We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not for young folk or young families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel San Antonio

Save Saved
You added VIK Hotel San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Hotel San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 84 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, but not for young folk or young families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back from this hotel, had a lovely stay. Stayed in a junior suite with plenty of room. Very comfortable huge double bed. Room and bathroom were spotless, cleaned properly every day.
Decor and carpet would need replacing sooner than later. Disappointingly small balcony, just about see the sea. Ask for a south easterly facing room. Hotel is in a great location, with a taxi rank and bus stop just outside. The recepton staff are very helpful, especially Joanne, who speaks perfect English and arranged our discounted rounds of golf and a good price for hire car.
We were on half board basis and found the food reasonable, the waiter Candido was a lovely guy, very attentive but not imposing and always with a cheerful greeting. There was entertainment every night which wasn't bad. Seemed to be a resident group playing dance music
for the over 65's and usually an hour of specially act in the middle, a singer or juggler or acrobat.(you're on holiday,what do you expect?) Most of the guests were between 55 and 80 who looked as if they were regulars to this hotel. I can't blame them, it's a nice hotel for older folk who don't want juveniles or younger knocking them over or disturbing their naps.
SPECIAL MENTION: Across the street from the hotel, and to the right a little, there is a car rental on the corner with a pizza cafe just 20 yards into that street. If you just want to sit outside and relax over a cup of delicious coffee for an hour or have a splendid meal inside, sirloin steak, fish,etc, cooked to perfection, stop and ask for the manager, Daniel. He may be Chinese but the name suits him, an extremely charming and engaging person and he can arrange to have a real chinese meal cooked for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, we hope this will be useful for the future guests.

It is always a pleasure to know that our clients have been happy in the hotel, we are very proud of that.

Thank you again and we hope see you again in Vik San Antonio Hotel!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    349
    128
    47
    20
See reviews for
170
444
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just spent another week at this hotel this time with our 19 year old son. Had bad 6 months, we all needed a break and complete relax. Mission accomplished! Great hotel, great service, food good, rooms a little dated but perfectly acceptable, very clean in all areas of hotel. Great pools and outside areas too.Most staff really attentive, one or two could do with customer care training but they make the others shine out. Both rooms had beach and pool views (added bonus thanks). Really has a full chill out week and feel relaxed. Didn't bother with the evening entertainment, could hear the singers from reception area, they sounded bad enough but there's plenty of other stuff to do in the area. Would we visit again, definately. This is in the top 10 hotels in the area and has a sort of majestic quality to it. May not be for everyone but for a great chill out week in clean, safe surroundings it is top dog!!

Room Tip: Ask for pool views when filling in any special requests, makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site.

It is always a pleasure to know that our clients have been happy in the hotel, but if they are even repeat customers, that gives us a great satisfaction. We are very glad to know that your expectations, after a not very good period in your life were accomplished.

Thank you again and we hope see you soon again in Vik San Antonio Hotel!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel hadn't changed much in the two years since we were last here. Again the room wasn't large but it had everything we needed and was in better condition than the time before. It faced south, we had a sea view and lots of sunshine. Any extras tended to be expensive, so we mostly did without.
We didn't enjoy the evening entertainment as much, some of the singers weren't very good and far too loud.
The food is still good, especially the breakfasts and evening starters. I noticed this time that not everything that ran out was replenished. Sometimes one had to wait a while for a table to be cleared. The staff worked hard and most were very pleasant.Everywhere was clean. The pools are lovely, but not heated.
The location is good, very convenient.
I would suggest using a taxi rather than Resorthopper to/from airport to hotel. We had to drag our suitcases up a long incline to where the bus now parks and wait another 45 mins before it took off. Coming back it collected us at least an hour before we needed to get to the airport, we then had to wait over an hour at the airport before we could check luggage in. A taxi is worth paying a bit extra for, won't even cost more if several share.

Room Tip: Better views from higher up. Can pay extra to get a very good sea view. If you don't I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to know that you decided to visit us again this year, and we hope this will not be the last time.

It is not easy to satisfy everybody and we will try to improve in all the matters you mention in your comments, thank you again for spending your time writing this opinion.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 19th to 26th January 2013.
There was a suitcase mix-up at the Airport so we were quite late arriving at the Hotel and dinner time was almost over. The Receptionist quickly took our Passports and gave us our Room cards so we could go get something to eat. She said not to worry about our luggage as it would be brought to our room by Staff.
This was the start of a very enjoyable weeks stay at the Vik Hotel San Antonio.
We chose 'All Inclusive' as it cost just a little more. It was also surprising as there was free wifi and free hotel room safe. Our room was small but spotless and very comfortable. it was a side sea view or in our case mostly sea view.

The hotel is situated right on the beach and about a 45 minute leisurely walk to the old town. There is bus stops for both directions and a taxi rank right outside the hotel.

Breakfast begins at 7.30am and food in available throughout the morning, afternoon and evening until about 9.30pm whether it be in the dining room or the pool bar. A plentiful and wide variety for everyones' palate can be enjoyed. Every night a different themed meal is also available separately or inclusive if you wish. Dress code for morning and afternoon meals are informal but neat dress is required for evening meals.

If you break away from eating you can enjoy the activities during the day such as water-robics, water-polo, archery, target shooting (rifle or pistol), table tennis, mini golf, boules, etc.

Every night there was music and entertainment. It is so popular that people from other non residents the local populace come in to enjoy it.

It was my Wife's birthday on 24th and she received a surprise bottle of Champagne and fruit bowl with Birthday greetings compliments of the Management and Staff.

