We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic budget apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Azul to your Saves list
Plaza Azul
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Clean basic budget apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here end January 2013. Good and bad points. -Good - location very good, just 5 minutes from seafront which is teeming with bars and restaurants. There is a bit of a hill, but no bother with it.The apartments, though basic are very clean and well kept. The facilities are good, theres a bar and restaurant onsite as well as a pool bar.Staff were very friendly and the cleaning staff were especially good.Towels were changed nearly every day and sheets were changed twice during our stay. The pool area was lovely, very peaceful and relaxing with plenty of beds,Our apartment was on the right of the pool and had the sun all day long.Bad Points- Apartments are very small and dated. There was no dining area and the patio table and chairs doubled up as dining furniture. I've never seen this before in an apartment!. Having said that there was only two of us so it wasnt an issue really. There was no window in the bedroom as ours was on the floor so the bedroom had french doors as windows. They were extremely draughty with wind whistling through . Some of the days and nights were quite windy and chilly. There was no fan or aircon, (but I'm sure fans could be rented). This would probably a problem in summer but wasnt for us.There is a small t.v which is actually free and has a few true movies stations as well as others which was handy on one of the cold nights that we stayed in.Overall its a good clean budget complex in a nice quiet location and I would recommend for a cheap week in winter sun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    152
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
58
207
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Well - the apartments are very reasonably priced and the staff are lovely and the rooms are clean .... Ish. What put us off the place was 1.) smelly towels 2.) uncomfy beds with blankets with burns and didn't actually think changed between each different stay 3.) not regularly cleaned rooms with no routine 4.) dated units and tv. 5.) un comfortable beds around the pool. Other than that the pool area was lovely. Theres a terrace with lovely views up the wooden spiral staircase - I personally wouldn't stay again because of the towels and bedding .... :-/

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week on holiday with a friend. Place was clean rooms were big, location was pretty good very central. Don't know why people were complaining about a "hill" it's hardly a slope that you have to walk up for 100m - not a problem at all! I liked the fact that all the rooms had balconies.

Guys on reception were really helpful, made use of the pool. It was a bit annoying that wifi didn't extend to the rooms but it wasn't too much of an issue to come to reception area to use it.

Just one thing though - AVOID THE FOOD we went half board and the food choices were dire. Everything was just too greasy for me and dinner choices consisted of pizza or a piece of fried meat with chips - perhaps in the summer when business picks up they will stock better meal options?
Had a nice time overall however, would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm very happy with our stay in Plaza Azul.
It's very lovely and pleasant resort. Excellent location, just a short walk to the beach. Big, beautiful and very clean swimming pool. Reasonably prices of draft beer in the pool bar. Spacious rooms with balconies/terraces. Very helpful stuff (and ladies who clean the rooms are very nice too). Very well equipped kitchen - if you want to make a meal on your own you will find everything that you may need, plus a new, very clean refrigerator.
Firts night (we came very late in the night) we were given the rooms up to the reception - quite unpleasant because of the noise from the street and with a slight, "moulded" smell...
In the morning we were given excellent rooms opposite to the receiption - very quiet, with beautiful view, some of them have 2 balconies: to the pool and to the mountains/sea.
Great view from the roof - you will find sunbeds there!

Cons: I would replace all sheets/linen: it's clean but used. (some reviews have already mentioned it). Plus they could refurbish a little bit the rooms/bathrooms to make it more modern, to be more spotlessly clean.
But for the price we paid - complaining would be a sin...
To sum up: I highly reccomend Plaza Azul, I would choose it again.
Hint: There are also self-service washing machines near the receiption desk (we didn't use it, I don't know the price, but if you stay longer it might be very useful).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just back from a 7 night stay here. The overall complex is small & secure with only 64 apartments based around a lovely swimming pool. The communal areas are absolutely spotless being washed down & cleaned every day. The apartments are well maintained & cleaned most days . The cleaner was a pleasure, singing her way through her work. The staff were all extremely pleasant & seemed happy to be working there. There is a courtesy room for you to shower & freshen up before you leave which is a bonus. The Plaza Azul is about a 5-10 minute walk from the main strip & about a 20-30 minute stroll to the Old Town. We are enjoyed it so much we will be back in September.

Room Tip: We just asked for an upstairs room with a sunny balcony & we got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTAGranCanaria, Gerente at Plaza Azul, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear family,
Thank you very much for your opinion and thank you very much for feeling so good at Plaza Azul. You are part of our family guests, so next time you come back to Plaza Azul, we will try to do our best for giving you our spetial services such as : welcome drink, apartments with sea views, stay
in your room until your departure time and... our best smile for seeing to you once again.
You only have to send a mail to book to with us to:
booking@plazaazul.com

Thank you very much and looking forward seeing you, soon!
Kind regards,
PLAZA AZUL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to PDC .. Friends we met on our first visit recommended these apartment so we decided to try them . So very happy we did .... Very friendly place which gives it a cosy feel .. Rooms very nice with pool views ... Pool area is stunning ! . Can't really comment on the pool bar because we didn't stay round pool that much with it being February , also there was too much to see and do in the resort with it being carnival week ... But the poolside barman is a friendly chap and prices and food looked very good .we absolutely love PDC and we are so happy to find the perfect apartments . So it goes without saying we will be back again next year :)))..... Thank you Plaza Azul for a perfect holiday ... See you again soon :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Was looking for a break in the sun that would not break the bank, on the website found a good bargain staying at the plaza azul. Hotel is a two star and suited me and my husband for our needs, we paid £170 for us both for seven nights self catering. The hotel/apartments are very clean, staff freindly and helpful. This is not the best place to stay if you have difficulty working as property is up a steep road. The hotel supermarket is very basic and the supermarket opposite as is the one further down slighty exspensive. Go to bottom of hill take left walk ten min to Spar better priced. The beach is lovely very clean and the walk is stunning, as is the old town of Puerto Del Carmen. Catch a bus they are cheap and will take you most anywere you want to go. We went to Costa Tequise for the day and paid 24 euros return for us both, defo worth a visit too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Azul

Address: Calle Anzuelo 19, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Plaza Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Azul Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Azul Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.