We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Palmeras - Cheap and Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Palmeras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Palmeras to your Saves list
Plaza Palmeras
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/Anzuelo 60, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Plaza Palmeras - Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week from 13th November. We checked in mid afternoon after a 15-20 minute transfer from the airport. Our apartment was clean and functional with a large balcony. Although like many other reviews have stated, in need of a fixture and fittings upgrade. There was plenty of hot water for showers and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.

The grounds and pool area are spotlessly clean and well tended and there are plenty of sunbeds to choose from although a bit uncomfortable so perhaps bring an extra towel for comfort! There is a bar area, we paid €3 for a large beer which wasn't too bad.

The pool itself is one of the largest I have come across for the size of the complex and there is also a smaller children's pool.

There is also a supermarket attached to the apartments, although we did find it a little more expensive than the Hiper Dino nearby. In the reception area there is a room with computers for internet access and a payphone. Handy if you want to check your emails without incurring expensive roaming charges on your mobile phone. Internet access costs €1 for 15 minutes which is fine for checking emails, Facebook or Twitter.

A 5-10 minute walk takes you down to the sea front with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. Taxis are plentiful and you can get the No 61 bus to Playa Blanca and the Airport.

If you don't want to spend a lot of money on accommodation then Plaza Palmeras is a great option. As other reviews have mentioned, the rooms could do with an update but if like us you just want to use them as a base and somewhere to sleep then they are perfectly fine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    229
    125
    37
    19
See reviews for
110
262
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Six of us stayed here for a week (11-18 nov) in three apartments. I had emailed the complex a week before we travelled for three apartments close together with a pool view if possible, which is exactly what we got, one ground floor apartment and two first floor apartments opposite reception. Check in was quick and easy.

The apartments are basic but cleaned regularly, for us the only negative was the lack of an oven for warming the occasional snack, but for the price we paid it was a minor grumble.

By far the best asset was the pool area, plenty of space and no trouble getting sunbeds. The pool bar was fine, no sign of the infamous Ali though. Happy hour was a bit of a swizz as it only covered the local draught beer which in my view was horrible. The on site supermarket was generally good value and cheaper than the Hyperdino down the road.The pool area and pool was cleaned every morning by the hard working and unusually cheerful staff.

The location was good, up a bit of a hill but nowhere near as bad as the one up to the Bitacora apartments where I stayed on my last visit to Puerto del Carmen.

