We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emma's Cantina Mexicana

Emma's Cantina Mexicana
Calle Teide 20, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
+34 928 514154
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A very popular 36 seat restaurant in the picturesque main street of the original fishing village of Puerto del Carmen with parking outside or in the recently renovated fishing port one street below.Open from 6pm each night, closed Wednesday.N.B. A dress code operates in this restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Visited this restaurant on my last visit to PDC in October 2013. Having read the reviews on here we were keen to try it. Took a little bit of seeking out as its way up the hill in the Old Town and way up past the Harbour. However, it was well worth the walk up! The staff explained the menu to us well so we didn't select anything too hot. I had the Chicken Fajitas and these were the best I've ever tasted. A hint of 'heat' but not too much for anyone not too accustomed to too much hot! Was absolutely delicious and my only regret was I didn't find this restaurant sooner into our week away as we would have gone back for a second visit. Will definitely be back the next time I visit PDC!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    161
    47
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

One of our group of four is not a fan of anything hot so staff scored well when they explained clearly which dishes were spicy/hot/vhot. Attention to detail was very good, food excellent there is something on the menu for everyone. The place is very busy and I understand it has just reopened having changed ownership. We came here earlier this year the food was great then. It is still well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hot Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Mary had the fajitas and as a lover of Mexican food, she said it was one of the best ever. I had chicken enchiladas which i loved. We had a nice bottle of wine and soaked up the great atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“mexican majic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This cracking restaurant is one of four up the hill from the harbour but not one to be missed. Plenty of choice on the menu and really great food. Add some Mexican beer and friendly quick service for a lovely night out. It's not a big place and this helps the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is not the first time we have visited Emma's and it won't be the last.
The food is quite simply, excellent. Some of the best Mexican food I've ever had. The chimichanga is delicious.
Huge portion sizes and food to suit lots of different tastes. Our teenage daughter was not keen when we first went there in the summer, however she was converted and loves the enchiladas.
If you are looking for somewhere a bit different then please do try Emma's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Cantina Mexicana also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Emma's Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma's Cantina Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.