We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely resort that just needs to decide what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora to your Saves list
SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Urano, s/n, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Lanzarote Suites Aequora)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A lovely resort that just needs to decide what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We booked this resort because of a deal that we found and also due to the reviews written on TA.

I have had to review the Sentido as average because, despite many of the aspects being very good, I am not sure if the management fully know who they are trying to market this place to.

The good:

The majority of the staff were very friendly and always pleasant.

There is a wide range of mostly very good food available throughout the day. Regardless of your likes and dis-likes there will be something for you here.

The place is very clean and well presented with rooms and communal spaces having a feel of quality about them. The pools were always clean and well looked after.

The layout of the complex is also very good, making it easy to get around.

The beach and town are a few minutes walk away and there are plenty of bike and car hire places as well as countless bars and restaurants.

The not so good:

Sentido clearly cater for families at this resort, but perhaps this needs to made much clearer as if you do not have children, there is no getting away from them.

There are two main restaurants at the hotel and one of them should be exclusively for adults, because if you do not have children, having them crying or running around all night even up until 10pm is not ideal. This would be simple to fix and of benefit to both families and couples.

The main evening bar area does not have enough staff and so queues form around all of the busy periods of the evening. I never saw more than two staff members working on the bar during any of the evenings and this is not enough.

Having an exclusive adults only chill out bar was a really good idea, until we realised that all of the drinks had to paid for in this bar? If you have paid to be all-inclusive then that is what needs to happen, not random charges for the same drinks that are free else-where. I did not see very many people in this bar during out entire week and it seemed to shut early due to a lack of custom.

There are also too many drinks that have charges on them. If this is all inclusive, then make it so. If not, then do not sell all inclusive deals!

The restaurant staff do a great job of covering the floor area but they are massively over-stretched. Hunting for a table and then having to sit for some time waiting for it to be made detracts from the experience that sentido are trying to create. They either need less people, a timing system where by you book in for a certain time or more staff.

So overall, a great location, a lovely clean hotel, in the main great staff, but just too many things that need a bit more thought.

Lanzarote is much more beautiful and picturesque than people give it credit for. There is a good wine region and walking round some of the lesser known volcanoes provides some great views and stunning vistas.

The Belgian bar on the front is well worth a visit if you like good beer.

Room Tip: Avoid the main pool area rooms as we did as I guess these would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    138
    55
    4
    3
See reviews for
91
165
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed at the sentido aquera lanzarote on 16th April for a week. We arrived at 12.30 lunchtime by private transfer and check in was quick and informative we were offered a glass of bubbly on arrival which was a nice touch. Rooms are normally available fom 2 pm on day of arrival however our room was ready we were unpacked and sat round pool by 1 pm. We were impressed how clean the room was and junior suite it was large and spacious with seperate sitting room fridge and wall mounted tv ideal if you had kids. We were happy to sit on balcony and enjoy few refreshments before dinner. The restaurants were spacious and staff attentive and friendly. The food selection is the best I have had with a lot of choice king prawns, smoked salmon, Parma ham with melon and avocados really nice starters. Great selection of salads too and main course was varied every lunch and evening from sirloin steak, pork fillet, paella, fillet of beef, lvly fresh kebabs with tortilla bread and fresh crisp salad too was very enjoyable food and drinks were plentiful. I had never stayed in a sentido hotel but would recommend them I'm looking to book another sentido holiday very soon. Had a great stay and made very welcome and felt at home.

