We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Lanzarote to your Saves list
Sol Lanzarote
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Grama, 2, 35510, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we have just returned from a weeks stay at the sol Lanzarote.
we booked two days before and I was slightly concerned at some of the reviews we read on here..
But i can honestly say we had a great week and no complaints.
The location was absolutely perfect for us and the hotel and the pool were spotless.
We never had any problems getting a sunbed as many have said but then that probably comes more with the fact of the time of year we visited.
my only criticism was the all inclusive restaurant which was a little repetitive at times but then i think that sometimes comes hand in hand with eating in the same place three times a day.
but saying that im a very very fussy eater so more choosy than most! but there was always something on offer that suited my taste..
I would recommend this hotel :)
only complaint now is I am missing my sangria and sunbed !!
thanks for a lovely holiday

Room Tip: Go for a sea view as we were overlooking a wall !! We were offered another room with a sea view bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Michellemax143,

Thank you so much for your kind words!. We feel proud to contribute to your lovely holiday and I appreciate your gratitude the most.

I am happy to know that our buffet suited your taste at all times as you mentioned. It is true that having to provide meals three times a day with so many different tastes is not an easy job so I do appreciate highly that you mentioned it.

Whenever you decide to come back, I definitely recommend you to book a room with sea view. You won´t be disappointed!

We cannot wait to have you back with us. The sangría and the sunbed are waiting for you!

See you soon!

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    629
    337
    156
    85
See reviews for
670
606
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a long day travelling, when everything seemed to go wrong, I was very negative when I arrived at the Sol. I have a walking disability and the steps and slopes freaked me out.

The following day everything seemed brighter. We were in a room with lovely views of the sea and pool. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was the best I have had in an all-inclusive.
The hotel was spotless and the pool well cared for.

I had a lovely week and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. However, if you walk with a stick or walker and you have rented the disabled rooms, you will encounter steep slopes to get to your room. There are scooters to hire, should you need them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear carey75,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Even though your fist impression was not positive due to the access to your room I am extremely happy to know that you had a lovely week with us at Sol Lanzarote!

In regards to your concern let me inform you that we have available a less steep slope in the back access to the disabled rooms.
I want to thanks especially your high recognition of our buffet restaurant as it is the result of hard work and big changes in our kitchen. It is great to hear we have the BEST FOOD you ever had in an All Inclusive. Thank you so much!

We hope to have you back very soon. You are most welcome!

Our best regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed in room 3121 adapted ground floor self catering apartment very spacious and comfortable. Perfect location only a few metres from the beach.Very helpful staff eg battery low signal on free room safe - reported to receptionist and although we said this wasn't urgent as we were not leaving the apartment for a few hours the friendly maintenance man attended within one hour and quickly fixed this. Very accommodating with our hired electric scooter - we were allowed to keep the scooter on charge in reception area when needed.
Lovely spacious layout. No problem getting a free sun lounger whatever time of day.Maid service very good, attending daily. Would definitely return without question.

Room Tip: Ground floor disabled rooms very good size and walk in shower excellent (apartment 3121). Ramps on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Jane G,

I am extremely happy that you found our hotel most suitable and best of all that you had a good time here at Sol Lanzarote.
Thank you so much for your nice words about our staff. We are always willing to help and recognition of that is our best motivation.
So overall I am very happy to read that you found the hotel excellent, with perfect location, comfortable rooms and helpful staff.
We hope to meet you again here in the next future!

Best wishes and regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in the Sol hotel Lanzarote at the end of September .It is a lovely hotel on the beach front in an area called Matagorda . It is a perfect hotel for families ,entertainment at night is aimed at children . The hotel is spotless inside and outside..The apartment is old fashioned and in need of a makeover ,we paid extra to have a sea view as the first apartment overlooked the car park . The wifi was expensive at €4 an hour or €30 for the week . All the staff were friendly and helpful and we got 2 hours extra at checkout free as we had requested a late checkout which was unavailable even though we requested it on arrival . We had a very relaxing week and would return again even if it was expansive €1250 for 2 adults flights included and then €12 extra per day for sea view

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view and sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear anne550,

I would like to thank you very much for the time you spent to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your holidays and would return with us in the future.

In regards to the WIFI you might find it to be expensive however, please note we have it recently available in the whole hotel, even the pool area.

I totally agree with your room tip, our sea view rooms are amazing and well worth to book them in advance.

We hope to have you back with us very soon and receive our best regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just back from a week in the Sol - second time and its just as good as last time three years ago. Self-catering works well, buy fresh rolls, cheese, ham, tomatoes etc for lunch and breakfast in the local Spar. Plenty of restaurants to choice from for dinner only 3-5 mins walk away on the flat, lots of disabled people stay here for that very reason. Self-catering consists of studio apartment with fridge, hob, toaster, kettle (only need to ask), crockery and cutlery. Large bathroom, wardrobe space and seating area (bed settee), twin beds, balcony, sea view extra charge but so worth it. Air conditioning and safe free of charge. No complaints about the complex at all, three pools, take your pick. No ants inside, in fact very few outside, no cockroaches. All staff very friendly and attentive, ask for extra pillow, got two no problem. Pool towels can be hired for 1 euro. Rooms made up and cleaned every day. Other amenities include, gym, tennis court, bike hire, restaurant and snack bar on site, with evening entertainment for young and old, children have their own Flintstones club. It is a lovely serene, calm, quiet hotel just perfect for that relaxing holiday. Starting to save for nest year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Vivienne1970,

It is so motivating reading what an enjoyable time you had with us. Thank you so much for all your praising words, especially those aimed to the staff. This is definitely the best reward we can have!

