We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Los Jameos Playa to your Saves list
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Biggar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Diappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Bad points first - This hotel had been recommended by a friend who was there in January obviously when hotel was not as busy, but we wont be back, mealtimes felt as if we were participating in a rabid chimpanzee's tea party, this may be because hotel was full and tables etc were snapped up, had to go to piano bar and come back again on numerous occassions and we had to go and choose meals seperately in order to keep the table, as extremely rude guests just sat at empty tables, also had to queue for food up to 15 mins, so by the time I was back at the table with my dinner my husband was finished his.As mentioned before you have no chance of a sunbed after 8:30am and the rules which are signposted in different languages are not adhered to never saw any member of staff removing towels from them! would have been better if there was at least 1 sunbed on your balcony as that is where we spent most of our time! Evening entertainment was diabolical, only one night we could say we enjoyed it, daily entertainment - although I have never experienced Butlins felt this was a good impressoin of a trip to Butlins except with sun. Staff were the best thing about this hotel, they were extremely pleasant, and kept the hotel immaculate. was glad to see British TV programs as after dinner and experiencing dire entertainment we were in our bed most nights watching tv earlier than we do at home. Did not sleep well as our room seemed to be on the floor where the staff dispensed laundry to other parts of the hotel so noise from trolleys wakened us every night between 4:15am and 5:30am, and as hotel was full no chance of being moved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for publishing your review regarding your recent holiday.

Although it is a pleasure to learn that our staff did its utmost to make your stay an enjoyable one we are truly disappointed that we were not able to entirely meet your expectations.

Within peak times we try to avoid waiting times as best as we can, but unfortunately it is not entirely possible, especially at the live cooking stations where the food is being prepared à la minute. However should our guests not wish to wait for a free table on the terrace, we advise to take a table within our restaurant.

Furthermore our staff always strives to ensure that all guests behave in a polite and considerate manner towards others, but please understand that we can not control every guest. We fully understand your frustration in this regard and wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Once again we wish to thank you for your valuable comments that help us to improve every day and hope you give us another chance to exceed your expectations!

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    483
    139
    38
    11
See reviews for
749
761
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trimdon CoDurham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent hotel. ,,,,......staff always polite and would do anything to help you. All buffett meals were excellent with a good choice of food.One slight problem could be sunbeds towels were taken off beds before 9.00am but placed on a small table beside the beds.....this did not deter people who still reserved them. All in all it was a very good hotel and I hope to be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Room in main building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

Since we strive to offer our guests a great variety of food we are happy to hear that you where satisfied with the food and the choice you had.

In regards to the reservation of sunbeds in the best spots we are happy to inform you that we are currently removing towels from those loungers that have not been occupied for about 2 hours.

In the name of the entire team I would like to thank you again for vacationing with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just arrived back having had a 11 day stay from Sept 24th to Oct 5th wished we had booked in for 14 days
Food was excellent with the theme nites very good plus the fresh fish and carvery gave you plenty of choice
Hotel and rooms were spotless and the staff happy to sort out any issues you may have plus the bar staff were always cheerful with the drinks being the real thing - like the wines and the fact it was served in real glasses unlike last year were we had plastic glasses
Location very good and would recommend everyone having ago on the putting green even Tiger Woods would struggle but great fun
Pool great and always kept cool enough to have a dip with plenty of sun loungers available but i was informed this was because the hotel wasonly two thirds full
Nite entertainment could be improved then it would be a 5 star
Would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Book a third or fourth floor room either over the pool or sea view - we had a sea view which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa guest,

We wish to thank you for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor and are pleased to hear that you were entirely satisfied with every aspect of our hotel.

It has been a pleasure to read that you spent wonderful days here and that you have been very pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team

Once again thank you for your positive comments which encourage us in our work and which is a huge motivation to continue in doing our utmost to meet the expectations of our guests or even exceed them.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience with the online community on TripAdvisor

Our very best regards

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

All in all, we had a superb stay here. We stayed from 26/9 to 3/10 on an all inclusive basis.

Food was a real plus. Excellent daily choice, though the brekkie became a tad predictable by the end of the hols! Only a minor gripe was that some of the food was lukewarm on occasion. The themed evenings were generally good, though I found the oriental evening slightly underwhelming in terms of diversity. But the Italian and Mexican night was top notch.

Our rooms were very high calibre. Neat, tidy and very well kept by the maids. Lovely balcony to enjoy a calm 5 mins in the sun too. Excellent facilities around the hotel. We made good use of the gym, table tennis, squash and tennis on a daily basis.

The pool was nice and always cool enough to have a dip. There has been a lot said on here about the drama surrounding sun beds. We didn't have any issues at all - everyone needs to chill out and be patient. We found a lovely spec and made some great acquaintances with couples from London and Warrington - great people.

The drinks on the all inclusive were the real deal. The whiskey, brandy, vodka etc were not imitation; no complaints from our group on that score. A good selection of cocktails on AI too - we were very partial to the piña coladas, magaritas and SOB by the time we left!

A final word to the brilliant entertainment team Jenny and Reda. Two fantastic characters who exuded enthusiasm and facilitated a wide range of activities. They were great value and a right laugh. Give those a guys a pay rise.

