We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spice Lanzarote to your Saves list
Spice Lanzarote
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Calle Anuzelo 23, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first time at Spice and it really is a superb place. We had a very warm reception on arrival, the accommodation was great, the staff friendly, food varied and the best place of all the wonderful hot tub where we spent many an hour.

We met some lovely couples from many countries Germany, Russia, Sweden, Holland, Switzerland and especially our new friends from Germany.

James is the "entertainer" who organises a variety of games in the pool and hot tub during the day - he then comes in most evenings and organises very funny scenarios with guest participating.

If I had any critisism it would be that the swimming pool is not heated - so if the owners read this, please put it in the scheme of modernisation that you are carrying out - we were there with about 25 couples and themajority were saying the same - it is obvious as the pool is very rarely used and when a game of volley ball was organised it was only the "hardy people" who played in the cold water.

The variety of food is good, the wine lovely and all inclusive but nobody "over indulged"
We will be back.

Room Tip: The best rooms are overlooking the pool as you really feel part of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    59
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
5
221
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having been to Jardin de Babylone and Jardin d Eden in Cap d'agde I expected this to be similar but Spice is far superior in many ways. You are welcomed with a glass of bubbly and a couple of nibbles on arrival (In Le Cap you need to line up to get keys from an office find your own wayto the hotels and the room you are in). Our room was clean and well presented - there were soft drinks and water in the fridge. Tea and coffee in the room. The room was cleaned and the beds were made every day (I believe there is a cheaper option where this does not happen). It is full board - which means that breakfast, lunch and dinner ...and the bar is included in the price. (And the price is on a par with Le Cap self catering with no room cleaning prices). I've read comments about the drinks on Tripadvisor. I don't understand the comments at all. For our evening meal we had a glass of red wine and a glass of white wine - we asked for a second glass and they just left both bottles for us. However most people did not drink a lot of alcohol - a couple of glasses of wine and then fruit juice or water. It isn't the sort of place you are going to get a lot of drunken people - or at least not when we were there. There is music around the pool but a decent volume and proper stuff - not euro/techno. There is a disco which is louder but only goes on until about midnight. The jacuzzi and bar is open until about 2.30pm. Spice is about 10 minutes from the airport. I cannot fault the staff. Very friendly.

Overall it is a very relaxed place. If you want to join in with the games you can - if you want to sit back and relax you can. There is no pressure either way and our experience was that everyone was very friendly.

It's about ten minutes walk to the sea front and there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

At Le cap we could not check in until 6pm and check out was 10am. This was not the case at Spice. We had a late flight out and we were told "Just enjoy the facilities until you need to go - use the bar and have lunch" As it was no one was using the room after us and they even let us stay in it until 6pm. Obvioulsy this would not have happened if they needed to use the room but we could have still stored our bags and used the pool. Very different attitude to Le Cap. (You can read my previews reviews of Babylone and Eden on Tripadvisor)

However - having been to Spice there is no competition. It will be Lanzarote next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As this was our first time visiting Spice we were looking forward to our new experience and we weren't disappointed. We had a very warm reception not only from the staff but also from the other guests on arrival. Our room looked inviting with a very comfortable king size bed, very clean and tidy with our own balcony overlooking the swimming pool ,hot tub and the outside four poster beds.A big thank you to all the staff as they looked after us from the minute you arrived and the time you leave. Loved the freshly cooked food including the English breakfast.
Such a varied selection of meals and any special requirements catered for. Like the food the drinks were available from the minute you woke to the minute you fell asleep. The whole atmosphere of Spice was really relaxing and it was such a pleasure to meet and chat with so many different couples during our stay. The theme nights were great fun with nearly everybody "dressing up" with no pressure to participate. We really enjoyed our time at Spice and look forward to arranging our next visit . The only little niggle that we found was the shower and bathroom in our room and the toilets by the pool needs updating. But the most important thing was that we both had a fabulous time and would recommend it to any one who wants to experience something different and add a little "Spice to your life".

