We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Los Jameos Playa to your Saves list
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fab holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon entering this hotel we were stunned on how beautiful it is. Outside incorporated with inside and everything finished to a high spec'. There are fantastic pools, apartments and facilities for all. From day one we were finding everything to a high class and deserves 5 star. The food was lovely, the staff very helpful and we were made to feel very special. Across the road is the beach which is lit at night and a pleasent place to walk. If I had to find a negative it would of been the entertainment. It was a let down as the acts all seem to be from outside and not done from the staff within as on some complexs. Plenty of things for children to do through the day with sports and cinema club. We would definately go again

Room Tip: Plenty of lifts but wise to ask for ground floor if having children or disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that our hotel impressed you right from the start and that in your opinion it deserves a classification of 5 stars.

The Seaside Los Jameos Playa**** has been designed according to the Cesar Manrique Style and therefore depicts the typical canarian architecture in tune with nature.

As you mention, we offer a high standard in service and take pride in the fact that our staff is always friendly and eager to help.

We also ensure that our themed buffets offer a great variety and that all culinary delights are of the finest quality adding value to your holiday experience.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the evening entertainment. Your opinion is much appreciated as it helps us to readjust our program to the guest preference.

We wish to thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sunny regards from Lanzarote,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    485
    139
    38
    11
See reviews for
751
763
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Herewith is a fair and balanced review of our recent stay at the Jameos, in Lanzarote.
We were there for 1 week over half term in Oct 2012.

Hotel is a quick 10 min ride from Aricefe airport.

a) Checkin

Generally was a bit slow. Staff very helpful once you get through the queue. I can't help thinking that checkin in hotels could benefit from what airlines have done, ie, checkin at home and bring the confirmation printed with you, and hand over the keys!

b) Hotel look and feel

4 Star hotel, that feels like a 5 star. Definitely a 4-star +
Big hotel, lots of space, well designed around a large pool. Lots of sunbeds, reception on the top floor, make sure you don;t mind climbing stairs! I saw a few elderly people struggling with the 2 flights of stairs needed to get between the pool and reception

c) Food review

We stayed all inclusive. This is a major benefit and i would encourage all to use this option. you pay a little more but the food quantity, quality and general family needs (juice, water, coffees through the day) make it a major win. Food quality was "good", quantity was plentiful with lots of food stations, lots of fresh bread of different types (Germans in particular will love the German rolls and pretzels), eggs 3 ways, omelete stations. for breakfast. Theme nights every night, Spanish, Italian, Swiss, Chinese etc. Lots of staff, very little queues for food. Well organised, well done! New toasters needed - as i had to put my bread through 7 times to brown them!

d) Pool review

My major problem with this hotel. Why is the pool not heated !?
You have 1,000 people staying at this hotel and only 10 people are brave enough to get in the water. Kids dont care, they jump in, then they get sick. The hotel claimed the pool was heated - not good enough. I'd rather pay an extra £5 a day to guaratee a warm pool, it really makes or breaks my holiday.

Fresh towels supplied each day by the hotel. Excellent

Watch out for the Germans reserving sun beds at 7am. You';ll need to do the same to get the best spaces around the pool.

e) Room review

We had a family room. A double bed (2 single pushed together), a two single beds either side. Room clean, spacious. Pillows a bit uncomfortable and had to order more. But generally a great room.

f) Kids Club

The excellent Maja (i think thats her name) ran the kids club. Fantastic girl, the kids all had fun!

g) Hotel facilities

Fantastic facilities at this hotel. Highly recommended. 4 tennis courts, boules, darts, archery, table tennis, pool, a spa, hairdresser. All pretty much available, even with 1,000 people staying. Well done again Los Jameos!

h) Beach review

Great beach outside the hotel, with organised sun beds. Beach sand is blackish as the island is Volcanic

i) Lanzarote Island

Must see the Volvanic landscape on the way to the active volcano. Looks like its off a film set.
Volcano itself worth a quick visit. Playa Blanca worth a visit as it has a lovely beach promenade for the kids, with some nice restaurants along the beach.

My kids had an amazing time here. Get the pool sorted and this is a 5 star experience

Room Tip: Get a family room, go all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

First of all we like to thank you for the time and effort you invested to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you and your kids had a lovely time in our hotel and enjoyed the service, the facilities and the good food.

We would like to apologize if there was a little waiting time at check-in. Unfortunately this is rather difficult to avoid if large groups arrive at the same time. Besides during the check-in procedure we always like to give a few minutes of personal attention to our guests to make them feel warmly welcomed and to give them all the necessary information.

Regarding your comments concerning the access to the pool area we would like to inform you that we do have a lift available for all guests preferring to make use of it.

We also would like to emphasize that one of our freshwater pools is always heated, having a temperature between 24º and 26º degrees Celsius.

The reservation of sun beds at the pool is in fact not permitted at the Seaside Los Jameos Playa. Please understand that during peak season it is impossible for us to control every guest. We inform our guests however that towels laid down on sun beds which have not been used for a while will be removed by our staff.

Your comments are certainly of great value as they enable us to identify any weak spots and improve our services every day, so we are indeed very grateful for your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on Lanzarote and at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

With kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just spent a lovely week at the Los Jameos Playa.

