We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Toasties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Universo

Restaurante Universo
Avenida Playas 38 | esquina C/ Tanausú, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
+34 928 51 62 83 ‎
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Toasties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Now you might think why would i opt for a toastie where there are so many other delicious dishes to choose from but i think if a restaurant cant get the simplest of dishes right, they probably wont get the others right either.
I was not disappointed in my choice, delicious tuna toastie the spanish way. Lovely chips to share with my hubby and all on the front basking in the sunshine. Excellent value for money. Brilliant for when you want something quick, simple and you've just stepped off the beach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    94
    35
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited twice and were only there a week but the steak was so good. The atmosphere is also very good and the staff friendly with good, quick service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant many time when we were in Lanzarote so it was our first stop for our New Years holiday. To say we were disappointed is an understatement.
We both had garlic bread to cheese to start with I could hardly taste the garlic and it was very greasy. I am aware oil is used to make it but the grease was excessive. The pizza was the same and had hardly any sauce.
The service was disappointing we were waiting 15 minutes to order and even then they would only take our drinks order we had to wait another 5 to order our food.
They do huge cocktails which are quite nice and well decorated.
Won't return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went here in December 2013 as the man outside sold it to us.
It was quite full and on sitting at the table our drinks order was taken.
Food for myself was good, I had veggie burritos which they customised asking which veggies I preferred. ...very accommodating.
My son had a pizza which was ok (he is quite fussy when there is a lot of cheese on them) & my other half had lamb chops which were ok.
I would recommend you go in here it has a pleasant atmosphere and staff are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Miss this place and you are missing out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Ate here several times during our stay in December 2013. Everything we tried on the menu was fabulous and cooked to order. Service is very good and the tables/settings exceptionally clean. The T-bone steaks are huge so be warned!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Universo also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Restaurante Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.