We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GReat value and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Mar Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Mar Apartments to your Saves list
Vista Mar Apartments
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Majadas 4 | Tias, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GReat value and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Vistamar are halfway between old and new town so great location for going out at night. Spar supermarket 1 min away, Biosfera 3 mins away. Very clean and basic apartments, inc toaster and kettle. Some bedrooms back onto a main road so i needed earplugs, this wasnt a prb and as apts were in such a great location it was worth it. Swimming pool was very small but as a result exceptionally warm so great to swim in (not suitable for non swimmer or children). REception closes at 7.0 so look out for your keys taped to post box if you arrive late, they usually put a note on gate so people dont lock the main gate but people sometimes remove this as I presume they think it's a security issue so you may have to attract the attention of other guests to let you in. Would deffo stay here again.

When out and about try Bodeccos, the polish/irish restaraurant near the irish harbour bar, also next door the caribean tapas is brill and just up the hill is Emma's mexican, which is a bit expensive but serves good red hot chile.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My mother & I stayed here for a week only last week,pool is very small & very deep not suitable for young children or people that can't swim, wasn't very clean either.no lobby area at all only small room as the reception that isn't very welcoming but lady working there was great,reception opens from 9-1pm then 4-7pm so not very ideal if you needed anything. The apartment itself was big, plenty of space & view was lovely, because we were the only people there for most of the week there was no cleaners on but lady in reception did change our towels everyday and pulled sheets up in bed so this could hav been better.also they advertise a pool bar but in fact it's not open at all. To sum it all up its a great base but if u are fussy it may not be what ur looking for, you get wat u pay for but it is very basic and I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask in reception for the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

this self catering apartment was near to this centre of puerto del carmen. A couple of problems is that there is no 24 hour reception so when we arrived at 2130 the gate to the complex was locked there was a note in english requested the gate be left unlocked but it was this caused acute stress but gladly the couple at the bottom studio came to our rescue. the keys for our pad was sellotaped to the recption door. again because no staff unable to use the safe so went out for a few drinks with all valuables on person which is not ideal. I have raised these areas with the staff and wrote recommendations to address these. Puerto del carman has a larger Irish population which was great for me and we had agreat St Patricks day . Lots of choice for good resturants one i would recommend is Davinncis tex mex great sea food starters but be warned the chilli is HOT!!!!! Aplace which was very disappointing was mazcleleva down at harbour at end of walk way. poor service and prawns no were near as good a Davinncis also prices high.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

got there on boxing day & soon found our bearings,it was nice & quiet. central for travel & away from all the clubs if u wanted,the maid was called {anna} was so helpful & even done your washing up before cleaning the room.if we could my wife & i would go there tomorow,but with luck will be back at christmas,cant wait

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Second time staying here. These apartments are not expensive, they are basic but kept spotlessly clean. They are in need of a refurb as the bathrooms and furnishing are tired and worn, (although the beds are new!)

The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Best of all they have a perfect location on a quiet street, within easy walking distance of both the old town and the seafront strip. There is a Spar just round the corner.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Vista Mar, booked with Monarch Holidays. Although very basic the apartments were spotlessly clean, and we only had one day out of the ten that we did not have maid service.
The view from the front of our apartment (32) was fantastic, beautiful seaview however the rear was a 24 hour garage and the Spar on a main road, and we had to keep the bedroom curtains closed all the time as the flats opposite look straight in! The noise from the traffic takes a bit of getting used to and means you cannot open the windows for any length of time.
Security was not a big issue for us, the balcony door was a key lock as well as the door into the apartment with a second key. We arrived at 8.30 ish to find a welcome note, our key and a map with local amenities marked on it taped to the reception post box - this was not ideal! There are cctv cameras overlooking the pool and the front gate.
The pool is a problem, my partner is a non swimmer and the pool is about 6' deep, so daily cool down dips were hair raising, totally unsuitable for children.
The walk back up from the main avenida along the beach is a 90 degree hill, although short a daunting prospect for anyone with poor mobility.
The walk to the harbour is a much gentler slope, we ate there every night and very well, finishing up at Scotch Corner for a few drinks before bed, friendly service! We used most of the restaurants around the harbour for dinner and can recommend the food at Mar Casa Benito (tuna with oregano - mm mm) and El Caherjo Rosa (seafood paella - wow), although they were all good except Los Marineros - expensive and very poor service! Prices vary slightly from restaurant to restaurant and the menu's are very similiar with each having a speciality dish to set them apart from each other.
Our trips this time were only to Cuevas de las Verdes (fascinating) and the three island tour to Fuertaventure and Los Lobos - while beautiful with an amazing beach, Playa de la Conchas, the island itself is bleak, volcanic and our tour guide got food poisoning from the paella she ate on Los Lobos! Eat on Fuertaventura before taking the ferry to Lobos, worth the trip for the beach and the view back to Fuertaventura. Take drinks/water with you, there is nothing available when you get off the ferry from Fuertaventura to Lobos!
We have had an amazing 10 days, this was our second visit to Lanzarote previously having stayed at Atalaya Apartments in 2006. We arrived to a mini freak heatwave of 35 degrees so have come back very tanned and very relaxed.
We would not return to Vista Mar but do not let this put you off, we just like a few more home comforts and a 24 hour reception - would be perfect for a base for those on a budget to visit the island and its attractions!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Just got back from these apartments and I can't find a single fault with them! Plenty big enough, very clean and modern/simple. Cleaners came in nearly everyday and we had our towels changed every other day. Very quiet considering how close they are to the main road. A large supermarket 1 minute away (around the back). Don't know why they have a bar because I never saw anyone buy anything from there, due to supermarket being so close and we drank and eat our own food and drink around pool (no one seemed to mind). 10 minutes walk to harbour or beach/new town, slight hill to walk back but that didn't bother me or my husband cause we walk a lot anyway. If you go out of apartments and turn right and follow road round there is a short cut path at the end of the cul-de-sac down to main road. These apartments are a great base, the pool is small and deep so not ideal for children and non-swimmers. There is more than plenty of entertainment, bars, clubs, shops etc., only minutes walk away, so there is something for everyone. One thing I would mention is that the reception closes at 7pm and if like us you are late arriving you will find your key in an envelope stuck on the receptions letter box!!!! A email would of been nice few days before to inform/warn us instead arriving there in darkness and finding the place completely locked up and no-one in sight. (A couple of seconds to panic before spotting the envelope). There isn't any night watch man at all, so you are on your own, if you have a problem, until 9am next day when the receptionist arrives. Wasn't a problem for us, but some people might prefer to stay where there is some assistance in case of any problems.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Mar Apartments

Address: C/ Las Majadas 4 | Tias, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Vista Mar Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Vista Mar Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Mar Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.