Room Tip: We were in block 6 near to reception and restaurant ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chigwell, Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely welcome with a glass of cava. Our room was spacious, really clean and the bed was very comfortable. We thought the buffet was extensive and would cater for all tastes and the staff really attentive despite being busy. The chill out bar and adult only pool were wonderful. The childrens pools also looked good. The only down comment would be, that men were required to wear long trousers in the restaurant in the evening. I can understand that swim shorts and vests would be undesirable but surely smart shorts and shirts would be acceptable. We have been on cruises and smarter restaurants than this, where men wear shorts and look very smart. Please review this policy. All in all a great hotel. We hope to visit again, next time with our husbands (provided the 'no shorts at dinner' policy was reviewed).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is brand new so sparkly clean, modern and (mostly) well designed. It is only 6 mins drive from the airport so if you are reading this before you include transfers in your package holiday definitely get a taxi instead. Taxis are apparently only 10E each way and I paid Thomas Cook £60 for the coach! The proximity of the airport was never a problem, yes there were a lot of planes but they didn't bother us and in fact delighted our two children. You can easily walk down to the runway and stand beneath the flight path which was fun!

The beach is also really close as are shops and quite a few restaurants, bike hire etc. it's a lovely beach with a "puddle" of water which remains on the beach after the tide goes out. Great for the kids to play in safely.

We stayed in a junior suite which we loved as it gave a separate room for the children to sleep in (although there area no doors) so there was plenty of space. No bath though which caused tears from the toddler in the shower but he coped for the short term. There are blackout blinds on both windows so also good for daytime naps.

Lots of pools to choose from with something for everyone and lots of sun beads for those who have the chance to sunbathe (ie not us!)

There was a good selection of food although not a huge amount of choice for fussy children. Be prepared to feed them only pizza, pasta and chips. A few separate items that you could add your own sauce to might've helped. They were keen on mixing things together. I enjoyed the food but I would've liked a few more "specials", for example one night they did kebabs and wraps which were yummy but then they did exactly the same the next day. I also would've liked to been able to sit outside to eat. The restaurants are both in the basement with some roof lights but no views. There is a snack bar adjacent the restaurant and pool so it would be possible to eat there but it was not open when we were there. Perhaps they open it in the busier season.

We didn't use the kids club but the playground was good and the kids both loved the mini disco each night. Wish the bar had been open though as it was pretty dull for the watching parents and in the basement bar so no views or sunshine.

Beds are comfy everything is clean, staff are friendly. It was a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a week at the end of April and had a wonderful time. It was our first family holiday with our four year old daughter. We all had a fab time. We stayed overlooking the spash pool which was perfect. Our daughther had a great time at the kids club during the day allowing us to to enjoy tje cocktails. The animation team... what can I say, they really made our holiday!! Lots of family activties, great food and lovely weather, what more can you wish for.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Firstly this is a great new hotel. Just a ten minute 10 euro taxi ride from the airport. Quick efficient check in. Room was spacious and still had the brand new feel about it. The bathroom part of the room may not be to everyone's liking though. Large walk in shower with both adjustable shower head and overhead large pan head shower. However the toilet is at the other side of an etched glass panel with a glass door so for those who like to have complete privacy when doing their ablutions you may be uncortable with this set up. Also for the first three days, by the time we were having our pre dinner shower the water was cold. After that it was fine.

To me though there were a few anomalies. The adults pool was at one side of the complex and by and large was quiet (although the first two days we went there were children playing in the pool) but it is next to the sports pitch where a lot of the day's activities are held so you get quite a bit of shouting and cheering from the participants.

The next anomaly is the entertainment. There is a theatre style room below reception but mostly the shows were held in the outside "Maris Teatro" so if your room is situated by this there is a lot of noise up to about 10.30 in the evening and then there is also the rehearsals during the day. The Maris is also behind the Don Paco restaurant so if you want a more sophisticated dining experience away from the main buffet dining room you have to put up with the show noise plus the bar in the restaurant is also used for the theatre so you have a throng of people queuing for drinks.

The buffet provided a good selection but the "show" cooking was slightly disappointing with only one choice being provided (pork loin three nights running!)plus no "themed nights" or self choice omelettes at breakfast.

For a new hotel the wifi availability and functionality was virtually non existent. Free wifi is only available in reception and is soooo slow (I refused to pay for room access given how bad it was in reception).

