly review our food offer in order to meet the changing demands of our guests.

However in regards to the different stations in our restaurant please be informed that the butter can be found among the dishes that need to be cooled and therefore we have not placed it right next to the bread. Nonetheless we will check with our Restaurant-Team if we can improve something in this area.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this Hotel based on the overall trip advisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The hotel is fantastic, it has a casual atmosphere, the staff are quietly efficient and friendly. the food is good but after 7 days is a bit overwhelming. Bar facilities are good and we never struggled to find something to suit our taste.
What I did notice was the Senior Management Team in the Dining Room every day which i though was great.
Forget about towels on the sun beds there are loads for everyone but in 7 nights we managed to find a seat in the lounge for evening entertainment on 1 occasion. Its just too small for the number of people on site. That said the piano bar was good and the staff here are outstanding.
The transfer from the airport takes all of about 20 mins... e waited on he coach for over an hour before we left the airport. i'd recommend taking a taxi from the airport to the hotel. The taxi from the hotel to the airport cost 10 euro.

All things considered this was a good holiday

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Nigel,

We wish to thank you for having chosen the Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** for your vacation and for leaving a feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your comment regarding the efficient service of our staff is highly appreciated. The presence of our Senior Management in the restaurant indeed aims to ensure a flawless operation at dinner time.

On a future visit please do not hesitate to contact our staff, should you encounter difficulties in finding seats in the Belingo Bar. Our team will be glad to furnish you with additional seats.

Regarding the transfer, we regret that you had to wait for your coach at the airport, however these operation is organized by the tour operator as a third party which unfortunately we as a hotel have no influence on.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments with us and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Los Jameos Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.