We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Viejo

Puerto Viejo
Avenida del Varadero | 35510, Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Southend on Sea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Restaurant was very busy so we saw this as a good sign.

Waited over 45 mins for the starter and then another 45 mins for the main course.

The Lamb Shoulder for the main course was swimming in oil and came only with plain boiled rice and boiled potatoes no veg. My partners recommended fish of the day was much better.

Overall was an average night with much better restaurants to be found in the old town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    17
    17
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On the "front " in the busy old town harbour area. Looked nice --we were ushered in by the touting Irish guy. Service was prompt despite being busy, but not impressed with the food--my lamb chops were chewy , and partners salmon tagliatelli only moderate..
Would not visit again...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, enjoyable and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Really relaxed atmosphere in this restaurant, service and food was very good. We had a very good experience and will be back next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Used to be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Used to go here regularly years ago. Went back in May and it really had gone downhill. The service was good but the food very 'touristy'. Bread put on table unrequested then charged for it, Special of the day was unpriced, on getting the bill then found out on the menu it was cheaper.
Many other restaurants locally serving better food at more reasonable prices without the 'tricks'..

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely surroundings, lovely staff, lovely food and great atmosphere. We came back to this restaurant a few times as the food and staff were so nice. We sat on the terrace as a few of the people in our group are smokers. I had a fillet steak with pepper sauce, rice chips and veg. The meat was perfect, it melted in your mouth. I can't recommend this place enough!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Viejo also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Puerto Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.