Finally be aware that the hotel is a good 30 minute walk just to the start of the main Puerto Del Carmen drag although the bus stop is very close (1.40 euro each way per person) and there are plenty of taxis next to the bus stop

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and have had an amazing time.

The hotel is spotless clean in all areas.

ROOMS

The rooms are bright ,very modern and a cleaned daily. We had a junior suite which had a nice seating area with a small fridge . There was a safe in the room which cost 3 euros a day.

POOLS ......, 4 or 5 swimming pools - TOWELS a deposit off 15 euros per person is payable but this is returned when you take the towels back at the end off your holiday.

It was nice having the 4 or 5 swimming pools as the atmosphere is so different around each one.

There is an adults only pool which is very serene and quite. There is a cocktail bar and chill out seating area here but the drinks are not included in the All Inclusive.

one where couples and teenagers seemed to swim and relax. There is a bar here that served drinks until 4pm which were included in All Inclusive and had a water dispenser.

and then the kiddies /family pool which are full off life with the families having fun. There is a snack bar /self service soft drink dispensers /beer tap /tea/coffee etc and bar round this pool which served snacks and drinks which were included in All Inclusive until 6pm.

We also passed a kids pool which had slides etc.

EVENING BAR

Nice modern indoor area with seating. Attached to this is a kids area with snooker tables etc.

ENTERTAINMENT

Evening entertainment is ok. Two nights there was live singing in the bar area and every night there was a show in the theatre which was put on by the animation team. The families seemed to really enjoy this.

FOOD

We were All Inclusive. The food is fresh, lots off fresh fruit, cheeses, meats, salads, bread rolls, bread, soup, pasta, pizza , a different hot dish at lunch time and evening meal. Yes it is very repetitive but it is food that most families will eat regardless off there nationality.

Weather was in the high 20's but because off the wind it never felt too hot, so beware and make sure you use plenty off suntan cream as there were a lot off very red bodies.

Traveling around puerto del carmen /calero it very easy using public transport which was only 1euro 40 per person each way. Taxi back from puerto del carmen old town to the hotel was just under 6 euros. You can take a water bus from Puerto del carmen old town to calero for 6 euros each way.

Bikes can be hired for 5 euros per day and there are designated cycle lanes. So very safe for cyclists.

You can walk for miles along the beach or walk ways.

This was our first time in Lanzarote and we were very impressed.

THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL. Would have no qualms recommending it to couples/families etc. the only thing they could maybe improve is the variety off food in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora

Address: C/ Urano, s/n, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Lanzarote Suites Aequora)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto del Carmen and just 200m. From Los Pocillos Beach, the SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora is a newly built resort that stands out for its modern interior design and for the quality and variety of its services. The majority of the rooms are Junior Suites, they are equipped with modern facilities and are perfect for those who want to enjoy a few days of the stunning environment of the Lanzarote Island. SERVICES 398 rooms (Double Rooms, Junior Suites, Suites and Master Suites). Wi-Fi in public areas (free) and in the the rooms (extra charge). 5 Freshwater pools: Chill out zone, heated pool with hidromassage jets. 2 Heated pools, 1 for adults and 2 for children, to enjoy with the family. Pool for animation activities with adults close to Maris theatre. "BUBBLES" pool, water games for children (heated). Outdoor parking (unmonitored). Laundry and dry cleaning service (extra charge). Two multi-sport courts. Polyvalent room, max. 50 Pax (meetings/conferences). 24H medical service. Wellness center: massages and beauty treatments. Car and bicycle rental service. Pool towels (deposit is required). Porter and bellboy service. Luggage room and shower room for late departures. Free cot. Credit cards accepted: VISA/MASTERCARD/AMEX. Gift shop/Souvenir. The hotel has 2 buffet-restaurants with show-cooking "Poseidon" and "Neptuno" and 1 a la carte restaurant "Mare Nostrum". There are a complete offer of bars where you can enjoy a variety of drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb Don Paco Castilla Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Don Paco Castilla Lanzarote
SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Lanzarote Aequora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.