Good points - the restaurant staff work exceptionally hard, the food is good for an AI hotel, swimming pools are good size heated, short transfer time to the airport, nice location (opposite the beach), very child friendly, very clean hotel.

Bad points- sunbeds are still being reserved from 7am onwards, takes a long time to get served at pool bars.

We have stayed at this hotel on 4 occasions and the sunbed situation does not get any better. There are signs stating that beds cannot be reserved before 9am but these rules are just not enforced. Without exception, every day we saw sunbeds with towels draped across them from 7am onwards. Occasionally staff removed the towels and placed them next to the beds but this doesn't work as guests just return and replace them. Frequently, beds were reserved before 7am but remained unused until lunchtime, causing other guests to wander around searching for a space. Management need to understand that the majority of guests do not want to get up at 6.30am to reserve sunbeds and it leads to continuos negative comments about the same subject. This ongoing problem would tend to indicate that the hotel lacks genuine commitment about ensuring all of the guests have an enjoyable stay. Until the hotel decide to take their own policy seriously then this will always be raised as a problem.

Perhaps it's time that consideration was given to opening a beach club for guests on the lovely beach immediatley opposite the hotel. Not sure if this is possible but it would create a great option for guests who want a change of scenery from the normal pool location and it would also be attractive for parents with kids, particularily during peak times.

Overall we had a great holiday. We've stayed here 4 times and our son (9 years old) loves it. We were lucky to be here for the Halloween Show, which was incredible. The enterainment staff put on a fantastic show and should be very proud of what they produced. We will definitely go back again but hope some solution to the sunbed problem is found soon.

Room Tip: don't get a room direct;y above the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and are pleased to note that you and your family were once again satisfied with the cleanliness, the food, the pool area and the location of our hotel.

Regarding the sun beds, we try to avoid having guests blocking sun beds during the early morning hours by instructing our pool-staff to remove towels. We hope you understand that we ask our guests to follow our non-reservation policy, but unfortunately are not able to control every guest. We thank you very much for your suggestions. Please be assured that we will keep your ideas in mind and will try to find a satisfying solution.

Once again, thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on Lanzarote and at our Seaside Los Jameos Playa****.

With kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here during October tattie hols with young family. We have been to numerous AI hotels and I was very impressed with the overall quality during our stay....The choice and standard of the food was incredible. The family room was very spacious and in a quiet area.The pools were safe with a pool for every age and the depths well marked. The children had mini golf and a small park area and the fish in the pond provided entertainment for all. The other sport and leisureactivitiesareon site as well Most of the evening entertainment was 1st class....not sure about the belly dancers!......We met some lovely people on our trip here and I would suggest families go!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your personal holiday experience here on Tripadvisor.

You mentioned that in comparison with other hotels offering all inclusive you found our choice and standard of the food outstanding. This is in fact what we aim to achieve – our objective is to enhance our guests' experience beyond their expectations.

It is nice to hear that the room type was to your liking and that you and your family enjoyed the pool, the mini golf facilities and the fish pond.

We are eager to provide entertainment to the liking of everyone and therefore always have an open ear for suggestions.

It would be our pleasure to have you and your family back anytime.

Sunny regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First class food, service and location. If you want a relaxing holiday, this is it.The best hotel staff in any hotel i have stayed at. Easy access to airport and other locations.
A great holiday, thanks Martin and team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive comments like yours as they really motivate us to keep up the good work.

We are looking forward to meeting you again soon and remain at your entire disposal in the meantime.

Sunny regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is really pleasant maybe a bit tired decor wise but clean comfy and excellent food and service. It is the first time we went all inclusive and were so pleasantly surprised. The quality quantity and excellent choice available was amazing. The hotel is huge with something going on all the time and the evening entertainment was quite good. Staff very friendly and helpful we would defo go back again.

Room Tip: Must have room with View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind evaluation of our resort on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with the all inclusive offer. We do indeed put a great effort to ensure only the best ingredients are selected to prepare our delicious meals.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our entertainment program.

We are determined to keep up the good work and will do everything in our hands to ensure your next holidays with us will be just as enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent 10 Days with our 7 year old, a very good hotel the food was excellent, room & hotel spotlessly clean, would definitely go back, the hotel I would say was about 2/3 full so not to busy.
On arrival our porter took our cases to our room and then twice he refused a tip, a couple of days later we found out by looking at the staff photos in reception that our porter was in fact the hotel manager, now that's what you call service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Kuckenburg, Manager at Seaside Los Jameos Playa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Seaside Los Jameos Playa Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your opinion about the Seaside Hotel Los Jameos Playa**** on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our hotel for its cleanliness, quality of food and service.

We're always eager to assist our guests or to listen to their comments since we thrive to make their holiday’s unforgettable.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Martin Kuckenburg
General Manager Seaside Los Jameos Playa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Los Jameos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Los Jameos Playa

Address: Playa De Los Pocillos, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Los Jameos Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Los Jameos Playa is located alongside the beach of Los Pocillos in the quiet area of Puerto del Carmen. Architecturally inspired by the island style, the hotel has magnificent pools set in extensive landscaped palm gardens. Hotel guests can enjoy a wide variety of sports activities and entertainment, suitable for all ages, even for the youngest members of the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Los Jameos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote
Seaside Los Jameos Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Los Jameos Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.