Room Tip: Room nearest the reception is situated overlooking the pool but away from the bar/playroom and hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from an excellent 11 day stay at Spice Hotel, lanzarote our first time. From the time we checked in with cava and pastries, to the time we left with a big hug and a generous discount off our next visit in June for the 3rd birthday of Spice, thank you Lydia, great offer for return guests, ALL the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much for them.
The food was well cooked and well presented with a great selection. Plenty of fruit, veg, meat, fish, fantastic full English breakfast. Emmanuel our brilliant waiter, impressed me when he found me in the evening to ask if my dinner was ok as I had not finished it all.
All areas are very clean, lovely garden spaces including a fruiting fig tree. The upgraded rooms look very swish but the older rooms are very comfortable, spacious.
The entertainment was hillarious on many nights, thank you James we love & miss you. Bar staff were equally attentive, Patricio, Monica and Elmu you were ace.
Now for the type of guests - everyone over our 11 nights was a fast lane person meaning they were chatty, funny, easy-going, beautiful like-minded people from 12 different background/countries/race most of which spoke perfect English. I have never spoken to ALL the guests in any other hotel before,
We can compare Spice to Temptation and Hedonism II BUT Spice wins hands down on all levels. If you're a swingers, you will love the atmosphere if you're 'swayers' go and dabble and much or as little as you like, same goes for liberal minded naturist couples who love to watch the fun without any pressure.
Great fun dressing up for the theme nights, most people dressed up and everyone enjoyed the evening games either watching or joining in (chocolate sauce and fruit taste so much better off a womans or mans body) Many memories of late night dips in the hot tub - that would easily fit 50 people in.
Tracey and Dean have got it right so with more visitors it can only get better. Can't wait till June no seriously I cant and might have to pop over for a 3 day stay before June. Missing everything already.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs balcony room instead of patio rooms below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was both our first visit to Spice and to a swinger resort of any kind. As hardened travellers and cruise lovers we wanted to try something 'new'. On the whole Spice was a great place to start. First the positives, of which there were many. The resort is 10 minutes from the airport and car hire for a week was only 80 Euros. Easy to get to, and easy to get around. The resort itself is overall clean and functional. The beds are all comfortable and king size. The main pool is big enough and deep enough to swim around and enjoy yourself. The hot tub easily holds 30 people around the edge with a small cocktail bar to keep the drinks flowing. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent over the whole week we were there and you can pretty much eat almost all day with few breaks between breakfast, lunch and dinner. As the package is full board, you never get thirsty or hungry.

From a "lifestyle" perspective it's really hard to judge. We went on an "event" week and found around 40 couples there, each with a different take on what "lifestyle" means. Unless you go in a group, we guess the outcome is always going to be a bit hit and miss depending on who else goes and what you are all into. The tail end of our stay was pretty quiet, the start much more lively,

There were a few things that we hope Dean and Tracy will be able to work on to take Spice from good to great. None of these are show stoppers at all as we really had a fab time and would certainly visit again. Firstly, not all of the rooms have air conditioning and whilst this is clearly advertised, we think having it in all the rooms would add an extra touch of class.The same has to be said of the restaurant which got particularly hot at lunch time. Our room also suffered from a low hum (we think from the heating for the hot tub) all night until 5:30am. Not helpful if you are a light sleeper.

The next improvement we'd love to see would be some classier entertainment. James, the animateur is a fabulous character but has little to work with and several of the "entertainment" activities were a bit too "down-market" for us. Another item on our wish list would be a refresh of the outdoor loos. Those inside are great, but those outside look a bit tired. Finally, to echo what another review said, any chance of a heated swimming pool?

Overall we had an enjoyable experience which wasn't brilliant only because of a couple of small niggles.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the hot tub because of the humming noise all night. The higher floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ticks so many boxes for us that we will be going back again in 2013. Dean and Tracy have worked really hard to ensure guests have a memorable hoilday. If I could wave a magic wand, I would make the pool a bit warmer ( I'm a wimp) and clone the entertainer, James, so he could be around 24/7!! All of the staff are absolutely 1st rate....so many happy smiling faces. Breakfast is superb....I particularly enjoyed the salad bar one lunch time and can recommend the filet steak, duck breast and ginormous lamb shank....a greater choice of vegetables would be nice.....but hey, I'm nit picking here....if I don't put in a few negatives, you'll think I'm in cahoots with the owners:)
The beds are incredibly comfortable, as are the pillows (I normally take my own when I travel).Lovely sun loungers.Great night club. Everything is spotlessly clean.Air conditioning coming soon to the restaurant....whew.
All in all, a truly wonderful holiday, with all the guests chatting and socialising regardless of age or nationality.
See you all again soon .
XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our first visit. Small, intimate and very friendly resort which appears to be modeling itself on "Desire". Management are trying hard to continually make improvements and the client base is steadily growing. Staff are brilliant in every area and nothing is too much trouble. No pressure to do anything, but do join in the fun and games as it is a great way to get to know your fellow guests. We hope Spice's popularity will continue to grow but not its numbers. There were 45 guests during our visit which was just perfect for lots of fantastic fun and play. We are already planning our next visit. P.S. Really agree with David M's review.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the afternoon sun can get rather warm but despite no a/c, they do cool down at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spice Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Lanzarote

Address: Calle Anuzelo 23, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spice Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europe's first all-inclusive, clothing optional, lifestyle friendly resort with an ideal climate all year round. On average just 4 hours away from most European destinations making Spice ideal for long weekends, mid week breaks or longer.This sophisticated complex has, feature pool with luxury sun loungers, pool bar, restaurant, gift shop, nightclub with integrated play room and purpose built jacuzzi seating 50 people with spectacular waterfall and swim up bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spice Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Lanzarote Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Spice Lanzarote Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.