We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for fresh fish in Puerto Del Carmen!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Lonja

La Lonja
Calle Varadero s/n | Old Town, Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
+34 928 511377
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
hofstade
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best place for fresh fish in Puerto Del Carmen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

La lonja is just the best location to enjoy fresh fish!
A large range of local fishes, mussels and other seafood, excellently prepared and a friendly service are a guaranty for a perfect diner in the harbour!
The attached fish store is also highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    52
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushwood, Leytonstone
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Truly Wonderful Fish Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

La Lonja is right on the harbour in Puerto Del Carmen next to the taxi rank and serves delicious totally fresh fish. They also have an extensive range of other food but we were there for the fish, Which you can also view and buy in the fishmongers attached. I would recommend taking a Spanish fish Translation along as the names are a bit confusing.

We chose to have our fish simply cooked, grilled with a bit if olive oil garlic and parsley. And it did not disappoint. I had the halibut fillets and my wife had the Monkfish (Rape) steaks. Both were sublime, and cooked to perfection.

The setting is just perfect on the harbour. We chose to sit on the terrace. La Lonja reminded me of the fishermans collectives in mainland Spain, the building is traditional, no frills, as my wife described it, honestly cooked food in authentic surroundings. A meal for two including three generous glasses of wine was about 45 euros, which we thought very good value for exceptional fish.

We next had the special paella with blue lobster, enormous delicious prawns, and fish, €48 for 2 without wine and tip. We know that paella has lots of different regional variations, but this was very different to any in our experience. Delicious but different. Used to a Paella that has absorbed all of the liquid, and saffron,this one more like a rich rice and fish stew, and red in colour. We are glad we tried it, as it was delicious, but we wouldn't try it again. The best prawns we have tasted and loads of fish as well. Perfectly cooked and served. €70 with wine and tip.
We are definitely going back to La Lonja in October.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Met friends for lunch, we all had chicken which was average but fish looked lovely, try fish next time.
Very nice Tapas bar which was always busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I just could not keep away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A super location with super food and very friendly service. We went back for lunch 3 times in our two week stay. The fish was just to die for, havent had better anywhere. The tapas bar was also the best that I have ever eaten at.
The service was brill, so friendly and efficient. The prices were very inexpensive for both food and drinks.
We did not book and it was quite busy (in January) mainly with local Spanish people. You may need to book in the hight of the season.
We were overall very, very well impressed and now we have found it we shall deffinatly go back next year.
Highly recomended

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a fantastic meal,I had grilled limpets with mojo to start,they were amazing,then I had hake fillet marinara,that too was gorgeous,my husband had mixed fish.The service was good and I particularly liked the cat Messi,who the restaurant looked after! He was gorgeous!Great food and great service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lonja also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Lonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lonja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.