We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea views and sunsets breathtaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BelleVue Aquarius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BelleVue Aquarius to your Saves list
BelleVue Aquarius
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Teide 6, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Aquarius)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“sea views and sunsets breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Like everyone else i was a little dubious about the reviews but i have the attitude that you cant knock it til you try it so it was really surprised that these reviews to me where very unfair, Yes the apartments are in need of a refurb but the maid service all inclusive food and drink and especially the views from our room which was 621 were fantastic We couldnt have been happier .The restaurant and bar staff were very courteous and friendly and choices of dishes were varied on a daily basis.Theres no need to take a taxi to the strip the walk is very enjoyablethere is a beautiful walk from the harbour up the zig zag steps along the cliff side to puerto calero takes about 40 minutes the views are amazing youl need to wear trainers though . beautiful chapel two mins from hotel says mass on sunday morning even had dana singing hymns in the background really nice. Mulligans Oreilleys and had live music really good nights but have to say in irish harbour bar we were asked if we were having another drink and if not could we give our seats to some one else so much for customer service so obviously didnt go back again. .hotel entertainment consisted of bingo and singers who performed just two nights of our fourteen night stay if there was more caberet night we wouldnt have left to go somewhere else thats the only pity .overall a great stay and hopefully wel be back soon

.

Room Tip: rooms on 6th floor have fantastic views although there are quite a few steps but its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    234
    133
    72
    60
See reviews for
107
309
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I returned to the BelleVue Aquarius for the second time having stayed here previously last June.
I was a little nervous about staying here after reading the amount of break-ins that have happened recently. I always locked my belongings in the safe or had my valuables on me at all times. Every night I saw security men walking around so that made me feel safer. We had no problems for the week we were there.

The pool and bar area is really nice. The loungers are new and comfortable. The pool is freezing though! I found the bar staff to be helpful. The reception staff during the day were helpful and approachable. I did have problems communicating with the night time receptionist when needed a first aid kit. I understand I am in Spain, but surely a receptionist should be bilingual!
My main disappointment with the hotel is the cleanliness of the rooms. The maids did not clean the floors properly or clean the bathroom. The towels were not changed as often as they should be. If you walked in the room barefoot, your feet got dirt all over them. We had 4 people in a room and we had to ask for more towels every day which wasn’t always easy to get from the rude maids! The maids were rude and did not seem to care that they weren’t doing their job properly.

I do not expect 4/5 star luxury for the price I paid for a room. This is a basic complex, however the hotel manager should make it a priority to clean up the rooms and hire maids that do the job they are paid to do. They are really letting the place down.

The best restaurants in Puerto Del Carmen are in the area close to the hotel. There is also plenty of bars close by. Taxis are not very expensive, so a quick taxi ride (or a 10 minute walk) to the more lively part of the resort where you will find plenty bars and clubs.

I would return to the area. I enjoy being in a quiet area with nice restaurants where it is just a short distance for livelier entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Rooms on pool level would be better for people that have mobility i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie pierre l, MEMBER SERVICES at BelleVue Aquarius, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Queremos agradecerle sus comentarios. Nos sirven para ayudarnos a mejorar día tras dia. Esperemos que tendremos el placer de verles de nuevo en nuestro complejo Bellevue Aquarius.

Atentamente

Member Services Bellevue Aquarius.
Marie-Pierre Le Parc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

we arrived for our 3rd stay here and went straight to our room which we requested , we know that these apartments could do with a bit of refurbishment but for what we paid all inclusive we were happy . meals were nice, drinks on tap , we love it here with the views over the harbour, staff are helpful , we never saw or heard anything of break ins while we were there. If any cat lovers are reading this please feed ginger and white cat, black one and grey/black with one blind eye they rely on people to eat, they live on the complex the ginger/white loves lots of TLC we cant wait to go back in november we had a great holiday

Room Tip: if you arent very mobile keep to the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I will start by saying that I have stayed at this hotel many times and always enjoyed my stay. I tend to stay on an AI basis as it is great value and the food and drink is on the whole very good. I really like the house wine which is always a bonus.These are basic apartments but clean, I spend little time in the apartment so I am not looking for luxury. The location in the old town is great for the harbour but it is a bit of an uphill walk to the new town, not a problem for us but maybe for others. I have always found the staff to be friendly, polite and professional and helpful at all times. I didnt hear of any issues with thefts during my week and spoke to a couple who had been staying for 4 weeks and they hadn't heard anything either. This hotel has many repeat guests which says a lot about it and I would sum it up as great value for money.