I hope you had a nice trip back home and we are looking forward to welcome you the third time!

Kind Regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After booking this hotel directly with solmelia.com I decided to have a look at the reviews just out of curiousity.I was shocked to read some of the reviews I was anticipating mould/ants/decor falling apart etc so glad that everything that was mentioned I did not see or experience!!!
Okay the bathroom could do with a bit of a revamp ,and the kitchenette needs to be bigger and better equipped as there are only 2 cooking rings and no oven and not much space to cook.
But otherwise the Hotel is Stunning ,as soon as you walk into the reception area you can see a lot of money has been spent on the Decor and it looks very inviting with water fountains and very helpful staff who do there very best to help you!
The hotel covers a lot of ground, The Sea views from the Apartment are amazing room 3318 overlooks both pools and overlooks the promenade I definately recommend that room for the view.The food is excellent there are many dishes to choose from with three themed nights every week and every night a chef prepares fresh fish or meat so you really do have something to choose from.Evening entertaiment could do with a boost as is low key, and not the best however as soon as you walk through the hotel gardens onto the promenade there are many bars,shops,restaurants to have a look at and plenty to do or see.
We arrived 12 Sept 2013 and stayed for 2 weeks,We had a fantastic time we will always have fond memories of this hotel as we truly had a superb time and strongly recommend this hotel to everyone we where sad to go home.We will return in future.!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am delighted that I did not allow the reviews from deterring me from choosing this hotel as there was nothing to worry about and we had the best holiday ever!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 3318 seaview apartment half board or self catering and views to the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear holidayfanss,

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! You really made my day!!

Our main target is fulfilled, even better as you had your best holidays ever and we made it possible for you.

I have to say all comments in Tripadvisor are important for us however as you mentioned, each experience is different and I am happy that you did not allowed some reviews from deferring you from choosing us.

We are already waiting for you to be back at your second home here in Lanzarote!

Best Regards,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sol Lanzarote 19th August 2013 for 10 nights. Our family consists of 2 adults & 2 children aged 7 & 5 years. Our overall experience of this hotel was a good one.
First our arrival. Checking in wasn't anything to write home about, took 40 mins to do, room wasn't ready, offered another room & the reception staff were not very welcoming. The hotel is more of a resort than a hotel. Once we had our room card we struggled to find our way to the room which was accessed via the outdoor pool area, similar to an apartment, not a hotel. We didn't like that, it felt as though we were at a self catering apartment complex & not a hotel. It felt like we were detached from the hotel but tried to look upon this positively in that, if there was a fire, we would all get outside immediately.
Moving onto the room. Adequate, although nice was not up to the standard of other 4star hotels we have experienced. Beds were comfortable but the children slept on a sofa bed that was ok for our lightweight 7 & 5 year old but i doubt whether this would be comfortable for anyone any bigger. We were given a low level room as we requested. We paid for a pool view & that is what we got and this was very pleasant.
Food very, very nice. Enjoyed all our meals & something to please all of us.
Cleanliness was excellent and the army of Sol staff tending to the pool, gardens, reception, rooms etc was outstanding, faultless.
The pool area was very good. A choice of 3 swimming pools & a kids paddling pool. Very well kept, clean & cared for. A strange thing for us was the morning ritual of the sunbeds. Every hotel we appreciate will have their own take on how to control the reservation of sunbeds. At this particular hotel the sunbeds were chained together until 9am. Whats wrong with that you say??!! Stops people coming down to the pool at 5am & taking all the sunbeds. No!! Instead, people just stood in the place where they wanted their sunbed to be, sometimes leaving towels on the floor, reserving the spot! The parasols were few and far between which we were very disappointed with having 2 young children that needed protection from fierce midday sun. The parasols are on the back row of the sunbeds not close to the pool where parents need to watch their kids swimming. They are also fixed into the ground preventing anyone from moving them. So basically if you have kids that you need to watch like hawks in the deep swimming pools, you fry in the sun!
The entertainment team need a mention too. Excellent. Very good shows at night, however the entertainment is provided in a small lounge area. If you want a seat to watch the evening show you have to be there at 7pm to secure a seat.
Despite any of the negative points we had a super holiday & really made the most of our stay. Would we return? Probably not but never say never.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollanzarote, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Lanzarote, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear joparker_11,

Thank you so much for such an honest review. It is very important for us to receive both positive and negative feedback. I am very happy to read that you had a super holiday and made the most of your stay at Sol Lanzarote. This is our main target so partially I feel we succeeded. In addition to that thank you so much for your nice words about our staff, I will make sure it is shared with all of them.
I regret to read though that you do not find probable to come back, but at least you leave a little window opened. As a suggestion for the future you can request to be allocated on the 1st block, close to the reception, which is the same building and makes you feel more like a regular hotel, closer to all facilities.

We really hope you decide to visit us again in the future and receive our best wishes,

Alvaro Cons
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lanzarote

Address: Calle Grama, 2, 35510, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Lanzarote 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Lanzarote is located on the stunning Playa de Matagorda in Puerto del Carmen, in the south east of Lanzarote, one of the island's main tourist resorts, with 6 km of beaches, different leisure and entertainment facilities, shops, shopping centres, restaurants, bars and clubs, amongst other attractions. Ideal for travelling with the family, friends or your partner, the Sol Lanzarote provides 222 fully equipped apartments and 121 rooms, 3 outdoor pools and 1 pool for babies, supermarket, Flintstones shop, gym, children's play area, and unique dining spaces (Buffet Restaurant, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar), amongst other fantastic services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen
Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel
Hotel Sol Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.