All in all it was a very enjoyable trip for all of us and would certainly stay here again. These apartments could do with a bit of an update but im sure the price you pay would reflect that. For us its the people you are with and meet that makes a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stay here for two weeks 1st Nov to 15th Nov, on arrival got a room that backed onto the main road if you are a light sleeper not very good at all very noisy not only traffic but other guests who come in at 4;30am shouting and swearing. Room very basic but have to say very clean, the kettle was a nightmare broken haddle lid fell off when asked for exchange told none to have but could hire one we made do, 2 of the 4 knifes were bent beyond use as we where only a couple not a problem, bathroom basic tiles cracked but again very clean, bedroom again basic but clean sheets only changed twice in two weeks, pool and pool area cleaned every day, over all hotel good for what you pay, just need some tlc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 1st - 8th November. There was 6 of us, 3 couples aged between 21 and 26. We paid £260 each for a week self catering which i think is a bargain! Booked through direct line holidays as a thomas cook package holiday, direct line could not be faulted, got a really good service from them and they were the cheapest out of all the companies i looked at. The transfer took about half an hour once we set off, the rep was helpful and polite. When we came to check in the lady on reception was really nice, and she was polite and helpful. I had emailed the hotel a few weeks before asking for me and my boyfriend to be put in a room opposite reception on the top floor. I wanted this as i had read that the rooms opposite reception were the best for views and the sun, and i wanted a high floor so no one was above us making noise. I told the lady i had emailed for us and she had said we had been allocated room 78 which was on the top floor directly opposite reception. Our friends were put in rooms 51 and 138. The lady gave us our keys, took our passports to copy and said we could have them back in an hour or so. We headed to our rooms and on arrival found them to be very clean, spacious and well equipped. We got a kettle and loads of cutlery and utensils to cook with. we never used them as we ate out every day it was so cheap. We found our room to be the best out of the 3, it had amazing views of the volcanoes and the sea and the balcony got all the sun in the afternoon. The apartment was always cool, we never had a problem with the room being too hot even though there was no air con. Our friends that had been put in room 51 didn't have as much as a good view and their door scrapped along the floor when you closed it causing an awful noise, our friends in room 138 got hardly any sun on their balcony as it seemed to come over behind them. 138 was on the same side as reception. The pool was great. Really big! i don't get why people say it's cold, i thought it was the warmest pool i've been in out of the ones i've tried in Tenerife, Benidorm and Turkey. I found it really easy to get into and once i was in it was really nice to cool off. You could sit around the pool on the sunloungers and drink you're own drinks and eat your own food, as it was self catering but there was a pool bar i was wondering if anyone would stop us but no one bothered. There were plenty of sunloungers around the pool, they were locked up till 9-9.30 and you never had trouble getting one from the stacks they had. one thing i will say is some of them are a bit dirty with mud marks on them ect, and they were extremely uncomfortable if you laid on them with nothing over it. What i did, was took a blanket from the room (in the cupboard they supply you with 3 fleecy blankets) and put it over it, then put my towel on top, and then got the cushion off the settee and used that for a pillow. It was soo comfy when i did that! The pool bar was great. We made friends with the staff, Mosa and Ahmed. Ali was on holiday so we didn't get the pleasure of meeting the man we had heard so much about but we heard lots of stories from Mosa and Ahmed and he sounds like a crazy guy! The more you drink in the pool bar, the nicer the staff are to you. We even got cheap drinks all day one day as we'd been in there that often. Then we spent 2 nights not drinking in there and they were a bit funny with us after that, and we definitely didn't get happy hour drinks all day anymore. The entertainment is ok, they make an effort and it's a good atmosphere. They do karaoke 2 nights a week, so if you're not into it, go out on a Wednesday and Saturday as it's on till about 11.30-12 and it's so loud you can hear it so clearly if you are in your bedroom, i would imagine quite annoying if you are trying to go to sleep. They also had a pig racing, games type night. They had bingo, play your cards right, pig racing (involving racing little toy pigs) and other games like that. It was fun. In the bar, the beers are 3 euros each, spirit like jack daniels and coke was 5 euros, vodka and coke was 3.50 euros. It was a bit steep but during happy hour it's buy one get one free, so you get a 2 beers for 3 euros which is not bad at all. happy hour is 4-5 and 9-10. Vodka slushes were nice and Mosa made me a beautiful strawberry daquari. We found the hotel to be easily accessible and quiet, the security guard came on at 11 we didn't see much of him he left us to it. You could hire a safe and irons, toasters ect. If you have got kids and prams ect i would recommend the bottom floor appts, you get like a garden and lots of people were bringing the sun loungers up to outside their garden/balcony bit and sunbathing right outside their appartment, ideal for if you have small children. For what we paid, we really couldn't fault the hotel one little bit. The hotel is ideally located, the walk down to the main strip takes about 7 or 8 minutes, a bit longer if you are a slow walker. The hill isn't great, but it never made us feel we wouldnt return because of it. The hotel and restaurants, bars ect were a bit quiet because of the time of year. The weather was ok, we got a few brilliant days were it was about 30 degrees, but then some days we got a bit of overcast and rain. Still it didn't stop us what we were doing and we carried on regardless as it was still so hot and it never lasted longer than an hour. Once we ventured out of the hotel, on the 1st night we went in spinnakers, it was very quiet. The food was lovely, i had a chicken kiev, it was really nice. The others enjoyed theirs too and we all agreed the food was really nice there. we got given a discount card for 15% off any drinks and food whenever we visited again, which i thought was good! We went to tequila bar every morning for breakfast. We just loved it there, and for 2.50 euros for a full english and a glass of orange you couldn't go wrong! They had other breakfasts but on the 2.50 one you got 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 fried egg, 1 toast, a tomato and beans + a glass of apple or orange juice, it was perfect for me, and sooo cheap!! We also went in there drinking one day when the football was on during the day and the cocktails were really nice and very strong! We also went to nicos twice, that was very nice, and we had 2 lovely meals. We went to Indian aroma twice, if you like indian food go there, it's the same owners as bollywood and the food was really nice! We also visited la terrazza for lunch one day but we wasn't too impressed. The food and drinks were quite expensive, i got a chicken kebab and chips, portion was tiny, chicken was unchewable and the chips weren't brilliant. Most nights we spent in the hotel bar having fun with mosa and ahmed, but we did go to centro atlantico on our 4th night. We went in VIP but they had a problem with the sound so we moved over to the big apple. We spent the rest of the night in the big apple. We loved it. It's buy one get one free on drinks all night, beers were 2 for 4 euros, cocktails were 2 for 7 euros. With our first drinks we got a free wristband, then it was a lollipop, then it went to shots and before we knew it we'd had a load of tequila slammers and were well ready for home. The staff were so nice in there and made our night out one of the best we've had. We all spent 20 euros each and were out from about half 7 till 1.30am ish. Cheap night i think!! Lanzarote is beautiful and well worth a visit, we went to the texas park and were amazed by the eagle show. The parrots and sealions were brilliant as well and there was so much to see and do. If you have kids it's a really cheap but funfilled day out. Take your swim suit as there is a splash zone which is more for kids. it's a couple of swimming pools and a kids water area that has all sorts of things to do. They have sun loungers around the pool, they also had an adult bit but it was closed when we went, not sure of the reason why though. It cost us 3 euros between 4 of us in a taxi and we paid 18 euros each to get in, I think there is a free bus but we were so close to the park we thought we'd go at our own leisure. tip: don't use the tout to book it because it's actually cheaper to pay at the door. All in all i would highly recommend plaza palmeras and Lanzarote. There is a hill to walk up and down which gets a bit steep for about a minute, but then it's alright again. A taxi costs less than 3 euros to get from the prom to the hotel so if you're not up for the walk it's that cheap you might as well get a taxi. The hiperdino which is about a 3 or 4 minute walk from the hotel is a lot cheaper than the one attached to the hotel, and it had a bigger range. They sell fresh breads, fruit and veg and we found ourselves in there every day getting bits. When we were coming home we wanted to get to the airport early and beat the queues as in past experience we haven't had much time in the airport and it's all rushed and stressful. So, we got a taxi and it cost us 12.50 euros. we checked in about 3 and a half hours before the flight was due to leave and it was really relaxed, no rushing around or being hungry because we didn't have time to get something to eat. Lanzarote airport is really nice. It's got 3 outdoor terraces where you can eat your food outside in the sun and also a place to smoke and watch the planes taking off. We got home in 3 and a half hours! set off at 5pm and landed in Manchester at 8.30pm which i thought was brilliant as it's usually at least 4 hours. All in all, had an amazing holiday. Would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to friends. I will say, if you are looking for luxury, this is not for you, but if you are looking for a cheap getaway in the sun with a great atmosphere, it most certainly is. For £260, i would not expect luxury, i would expect exactly what this hotel offered. See you in a few years Plaza palmeras.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite reception get brilliant views and the blazing sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

