We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel San Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added VIK Hotel San Antonio to your Saves list
VIK Hotel San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from a weeks vacation in Lanzarote. The hotel is on the beach which suited us and that is the reason we booked it. Hotel was clean and it was very relaxing with plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the bus stop right outside the door. The food however was poor, not much choice and most nights the food was only barely warm, I never got hot food any night. We ended up going out to eat a few nights eventhough we were staying half board. The same at breakfast, the hot food was only barley warm. The other issue I had was that you had to pay extra to 'hire' a kettle and cups to have tea or coffee in the room. it cost 28 Euro a week. I think for the prices they charge to stay there, this should be included in the price. If I was to return I would only go on a bed and breakfast basis as its not worth paying for the half board.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your opinion, it is always very useful for us, in order to know what our guests think about the hotel.

We regret to know that the food quality was not of your liking, and of course we take note of your comments about this important matter. Sometimes it is difficult to satisfy an international public with different opinions and tastes, but you can be sure that we will try to improve in this part. Usually the comments are very positive.

Thank you again, and we hope you can check personally the quality of our service and food in your next visit to the Vik San Antonio Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    427
    151
    54
    23
See reviews for
217
556
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Brilliant Hotel, excellant food with a wide choice, stayed half board, themed nights with Indian, Chinese,Japanese and Spanish available as well as the usual buffet, Hotel right on beach, no problem with sunbeds, plenty available,hotel very clean.bus stops right outside if you wish to visit the other resorts, busses every 20 minutes, our first visit and will certainly return

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, we hope this will be useful for the future guests.

It is always a pleasure to know that our clients have been happy in the hotel, thank you for recommend us, and we hope see you soon again in the Vik San Antonio.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had an amazing 7 nights here with a beautiful sea view room and half board which was plenty of food for a day. We found all of the staff so friendly and so accommodating. The food was excellent and varied throughout the week. This is one of the best buffets I have ever had at a hotel. The pools were beautiful and clean. I especially like that they do not allow people to "save" pool lounges with their towels when they are not there. There was plenty of free parking on site and it was also within walking distance of shopping and other beaches. The grounds and the interior of the hotel are clean and well maintained. There was entertainment each night if one wanted to go. We went two nights and it was enjoyable. I found this hotel very efficiently managed. Everything was ready when it was supposed to be and they would be setting things up for the morning right after dinner was over, but without rushing us through our dinner, as we were later diners. I would highly recommend this hotel and I commend them on their selection of great staff, especially those at the front desk and in the restaurant, as those are the ones we interacted with most. Great hotel and great experience, I will be back!

Room Tip: I would definitely request a sea view room as I noted that because of the layout of the hotel, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and we hope that for our future guests too.

It is a great pleasure to check that you spent a good holidays with us, we will pass your compliments to the staff. Thank you again for your time and we hope see you again in our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just back from our fifth stay here, and no complaints as usual.
Very clean, relaxed and enjoyable again.
We went half board as usual, somedays we stayed around the hotel and had the lunches, other when out for the day the evening meal was looked forward to by all of us.
Staff with the one exception of 'grumpy man at the pool bar' were all a credit to the place and deserve a thank you once again.Plenty of pools and lounging areas and all kept very clean and tidy.
A lot of more mature people staying and all seemed to be having a great time.Mostly Irish,Germans and a few Dutch holidaymakers.

Room Tip: Book early and email them direct to make sure there are no misunderstandings about rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure allocating you again in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience in this site, wed are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments will be passed on to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Staff very good especially in the restaurant . Entertainment excellent as good as it gets .lots of very good activities organised by Giani an asset to any hotel . Will be back good value for money and excellent service

Room Tip: 3rd floor very good refurbished recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our third trip to the San Antonio and it did not disappoint us.
We had a renovated sea view room and stayed half board.
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice. We chose lunch instead of dinner and it was good.
The pool area is very large and well maintained - there are plenty of sun loungers.
The hotel was spotless and the staff were excellent.
Only two small downsides - the entertainment at night was not as good as before and the room towels are still very poor.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, we hope this will be useful for the future guests.

It is always a pleasure to know that our clients have been happy in the hotel, but if they are even repeat customers, that gives us a great satisfaction.

Thank you again and we see you next year in Vik San Antonio Hotel!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

traveled with 4 friends on 27th of Jan. for 1 week, very impressed with hotel, spotlessly clean, lovely pool area, ideal location, we had a renovated sea view room which was worth the extra cost.
The all inclusive package provided quality branded drinks until 1 am with bottles of wine at meal times, a menu to choose snacks from at the pool bar from 12md-4pm, the restaurant provided a good range of excellent food, would definitely go back to this hotel, such a shame our last day was ruined by a very rude receptionist who actually called my husband a liar !
We were informed the AI package finished at 12md not allowing us lunch even though we were not flying home until the night , never come across this before, normally it is until you leave the hotel, my husband questioned this at reception explaining that we arrived at 20.30 therefore missed lunch & dinner on our first day, following a discussion in spanish between all the staff behind reception we were given a ticket allowing us to go in for lunch, when our friends questioned the same thing they were told my husband had lied to them to get a free lunch, we were on their system as booking in at 13.00 even though we were still in the U.K.at 15.00, we produced our flight tickets to prove this,the receptionist`s attitude was appalling very rude & abrupt, eventually we were all given tickets for lunch, what a performance in front of other guests ,we all left the hotel feeling disillusioned & disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your opinion, it is always very useful for us, in order to know what our guests think about the hotel.

We regret to know that after spending a great holidays with us, you had a last bad experience in reception due to a misunderstanding, we are really sorry about this attitude of some of our personal. For your information, it is true that we had the AI package until 12:00, but we have decided to put it until departure because as you say it is more logic.

We hope we will have the opportunity of solving this in your next visit to our hotel.

Nice regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel San Antonio

Address: Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your VIK Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Lanzarote
Antonio Hotel Lanzarote San
San Antonio Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote
VIK Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.