We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks a milllion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Azul Playa

Save Saved
You added Mar Azul Playa to your Saves list
Mar Azul Playa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mar Azul Playa
Calle Grama No 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“thanks a milllion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Just back from another stay at the Mar azul in Matagorda we had a great time and found the place as good as before we would also like to Thank Helen from Sunway who was so good to us when we had to go home early. as there was a death in the family She help us a lot anyway the apartments were as clean as all ways and the Gardens were first class thanks to Paco. the Food in the restaurant was top class. just one thing it was very cold at night could do with a bit of heating .

Room Tip: pick room 23 face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This was our first time at Mar Azul Playa and it definitely won't be our last. A great place and great people. The bungalow was faultless to a "T" it was clean, tidy, spacious and ideal for the two of us. A nice and well thought out layout and well maintained.
The complex is not in Puerto Del Carmen but is in a suburb called Matagorda, a 10 euro taxi ride from the airport. The main square is a short walk from the complex where you will find supermarkets, gift shops, restaurants and bars. The beach, which is superb is no more than a 5 minute amble away. If you want to travel into Puerto Del Carmen, then it is about 4 euros in a taxi to the main strip, or alternatively it is a 35/40 minute walk. You may even consider cycle hire which is based in the main square at Matagorda and the hire rates are very reasonable.
There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars along the sea front which is a nice walk from the complex. Prices for food and drinks vary from place to place but a visit to Paddy's Paradise is a must for great food and drinks, with friendly staff and great atmosphere.
The poolside bar is a great little place, it is run by Dave, Dianne and their daughter Katy. They are very friendly and lovely people, they serve basic food from the bar and will even deliver to your bungalow at no extra cost, superb.
The pool is not heated and as such is very cold, apparently it is no warmer at the height of summer.
Overall this was a great place to stay 10/10 and we are looking forward to returning again before the summer and will definitely try to be there for next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was our 2nd time staying at Mar Azul Playa, booked 2 bed apartment with Sunway Travel, the apartment was spacious, clean and perfect a few steps from the pool! Helen our Rep was wonderful, so too was Laima the Manager/Receptionist and Diane & Katie who ran the poolside bar restaurant! Our stay was unfortunately extended due to my mother taking ill on our last night, and instead of just staying 1 week, we my sister & I spent 3 weeks at MarAzul while my mother was in Hospiten de Lanzarote in Puerto del Carmen, Helen, Laima Diane & Katie were very supportive during that difficult period especially as our Mum spent 6 days in ICU, the complex was like home from home to us, we got to stay in a few differnet apartments during that long stay and couldn't fault any of them, we were very lucky during our long stay to meet some really kind Irish people who got us through some difficult days especially Eileen & Sean from Blackrock Co Louth! Hopefully, we'll return sometime soon to the Mar Azul hopefully! would certainly recommend it, an ideal complex for the Solo Traveller

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I travelled on 29th June 2011 for 2 weeks the first week was with my daughter (19mths), 3 sisters their 8 daughters and my mum the hubbies joined us for the 2nd week. We occupied the 4 (2 bedroom bungalows) that they have on site.
we had a brilliant time it was located perfectly with just a 3mins walk to the shops and beach and beside the sol hotel for childrens activites by day or night.
the receptionist was very helpful, the accomodation basic but very clean and the staff very friendly all bungalows cleaned daily and also the pool.
The only thing I would have a problem with is the fact that there is a power box attached to a very low wall which the infants kept wanting to climb up onto and the other side of the wall was a sheer drop of approx 20ft down into a basement. It scared the living daylights out of me several times when I saw any of our 2 young ones going near this area.
The pub is run by Katie and her mum who are very friendly and there is a great happy hour every day between 4 & 5 where you buy one get one free on beer, spirits and soft drinks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

the perfect place to relax and chill out. staff very helpful nothing to much trouble to them.great pool bar run by diane and kelly .great location for shops restaurants bars.

Room Tip: some rooms over look the pool witch are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

A small number of chalets grouped round a small pool right beside the Sol Lanzarote Hotel. Chalet very clean with private patios to front and rear, also secure area for hanging out washing. Staff very friendly and efficient. 5 minutes walk to commercial centre with supermarkets, pubs and a variety of restaurants. 5 minutes walk to beach with well-laid out promenade which runs for miles in one direction towards Puerto del Carmen and in other towards the airport and Arrecife. It's quite close to the airport and you can see the planes coming in to land but noise is not a problem. Matagorda is a quiet area so at night it's restaurants and pubs rather than nightclubs but Puerto Del Carmen is only a short taxi ride away. In Dec 2010 fare was about 5 or 6 euros. Great place for a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Exceptional service, great place to stay, quite but near everything at the same time we are planning to back this year again. The staff were brilliant and the complex/apartments were very clean with everything one would need or want - I would hight reccomend the Mar Azul Playa

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mar Azul Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Azul Playa

Address: Calle Grama No 1, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mar Azul Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Azul Playa Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Azul Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.