The evening entertainment was ok. But over a bit too soon for our liking with shows lasting only approx 45mins.

One cautionary note, the hotel charge more for excursions than the independent travel company that is based on the seafront around the corner. We found this bizarre, eg a shopping trip via the hotel is 12€ each, whereas it's 4€ off site for the identical excursion! The hotel really should find the best deal for its punters?

Room Tip: Go for floor 3 with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Aug 22 for 14 nights
This was our 3rd time back to the jameos all incl. while we enjoyed our stay we were a bit disappointed no dressing gowns or slippers in the room; Yes there where some rude guests but thats no fault of hotel.
Food was out of this world for breakfast lunch and dinner rooms were spotless we were in room 1037 ground we asked for garden view but we got just a wall didnt matter as we didnt stop in room As for sunbeds on our first day we couldnt get two togeather would prefer the parsoles to be movable as we cannot aford to get burned. All in all we are gong back again Brid

Room Tip: corner suites are larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experiences with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** once more however we terribly regret that this time your room was not completely to your liking. As it is our greatest effort to guarantee you all comforts, we attach great importance to ensure that each guest according to their personal needs and requests chooses his room. For this reason we are very anxious to give a detailed description of the types of rooms, terms of equipment and view in the catalogs of the tour operators.

Further more we would like to inform you that the classification of our room categories does not just depend on the level of floors, but also depends on size and equipment. The superior rooms type C and upwards are for example all equipped with bathrobes, slippers, a DVD-player, tea and coffee making facilities and are situated on the higher floors. We are always thankful if our guests contact us immediately, should they not be entirely satisfied with something as we assist you with pleasure solving this situation for you and make you enjoy your stay with us to the full.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon. If we can help you any further with the booking process please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards

Beate Sekula
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 15th - 26th Sept 2013, was expecting a lot as was advertised as "Luxe" in brochure so was a bit disappointed when we had no tea/coffee facilities however we did have a fridge and tv with british channels. We are not big drinkers so a night at the tv after evening meal was quite relaxing after all we did,t want to miss first episode of Downton!!! Hotel was in good location with shops bars restaurants and beach nearby, good job as we had to spend few days at beach as we couldn,t get a sunbed at hotel although most of them only had towels on them and no sunbathers! Found this very annoying and can,t believe how selfish people can be. Nightly hotel entertainment left a lot to be desired with the usual magicians, spanish dancers, bingo etc. Food was good but tables quite close together and very busy in the middle of meal times and sometimes struggled for a table. Staff were all very pleasant and rooms were clean and comfortable. Returning in March but already booked different hotel before our stay in Jameos so will review La Geria Hotel late March.

Room Tip: Upgrade to B or C room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for mentioning our pleasant staff, the good food and the cleanliness of our Seaside Los Jameos Playa ****.

We are sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectation in all areas but wish to assure you that all of your comments have been noted and will be discussed with the Management-Team.

In regards to the sun beds please be informed that we will introduce a new procedure at the beginning of the next season. However we wish to let you know that our Pool Boy always helps to organize free sunbeds.

Furthermore as of November we will also provide tea and coffee making facilities in our Category B-Rooms. Our guests booked in a Category A- or a Family Room may hire an electric kettle at our reception.

Once again we wish to thank you for your friendly review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After an impressive relaxing holiday last year, we decided to return to this relaxing hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When booking (direct with the hotel) we requested a sea view room similar to last year, when checking in we were amazed to be given the exact same room. Despite our early arrival (1000hrs) we were shown to our room, which once again was welcoming and spotlessly clean, complete with complimentary bottle of Cava and two bottles of red wine! The quality of food was good last year, however we noticed an improvement both on selection and quality this time! The staff were attentive and very helpful, however they were understaffed at busy times. On our anniversary evening the hotel provided a decorated table (again complete with cava) for ourselves and friends. Throughout our stay all of the staff were pleasantly helpful, but a special mention to Felix and Theresa at the pool bar who made our lunch times so enjoyable and David in the piano bar. We are currently planning next years trip to this hotel, we could not give a better recommendation. Our only small gripe would be the sun bed situation! We identified that some guests were leaving towels prior to 7am but not returning until lunch time or later. The hotel has a policy of moving unattended towels off sun beds prior to 9am, however this not carried out regularly. During our stay there was a purge on unattended towels, but the staff simply folded the towels and placed them on tables between beds, Guests then returned, put the towels back on the beds and disappeared again! If you have a policy, make it work and remove unattended towels to a collection point. We did not encounter this issue last year.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel and forward your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Sekula, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review posted on Tripadvisor.

We are so glad to hear that you once again had an impressive relaxing holiday in our Seaside Los Jameos Playa **** and truly appreciate your kind words.

Felix, Theresa and David were thrilled to hear about your special mention!

To keep our guests from reserving sunbeds is really an ongoing challenge for us. However we are happy to inform you that we will try out a new policy concerning this issue at the beginning of next season and are sure that you will see an improvement.

Once again we wish to thank you for your lovely feedback and are looking forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

Beate Sekula
Assistant General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Los Jameos Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.