stayed here with my partner for a week from the 5th nov, having read previous reviews was a bit nervous what to expect. however having stayed the week we must agree with most things said, pool area was proberbly the best bit, cleaned every morning, plenty of sunbeds, no cushions,not many parasoles. rooms are very basic and could definatly do with a good re-furb, they are quite clean however and the cleaning ladies are lovely, plenty of hot water in shower just a shame the shower head didnt stay on wall, so had to hold it over yourself, we had a room facing the reception middle room, in our view this was the best side, no noise from roads ect, yes some nights the music does go on late but that didnt bother us, once in bed at the back of appartment u couldnt hear it, bar staff ok but seemed very clickie, ie if you didnt spend all your time sitting drinking there you didnt count, however we went out in the day and out to eat at night so this didnt bother us, heart attack hill as its been called is not as bad as its made out, but could be difficult for the elderly or people with pushchairs, on the whole it was ok for the cheap price and if all your looking for is a cheap getaway to a lovely island then id recommend it, id rate it at just pushing a 2 star, so if your used to 4 star and above you will be dissapointed, will we go back , no not to this accomadation im afraid, the moral of this story is dont let your other half book a holiday cos he has found a bargin before u check it out.

Room Tip: rooms facing the reception get no road noise and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week at end Oct with my partner in 1 bed apt.
Really good value and clean. OK, could perhaps now do with lick of paint and some refurb but dont forget they are a budget price.
Nice clean pool area, loads of sunbeds and space to put em, and not regemented, put your beds where you like.
No location probs, hill not really steep down to sea, and couple of bars on way back. Spinekers open late, try it cos you can sit outside on balcony to avoid the dreaded TVs
Best restaurants, cafe la ola on strip and casa roja at harbour and el marinero in old town. First 2 not cheapest but quality.
Recommend apts, especially if you can eat out and will return for good basic value.
Eddie n Christine

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from these appartments, and really just want to say they are perfect!, ok the apartments themself could do with a lick of paint but it really does'nt make a difference, they are so clean. They are in a perfect location to all the shops, bars, restaurants and lovely beach,8 euros for 2 loungers on beach which i thought was reasonable. There are always plenty of beds round the pool, in fact dont think I've been anywhere with so many and they are chained up till 9.30 so nobodys up at 6 putting towels on them, which is a brill idea...The food in the poolbar is of good standard and good value for money, Staff very friendly and can't do enough for you including reception staff who have recieved a bit of flack in previous reviews, check in and check out quick and easy 17 euros for a safe 16 for a huge fan. Onsite shop sells the most amazing hot croissants and pain au chocolat's and all your essentials, but bigger supermarket just down the road has bigger variety and bit cheaper too. If you have booked the plaza palmeras or are thinking about it you really wont be disappointed, we had such a relaxing holiday I'm now finding it hard to get back into a daily routine lol.......Oh and just to add weather in Nov bit cloudy but still very warm and sunny, can be a bit breezy in the evening so a cardy or fleece might be worth taking ......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Palmeras

Address: C/Anzuelo 60, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Palmeras 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Palmeras Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Plaza Palmeras Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Palmeras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.