We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken and bacon salad to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Triangle

The Auld Triangle
C.C.Matagorda, Calle Mato, Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Raheny,Dublin,Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Chicken and bacon salad to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just back from a 10 night stay in Matagorda. And again I ended up in The Auld Triangle. Was looking forward to my favourite desert baileys cheese cake so I didn't want to fill up to quickly. After some lovely cheesy garlic bread Alan suggested that I try the chicken and bacon salad.I'm so glad I took his recommendation. It's like a Caesar salad but with hot crispy chicken and bacon. That and a lovely cold pint really hit the spot. And after about 20 minutes Alan brought me out my favourite baileys cheese cake, hand made by the owners son. A Gordon Ramsey trained chef no less. Wayne is the man behind the food, he also owns another nearby bar and restraunt Sam Maguires. The food in Sams is also excelent and the views are spectacular. and a must for the avid plane spotter. I have to say the service and the atmosphere in this bar is by far the best on the island. And believe me at this stage I have tried most of them. Looking forward to spending Christmas with the Murphy Clann.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    36
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Auld Triangle bar ,Matagorda, Lanzarote.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Matagorda since 1998 and have always found this area of Lanzarote to be friendly and relaxing. There are many bars and restaurants in Matagorda and the neighbouring resort of Los Pocillos. The Auld Triangle is an Irish bar in the Matagorda Commercial Centre, about 100 metres from the Sol Lanzarote complex, that provides fun entertainment most nights. The food is very good and plentiful, but, it can get very busy. However, the meals are worth waiting for and the staff are friendly and polite. If you like your Football, Rugby, Golf, Gaelic sports, etc, there are large screen T.V.s inside and outside the bar. We have never had a bad meal at the Auld Triangle and " chill-out" is the order of the day and the night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here a few times before.
The owner Dave and his wife were nice. He is quite a character.
But his rude, obnoxious son is a different kettle if fish.

When his parents aren't there it's such an effort to get served because he is too busy chatting to his friends outside. He then makes jokes and smart comments to his friends about the customers.

This would be a good spot if he got his act together.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Was here last week, found staff very rude and unhelpful. Food was terrible, needless to say wont be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate breakfast and an evening meal here and could not say anything bad about either meal. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was good. Would recommend for good plain food and plenty off it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Triangle also viewed

 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to The Auld Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Triangle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.