We had a fantastic week and were sad when the time came to leave but we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view on floor 2 or 3 nearest to the old town side of the hotel (farthest from mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, we hope this will be useful for the future guests.

It is a great pleasure to know that you spent a fantastic holidays with us, we hope these will not be the last in our hotel!!

Thank you again and we see you next year in Vik San Antonio Hotel!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just returned from our 9th visit to Lanzarote and 4th stay at San Antonio. On arrival were given Room 3622 - no view. We refused this but were told there was nothing else available. I showed my documentation which clearly stated "Guaranteed Ocean View". We were told it was not so - we were only entitled to side sea view. We were offered Room 4702. This was a small corner room with a smaller balcony. After one night of listening to the horrendous noise coming from the entertainments lounge, our lovely rep Douglas had words with reception, who promised to move us the next day. We were offered one room which was gloomy, then Room 3114. This was side sea view - again reception saying we were not entitled to Ocean View. To be fair this room was OK - comfortable beds, very clean with the usual facilities. However, the door to the bathroom was so narrow you either hit the door handle or caught your leg on the bidet and the plumbing was noisy. The TV technician was unable to connect us to an english speaking TV channel so we could watch the US Open. Our Travel Agent is now taking our problem up with the hotel. The same mistake occured last year, but we were immediately given our Ocean View Room plus a letter of apology from the management with a bottle of bubbly and some fruit. Not this time!

Apart from the above, our stay was lovely and we couldn't fault anything else about the hotel.. We were half board, but only ate in five times in the restaurant, served by the delightful Jose. Weather glorious for the whole fortnight and only windy on three days. We used our favourite restaurants in the evenings, but a couple were not as good as usual. Da Vinci and La Brasa are still good and a new place, "Pepe Nero" just up from the hotel on the left was great. The most delicious veal marsala. Try it.

San Antonio is the best situated hotel for walking in either direction and on the doorstep of the strip, with bus and taxi service outside. But next year we shall go back to Tenerife or La Palma.

Room Tip: Ocean View are best but obviously more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and we hope that for our future guests too.

We note that in general you spent a good holidays in our hotel. Regarding the views from the room, it is important to mention when you make a reservation through some travel agency, that you want a frontal sea view, because it has a supplement. In the Vik San Antonio you have different possibilities of rooms, and it is important to choose the correct one on order to avoid misunderstandings.

Thank you again for your time and we hope see you again in our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

So I suppose the title sums it up. We do like the location, the staff, the food and the Hotel. Three holidays here at the The San Antonio have been enjoyable for the two of us. (See previous reviews in 2012). Everywhere we have been to on holiday has had good and bad points, and to be fair, we did once have a "Issue" here. But, I mentioned it to the staff and on our next visit Lorea S, did make sure we were happy. That says it all to me. Things do sometimes go wrong, but you can tell how good the staff are by the way they do or do not handle your problem.

The fact we have booked another holiday in March 2013 should suggest we were very happy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Sea View. Go to sleep and wake with the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Bob,

Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion in this site, it was a pleasure for us that you choose again our hotel, and we are very happy that you will do it again in March. Do not forget to send me an email regarding your next stay.

Thank you again and we see you soon in Vik San Antonio Hotel!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend decided to go for this hotel after reading many reviews on tripadvisor and upon arrival we were very happy and satisfied, it looks really impressive from the outside. We booked in for a week in late September and went with the option of half board.

When we arrived at reception we were taken to our room which was nice (a little bit dated) but clean and had a lovely view of the ocean. That evening we went down for dinner and as it was half board this was free for us, there was a huge amount of food on offer as it is a buffet in the restaurant. The following morning we got up and had breakfast and it was another buffet option so you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. After the second night of eating dinner in the hotel we got fed up of the same foods and the quality was only ok, not amazing by any stretch of the imagination. So from then onwards we ate out every other night we were on holidays and as the hotel is a very short walk to a huge variety of restaurants we were very satisfied with this.

On our last day we went for lunch in the restaurant just something small as we were flying home and for two of us it worked out at approx 44 euro. Lunch is not worth this, either go for some food by the pool or head down to San Antonio which is only down the road for a better deal at lunch time.

The hotel itself was very nice with mostly friendly staff, there was one lady at reception who was not very helpful towards us but she may just have been having one of those days, everyone else in the hotel was very nice especially the younger guys at reception who looked like they were only being trained in (very professional and nice).

Every night the hotel offered entertainment which was very varied but not really our cup of tea but I guess the option is there if you wish to stay in for a few drinks and hear some music or see the shows all free.

By the pool there was plenty of room and sun loungers for all, we never had to get up extra early to reserve a sun lounger and could come and go as you please. Also the hotel is right beside the beach, if you are in the pool area this leads right onto the beach so there are options to go there or stay at the pool. We went for a few long walks on the beach which was very nice but it is a volcanic island so the sand is not golden but its still lovely to have a long beach to walk on.


So to sum up for you all would we go back to the Vik hotel? No. It was not worth the money, the food was not that great and the overall feel of the hotel was a bit dated and seemed to be aimed at an older demographic. However it is still a nice hotel and if you can get a good price do go for it but just please don't book in for full or half board as it can work out much better to sample the local restaurants (we found some amazing ones down town).

We didn't think it was worth the 5 stars that it is advertised at but that is just our opinion. Do shop around before you book in for your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorea S, Director of Sales at VIK Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing your opinion in this site, always it is important to know different opinions about our hotel from different types of clients. We thnk you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIK Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel San Antonio

Address: Avenida de las Playas 84, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel San Antonio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your VIK Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Lanzarote
Antonio Hotel Lanzarote San
San Antonio Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote
VIK Hotel San Antonio Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.