Room Tip: If you are fit and healthy ask for a 6th floor room the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

So my gf and I headed out for a week starting the 23rd of march we had read all the mixed reviews via TripAdvisor so we were dubious but we thoroughly enjoyed the break,we went allinclusive and the food was very up to standard,the staff couldn't do enough for us,we had heard of the breakins and the police but on only one occasion we seen the local police on the premises,this place is def a quality place for a quiet break the old town is really nice with some stunning views and plenty of water sports,I will def be visiting here again... 10/10

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie pierre l, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Aquarius, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado señor,
En primer lugar, agradecerle que haya elegido nuestro establecimiento para pasar sus vacaciones. Así mismo, nos complace que comparta sus opiniones. Nos agrada saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia y que le haya gustado tanto la comida y el servicio del Restaurante. Sentimos ver que también existen algunos aspectos que no le han gustado y le aseguro que tomamos buena nota de ellos para intentar mejorar.
Esperamos verle nuevamente en Bellevue Aquarius.
Atentamente,
Member Services Bellevue Aquarius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at this complex, having read the many and varied negative reviews before our break, I was worried what we were letting ourselves in for! Check-in was easy, had to wait just around 30 mins for our room, not a problem, we just got a coffee from the bar....room pleasant,clean and near to reception as we had requested, some furnishings a little 'tired' but nothing untoward. No signs of any insects/cockroaches in room at all. Room cleaned adequately, even asked by maid if we wanted all towels changed. Food really pretty good, though salad items were repetitive in the main, and it would have been good to have the option of cheese with salad, as I'm not a big meat-eater,but that's just a personal gripe. Always sufficient choice at every meal, we stayed A I, one lunch was a little less appealing but we didn't go away hungry! The only problem we had, which wasn't the hotel's fault, was that our taxi dropped us at the front of the hotel on arrival-so we assumed this to be the return pick-up point, wrong-we were meant to go to a side entrance, which we were totally unaware of, so missed our prepaid pick-up......and had to go by local taxi to the airport, which was ordered by reception for us, arrived in 2 mins, and cost €16 for the journey. In retrospect this was comparable in price to the pre-booked transfer. Only one instance of a break-in as far as we were aware, during our stay....even though it isn't acceptable that this should occur, the reception staff did call the police for the person concerned, and didn't dismiss it, as I've read on older reviews. Would we go again? Possibly, if we were to visit Lanzarote again-I wouldn't dismiss the place entirely

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the BelleVue in Puerto Del Carmen, the pool and bar area are a great asset to the hotel as are the staff also however the rooms are filthy!!! I went into the shower and came out feeling dirtier!! There was mould and limescale all around the shower and taps, the ceiling had growing mould all over it, the towels we received after a change had yellow marks all over them. My mum had been staying in the apartment for the week and not once were the sheets changed, the room was never properly cleaned just a quick lick around I think. The rooms yes are just for sleeping but something needs to be done about the cleanliness even a wee lick of paint wouldn't go a miss. As mentioned about the surrounding grounds were all great and kept well the cleaners are just letting this place down.

This was my first trip to Lanzarote, I was on a hen weekend however I do not think I would return with my family I felt it was so run down and kind of forgotten about until you got down to the beach area, compared to the other canaries I have been to this would be bottom of my list to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BelleVue Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelleVue Aquarius

Address: Calle Teide 6, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Aquarius)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BelleVue Aquarius 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BelleVue Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Aquarius Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Aquarius Lanzarote
Aparthotel Aquarius Hotel Lanzarote
BelleVue Aquarius Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BelleVue Aquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.